Reply to this topicStart new topic
> First Custom Patch Eleven Rack
Todd Simpson
post Mar 13 2014, 08:34 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.747
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Here is my first custom patch for my new Eleven Rack smile.gif Really impressed with this thing. You can get one used on ebay for about the price of a boutique overdrive. No pro tools needed now that there is a stand alone editor. smile.gif

What do you guys think?
Attached Image
https://soundcloud.com/techniqueswithtodd/avid-elevn-rack-custom-patch

This post has been edited by Todd Simpson: Mar 13 2014, 08:35 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Mar 13 2014, 08:43 PM
Post #2


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.345
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



Brutality! I like it!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Mar 13 2014, 09:38 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.747
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Thanks smile.gif I"ve never heard another ELEVEN RACK manage this type of tone so I"m glad that mine sounds somewhat unique smile.gif Part of the problem with processors is that sometimes (of course not always) they can start to sound similar. The GSP1101 (which I DESPISED and sold) sounded like itself no matter what for example.

QUOTE (Caelumamittendum @ Mar 13 2014, 03:43 PM) *
Brutality! I like it!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Mar 14 2014, 12:08 PM
Post #4


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.345
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Mar 13 2014, 09:38 PM) *
Thanks smile.gif I"ve never heard another ELEVEN RACK manage this type of tone so I"m glad that mine sounds somewhat unique smile.gif Part of the problem with processors is that sometimes (of course not always) they can start to sound similar. The GSP1101 (which I DESPISED and sold) sounded like itself no matter what for example.


How much are these eleven racks and how would they compare to Axe FX? Just out of curiousity. I'm even struggling with money for food, let alone gear biggrin.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Mar 14 2014, 01:19 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.747
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



LIke I was saying you can get them used on ebay (without protools, which they no longer need to function) for about $250 so they are about the cost of a nice pedal smile.gif Brand new with pro tools it's about $700. But who wants pro tools? smile.gif

As you might expect, for about one third the cost of an axe/kemper (street price new), it's got fewer amps/fx, etc. But it does now work with a stand alone editor app that is very handy for making presets. I've hooked up my laptop on top my rack to allow me to use my line5 shortboard as a foot controller and wah pedal smile.gif And you can edit presets in real time and save them back to the unit. Handy smile.gif

One thing it does have is a broad set of features. AXE FX didn't have a head phone jack in the first version and only with the AXE FX II did it ad USB for audio recording and only with axe fx II did they add multi out recording so you can record one track dry and one track with fx for reamping later. The ELEVEN rack did this out of the box from day one. It's also a full on recording interface for any daw. It's got XLR jack on the front and a mic preamp.

For the features/cost, it was the eleven for me wink.gif





QUOTE (Caelumamittendum @ Mar 14 2014, 07:08 AM) *
How much are these eleven racks and how would they compare to Axe FX? Just out of curiousity. I'm even struggling with money for food, let alone gear biggrin.gif



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Mar 14 2014, 01:22 PM
Post #6


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.345
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



Thanks for the reply! I feel kind of tempted to going into these things instead of Guitar Rig. Money isn't there at the moment as I mentioned, but no reason why one can't look!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
liveOASISforever
post Mar 14 2014, 06:50 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 596
Joined: 14-March 10
From: Scotland
Member No.: 9.844



This actually sound really good Todd smile.gif I searched on Ebay for it but seems that it is only available from America
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Mar 15 2014, 08:10 AM
Post #8


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.747
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



I saw one or two in the UK a bit back but yeah most of them are going to be here. However you can buy them on sites like THOMANN which is based in Germany. But you may have to buy it new. Keep checking ebay, one will show up with international bids available smile.gif

QUOTE (liveOA buy it SISforever @ Mar 14 2014, 01:50 PM) *
This actually sound really good Todd smile.gif I searched on Ebay for it but seems that it is only available from America


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
liveOASISforever
post Mar 15 2014, 08:58 AM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 596
Joined: 14-March 10
From: Scotland
Member No.: 9.844



QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Mar 15 2014, 07:10 AM) *
I saw one or two in the UK a bit back but yeah most of them are going to be here. However you can buy them on sites like THOMANN which is based in Germany. But you may have to buy it new. Keep checking ebay, one will show up with international bids available smile.gif


I saw a few on UK sites that come with logic coming in at £800. Thomann was about 700 euro and I saw one form America that does international shipping.Including import charges it was about £320 which is still great deal smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Huargo
post Mar 15 2014, 11:01 PM
Post #10


Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 392
Joined: 26-May 13
From: Barcelona, Spain
Member No.: 18.287



In spain you can find a second hand one for 500€... not very cheap. I don't know if usa version of eleven rack can manage the european electricity?...
very bad english explanation sorry...

And todd nice patch!
Congratulations for you new gear.

This post has been edited by huargo: Mar 15 2014, 11:03 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Mar 16 2014, 06:53 AM
Post #11


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.747
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



I"m guessing you could get a converter for the electricity? Also, many ebay auctions ship internationally so getting one used and cheap should be an option smile.gif

QUOTE (huargo @ Mar 15 2014, 06:01 PM) *
In spain you can find a second hand one for 500€... not very cheap. I don't know if usa version of eleven rack can manage the european electricity?...
very bad english explanation sorry...

And todd nice patch!
Congratulations for you new gear.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Mar 19 2014, 12:42 AM
Post #12


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.747
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



CALLING ALL AXE/KEMPER OWNERS!!!
*And anyone with a heavy chug patch!

