Reply to this topicStart new topic
> I Need Some Advice Or Help Or Something
Flaringo
post Jul 10 2007, 01:12 PM
Post #1

GMC:er

Group: Members
Member No.: 2.228

Hi. I started playing guitar about a week ago, I decided to subscribe to this great site and start learning. I started on the beginner lessons, got through the first one pretty easily. Then I went on to the second one about pentatonic scales, and I just can't do it. I keep missing the strings (more than the notes actually) like some crazed monkey!

Do you guys have anything clever that can help me master this?
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Owen
post Jul 10 2007, 01:20 PM
Post #2

Member No.: 2.113

What tempo are you trying to play the scales at?

Remember not to try and go to fast to begin with, take it slowly,

I've been playing for a year or two now and you cant just dive in straight at it by trying to go at an ultra-fast tempo, otherwise you will butcher all the notes, you have to start very slowly and build up pace until it becomes natural. Then you should should be able to play it faster, if your having trouble with your fingering, try to sort it at first with your right hand - placing the left hand fingers into their right positions, dont worry about playing the notes if you do this, just get the positioning right and keep trying until you become comfortable with doing it.

I hope this helps! smile.gif

This post has been edited by Owen: Jul 10 2007, 01:23 PM

--------------------
Don't Panic.

+Quote Post
Flaringo
post Jul 10 2007, 01:47 PM
Post #3

Well I'm certainly not playing, or trying to play, ultra-fast. I take it nice and slow, but if I watch my right hand, my left hand misses, and the other way around. How long did it take for you to learn the pentatonic scale smoothly?

+Quote Post
funkymilk
post Jul 10 2007, 01:58 PM
Post #4

Member No.: 869

QUOTE (Flaringo @ Jul 10 2007, 02:47 PM) *