Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Krk 10s Any Good
dcz702
post Mar 6 2014, 06:57 AM
Post #1


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 613
Joined: 5-March 13
From: Las Vegas
Member No.: 17.838



Hey guys adding a sub. Was gonna get Yamaha 8s but took a look at classifieds and there's a krk 10s sub for sale for 250. Anyone have experiance with these how are they?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Mar 6 2014, 09:48 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.486
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Punchy little sub smile.gif Not crazy loud but matches up well with a pair of KRK 5s or 6s.

QUOTE (dcz702 @ Mar 6 2014, 12:57 AM) *
Hey guys adding a sub. Was gonna get Yamaha 8s but took a look at classifieds and there's a krk 10s sub for sale for 250. Anyone have experiance with these how are they?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Mar 6 2014, 10:30 AM
Post #3


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Mar 6 2014, 09:48 AM) *
...Not crazy loud but matches up well with a pair of KRK 5s or 6s.


Todd's point here is important - the sub ideally should match the monitor.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dcz702
post Mar 6 2014, 11:47 AM
Post #4


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 613
Joined: 5-March 13
From: Las Vegas
Member No.: 17.838



I'm using yamaha hs50m monitors.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Mar 6 2014, 12:52 PM
Post #5


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



You may want to look at the Yamaha 10w then as the sub. If you do get a sub you should look into bass traps for your room, particularly if it's a small room, as you may well get problems with the low end otherwise.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Mar 6 2014, 01:23 PM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



I have the HS7s and I would also go for a matching sub, which is the one recommended by Tony, of course smile.gif Try before you buy if possible wink.gif I tested 3-4 pairs of monitors before getting mine, so I guess it shouldn't be any different with the sub smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post Mar 6 2014, 03:07 PM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.294
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



Crossover point between sub and monitors is very important so like guys said - it's better to match one factory stuff because they usually set it up with other of their products. Agreed with guys above


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Mar 6 2014, 09:13 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.486
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



TONI is spot on per usual, the Yamaha 10w would match great smile.gif And don't skimp on bass traps!

QUOTE (tonymiro @ Mar 6 2014, 06:52 AM) *
You may want to look at the Yamaha 10w then as the sub. If you do get a sub you should look into bass traps for your room, particularly if it's a small room, as you may well get problems with the low end otherwise.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dcz702
post Mar 7 2014, 01:30 AM
Post #9


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 613
Joined: 5-March 13
From: Las Vegas
Member No.: 17.838



thanks guys decided to just spring for new at guitar center and go with the yamaha sub. gonna head down there and talk to these guys about my room and the bass traps to
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dcz702
post Mar 7 2014, 05:01 AM
Post #10


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 613
Joined: 5-March 13
From: Las Vegas
Member No.: 17.838



thanks again got my sub hooked up, and oh man biggrin.gif what a difference! forgot the bass trap can tell what you guys mean im gonna need them.
Attached image(s)
Attached Image
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post Mar 7 2014, 10:29 AM
Post #11


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.294
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



Well....now You got yourself into trouble biggrin.gif

https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...showtopic=49295


tongue.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dcz702
post Mar 7 2014, 11:12 AM
Post #12


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 613
Joined: 5-March 13
From: Las Vegas
Member No.: 17.838



QUOTE (Darius Wave @ Mar 7 2014, 09:29 AM) *
Well....now You got yourself into trouble biggrin.gif

https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...showtopic=49295


tongue.gif

Sweet. Great thread Darius. smile.gif I got a lot of reading to do

I've got a friend who is coming to my place and he has a project going on where he did vocals guitar bass and drums all himself we both use logic x and he has recorded but he just has his mackie monitors with no sub, I'm assuming that since he used logic all he needs to do is bring over his hard drive and we will be able to open and mix his projects on my computer since I've got the sub. I'm I correct assuming that I'll be able to open and edit his projects since we're using the same DAW? I'm gonna need to get my rooms sound right and this thread is cool. Some good links on there to.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Mar 7 2014, 07:48 PM
Post #13


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



QUOTE (dcz702 @ Mar 7 2014, 10:12 AM) *
Sweet. Great thread Darius. smile.gif I got a lot of reading to do

I've got a friend who is coming to my place and he has a project going on where he did vocals guitar bass and drums all himself we both use logic x and he has recorded but he just has his mackie monitors with no sub, I'm assuming that since he used logic all he needs to do is bring over his hard drive and we will be able to open and mix his projects on my computer since I've got the sub. I'm I correct assuming that I'll be able to open and edit his projects since we're using the same DAW? I'm gonna need to get my rooms sound right and this thread is cool. Some good links on there to.