Here is a tweaked version of my MESHUGGAHish patch on the 11. Making more patches today. I'd put this up against ANY multi out there. AXE FX/KEMPER/etc. if anyone has a good high gain chug they are not shy about, PLEASE POST HERE For comparison!!

https://soundcloud.com/techniqueswithtodd/avid-elevn-rack-custom-patch

This post has been edited by Todd Simpson: Mar 19 2014, 12:43 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jstcrsn
post Mar 19 2014, 02:50 AM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.641
Joined: 29-March 08
From: kansas, USA
Member No.: 4.733



QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Mar 19 2014, 12:42 AM) *
CALLING ALL AXE/KEMPER OWNERS!!!
*And anyone with a heavy chug patch!

Here is a tweaked version of my MESHUGGAHish patch on the 11. Making more patches today. I'd put this up against ANY multi out there. AXE FX/KEMPER/etc. if anyone has a good high gain chug they are not shy about, PLEASE POST HERE For comparison!!

https://soundcloud.com/techniqueswithtodd/avid-elevn-rack-custom-patch

if you record one dry tone , how do you later come back and put the 11 tone back on it ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Mar 19 2014, 09:42 AM
Post #14


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



Wow! I so dig the punchiness! biggrin.gif I haven't actually heard about the Eleven Rack until you started writing about it on the forum smile.gif Good acquisition, mate!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
klasaine
post Mar 19 2014, 03:49 PM
Post #15


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.660
Joined: 30-December 12
From: Los Angeles, CA
Member No.: 17.304



That's def the heaviest I heard from an 11. Great work!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Mar 19 2014, 11:41 PM
Post #16


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.747
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Thats what so cool about the 11 Rack smile.gif You can record the effected and dry tone to separate tracks in your DAW. Then reamping through the 11 is a simple matter. It's built primarily as an 8 channel digital audio interface with one channel having a nice mic preamp. It's a front end for pro tools that now works with any daw and stand alone. smile.gif

Spiff.


QUOTE (jstcrsn @ Mar 18 2014, 09:50 PM) *
if you record one dry tone , how do you later come back and put the 11 tone back on it ?


Actually me too smile.gif It's really simple to do with the software interface. The 11 rack supports

TWO INDEPENDENT FOUR CHANNEL PARAMETRIC EQs! BEFORE THE PRIMARY AMP GAIN STAGE!!

As a result, you can do the classic DJENT pre-eq trick before hitting the gain stage (e.g. cut below 200hz, bump 800 and 1.6k and use the second eq to tweak to taste) . Otherwise, theres actually too much gain and mud!!! So folks tend to roll it back in this unit and get a classic marshall crunch instead.

I'd put this up against any processor available for getting heavy tone. I am really surprised all the tweakers with their axe fx have not grabbed one of these. You can get one for the price of a nice stomp box. Would make a great B rig for anyone with an axe/kemper. Makes a killer A rig for me smile.gif i'm using my Bone Stock Ibanez 7620 on this recording and the stock pickups are NOT great. But the 11 can really make any guitar sound spiff.



QUOTE (klasaine @ Mar 19 2014, 10:49 AM) *
That's def the heaviest I heard from an 11. Great work!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Socky42
post Mar 20 2014, 12:39 AM
Post #17


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 544
Joined: 3-July 10
From: Manchester, UK
Member No.: 10.762



QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Mar 19 2014, 10:41 PM) *
I'd put this up against any processor available for getting heavy tone. I am really surprised all the tweakers with their axe fx have not grabbed one of these.


Honestly, I would've bought one of these years ago after seeing guys like David Wallimann give it nothing but praise; but the software side of things being tied to Pro Tools was a huge turnoff. Good to know they finally released the standalone software.

Is the iLok still a thing on the unit?

This post has been edited by Socky42: Mar 20 2014, 12:45 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
klasaine
post Mar 20 2014, 01:20 AM
Post #18


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.660
Joined: 30-December 12
From: Los Angeles, CA
Member No.: 17.304



Todd, is the 'editor' software in the actual hardware unit? Or is it an avid app?

*Nevermind. I found the info. Expansion pack firmware v2.0

This post has been edited by klasaine: Mar 20 2014, 01:25 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Mar 20 2014, 06:21 AM
Post #19


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.747
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



BTW: Here is a spiff vid talkin about REAMPING in 11 Rack. (E.G. Recording dry and running it through the unit or through a speaker cab and then through the unit). It's the only box of it's type currently that allows both software and hybrid hardware reamping in one box.




SAME HERE!! Just refused to think about it until they made it separate fro pro tools. And NO ILOCK REQUIRED!!! You can download a license manager and the stand alone app and bingo!!!! Ready to rock, no protools, no iLock!!

QUOTE (Socky42 @ Mar 19 2014, 07:39 PM) *
Honestly, I would've bought one of these years ago after seeing guys like David Wallimann give it nothing but praise; but the software side of things being tied to Pro Tools was a huge turnoff. Good to know they finally released the standalone software.

Is the iLok still a thing on the unit?



It's a standalone app that runs on Mac/Pc. Makes editing patches a breeze. I DESPISE the tiny window and scroll knobs for editing patches. But hey that's just me smile.gif I'm sure some folks don't mind at all. I just hate it. Slows things down too much.

I LOVE the little app that edits patche. Just click and bam, so handy smile.gif

QUOTE (klasaine @ Mar 19 2014, 08:20 PM) *
Todd, is the 'editor' software in the actual hardware unit? Or is it an avid app?

*Nevermind. I found the info. Expansion pack firmware v2.0


This post has been edited by Todd Simpson: Mar 20 2014, 06:24 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Mar 21 2014, 05:25 AM
Post #20


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.747
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



I meant to post a snap of the stand alone interface!! You can drag and drop the order of all the effects just like in OVERLOUD which is very handy. Being able to stack up two eqs ahead of the distortion for example, gives wads of control over the tone smile.gif

Attached Image


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th January 2017 - 07:14 PM