Yes mate, if you have the same DAW, you can open and edit projects, but just make sure you have all the recorded tracks along with the project when you move it from one to another's PC smile.gif Congrats on the sub!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Mar 11 2014, 02:30 AM
Post #14


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.486
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



The short answer to your question is YES smile.gif If you are both using the same version of logic, and you both are using the same plugins, as long as he put all the files in one folder when he started the project, he can just bring that folder on a drive/thumb stick etc. and you can open it smile.gif

I'm a MAC/LOGIC user and it's hands down the best daw I've ever used. I wish it ran on PC though so I could share projects with PC folks!!!

Todd

QUOTE (dcz702 @ Mar 7 2014, 06:12 AM) *
Sweet. Great thread Darius. smile.gif I got a lot of reading to do

I've got a friend who is coming to my place and he has a project going on where he did vocals guitar bass and drums all himself we both use logic x and he has recorded but he just has his mackie monitors with no sub, I'm assuming that since he used logic all he needs to do is bring over his hard drive and we will be able to open and mix his projects on my computer since I've got the sub. I'm I correct assuming that I'll be able to open and edit his projects since we're using the same DAW? I'm gonna need to get my rooms sound right and this thread is cool. Some good links on there to.


CONGRATS!!! Mixing without a sub is something most folks with home studios just get used to and sadly, most of the time, they have ZERO idea what's happening in the low/bass portion of their mix

Of course, there are many, many issues associated with having a sub in the system, but even with all of these, I've always found it invaluable to have a sub available when working with near field (e.g.small) monitors.

Of course, using a good pair of headphones beats nothing, if no sub is available.

But now that you have a sub, pull up some of your old projects and you can hear what's been happening in the low range that you may have been missing


QUOTE (dcz702 @ Mar 7 2014, 12:01 AM) *
thanks again got my sub hooked up, and oh man what a difference! forgot the bass trap can tell what you guys mean im gonna need them.


This post has been edited by Todd Simpson: Mar 11 2014, 02:31 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dcz702
post Mar 11 2014, 02:43 AM
Post #15


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 613
Joined: 5-March 13
From: Las Vegas
Member No.: 17.838



QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Mar 11 2014, 01:30 AM) *
CONGRATS!!! Mixing without a sub is something most folks with home studios just get used to and sadly, most of the time, they have ZERO idea what's happening in the low/bass portion of their mix

Of course, there are many, many issues associated with having a sub in the system, but even with all of these, I've always found it invaluable to have a sub available when working with near field (e.g.small) monitors.

Of course, using a good pair of headphones beats nothing, if no sub is available.

But now that you have a sub, pull up some of your old projects and you can hear what's been happening in the low range that you may have been missing

yea todd there is a big difference in having a sub, i see what you mean there are issues that come with the sub, as when i turn up and listen i can tell that some of what im hearing are refelctions or at least i feel like it because my room just doesnt seem ideal for sound. when i brought the sub home i had it right on the floor and it sounded so muddy. Then i got a Auralex Gramma, and it made a big difference, so getting some bass traps maybe just in my room corners might help even more? what about mopads for my monitors, do you think mopads arnt really gonna make a difference in 5 inch nearfields?

This post has been edited by dcz702: Mar 11 2014, 02:43 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Mar 11 2014, 05:54 AM
Post #16


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.486
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Yup smile.gif Bass traps are a really good idea and GET THE SUB AWAY FROM THE WALL!!!! smile.gif

Putting a sub near a corner or even a flat wall can make all the issues a bit worse. I know it's not workable to park it in the center of the room smile.gif Just try to find a spot away from the wall smile.gif

monitor pads help decouple them from whatever they are sitting on but you might consider some nice monitor stands instead. They serve the same sort of function and you can find the right height for your speakers for your mixing position. Sitting them on the desk is rarely ideal but one thing at a time eh?

Todd




QUOTE (dcz702 @ Mar 10 2014, 09:43 PM) *
yea todd there is a big difference in having a sub, i see what you mean there are issues that come with the sub, as when i turn up and listen i can tell that some of what im hearing are refelctions or at least i feel like it because my room just doesnt seem ideal for sound. when i brought the sub home i had it right on the floor and it sounded so muddy. Then i got a Auralex Gramma, and it made a big difference, so getting some bass traps maybe just in my room corners might help even more? what about mopads for my monitors, do you think mopads arnt really gonna make a difference in 5 inch nearfields?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th May 2017 - 05:12 AM