2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Audio Card Issues
Caelumamittendum
post Mar 17 2014, 02:14 PM
Post #21


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.346
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



QUOTE (Darius Wave @ Mar 17 2014, 02:09 PM) *
One of "ghost issues". Very popular. Can't help unfortunately. Never found one common reason for this happening...


It's weird though. I don't have any issues when using the same card on my desktop.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Mar 17 2014, 02:20 PM
Post #22


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (Darius Wave @ Mar 17 2014, 02:09 PM) *
One of "ghost issues". Very popular. Can't help unfortunately. Never found one common reason for this happening...


Sadly that's often the way - too many variables in a pc and why Apple had their hardware locked down for so many years. Oh the joys of pc computers.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Mar 17 2014, 02:23 PM
Post #23


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.346
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



DPC Latency checker tells me there are some occasional issues - it shows spikes now and again. Drop outs haven't occured at the same time though.

Might it be something to do with the BIOS? I think there's an update on Packard Bell's website for the BIOS. I haven't installed that.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Mar 17 2014, 02:34 PM
Post #24


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



Yes update the bios. It may help. Although I think the issue is more specific to the USB updatig the bios won't hurt.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Mar 17 2014, 02:35 PM
Post #25


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.346
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



Of course it's like going to the dentist... your tooth hurts for days before, but as soon as you get there it's gone and you can't figure out what it was. Something like that anyway. I'm only getting the issues VERY rarely now all of a sudden. It's still there, but doesn't occur as often.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Mar 17 2014, 02:42 PM
Post #26


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



Except the toothache alwasy comes back after you get home...

Windows may have applied some hotfixes in the background if you let it update, which could be why you're seeing fewer issues. Or it's just windows being a pita as usual.

Life was a lot easier when we did everything in analogue and used reel to reels. You know where you are with a razor blade and tape...


... usually in A&E outpatients minus a finger and covered in blood wink.gif


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Mar 17 2014, 02:47 PM
Post #27


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.346
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



QUOTE (tonymiro @ Mar 17 2014, 02:42 PM) *
Except the toothache alwasy comes back after you get home...

Windows may have applied some hotfixes in the background if you let it update, which could be why you're seeing fewer issues. Or it's just windows being a pita as usual.

Life was a lot easier when we did everything in analogue and used reel to reels. You know where you are with a razor blade and tape...


... usually in A&E outpatients minus a finger and covered in blood wink.gif


Exactly! I'm sure once I take my laptop with me to the attic I'll have all sorts of issues again.

I'm pretty sure it's as updated as it can be now. I reinstalled everything the other day and have been updating and what not since then, but the issue have remained throughout and was there before I formatted the computer in a desperate hope that it was software interfering.

I've heard about those days and was told everything was much warmer in sound back then, but that everything is much easier and accessible now for a broader set of users.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sensible Jones
post Mar 17 2014, 02:50 PM
Post #28


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.190
Joined: 2-January 09
From: London-ish. UK.
Member No.: 6.517



QUOTE (tonymiro @ Mar 17 2014, 01:42 PM) *
... usually in A&E outpatients minus a finger and covered in blood wink.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif Ain't that the truth!!!


--------------------
I'd rather have a full Bottle in front of me than a full Frontal Lobotomy!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Mar 17 2014, 04:03 PM
Post #29


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (Caelumamittendum @ Mar 17 2014, 02:47 PM) *
Exactly! I'm sure once I take my laptop with me to the attic I'll have all sorts of issues again.

I'm pretty sure it's as updated as it can be now. I reinstalled everything the other day and have been updating and what not since then, but the issue have remained throughout and was there before I formatted the computer in a desperate hope that it was software interfering.

I've heard about those days and was told everything was much warmer in sound back then, but that everything is much easier and accessible now for a broader set of users.


Analogue is warmer and more musical than digital but some people prefer the latter. Things may not have been any easier but you used to get training in a studio and so you learnt how to gainstage, use a multimeter and so on. A big downside though was that for musicians recording etc was expensive as you either had to go in to a studio or buy a lot of hardware and have the room to house it all.

Nowadays it's much easier and cheaper to set up a home or project studio but a lot of people don't know a lot about the technical and engineering side. Many look to stuff on the internet for advice but a lot of that is cack.


QUOTE (Sensible Jones @ Mar 17 2014, 02:50 PM) *
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif Ain't that the truth!!!


Makes it a lot easier giving someone the finger though mate biggrin.gif .


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post Mar 17 2014, 04:55 PM
Post #30


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.217
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



Exactly Ben - the device itself is usually not a problem. To be honest form my personal statistics I can say that desktops are usually working correct...funny but even those with lower peripherals performance. I have one laptop with audiobox usb that I still can't get working the way it should while the same card works fine with the desktop.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Mar 17 2014, 04:58 PM
Post #31


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.346
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



QUOTE (Darius Wave @ Mar 17 2014, 04:55 PM) *
Exactly Ben - the device itself is usually not a problem. To be honest form my personal statistics I can say that desktops are usually working correct...funny but even those with lower peripherals performance. I have one laptop with audiobox usb that I still can't get working the way it should while the same card works fine with the desktop.


Exactly. It's weird though as it has worked fine in the past. I'll keep trying to look at drivers, BIOS, whatever I can do to fix it.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Mar 18 2014, 11:00 AM
Post #32


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



One of the things that really differentiates USB audio cards in the prosumer range is the quality of the USB drivers provided with the device. The better prosumer makes tend to have a reputation for producing devices that work without issue (or with very few) and that is largely down to the USB driver.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Mar 18 2014, 08:43 PM
Post #33


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.346
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



I've done a whole lot of things to get this fixed, and it seems like it is fixed now. Not sure how I did it though!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post Mar 19 2014, 03:15 PM
Post #34


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.217
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



The biggest issue is...not many people can afford to keep decent, independent PC for recording only - no web connection, no junk software...just all that's needed to make records...


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Mar 19 2014, 04:44 PM
Post #35


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.346
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



QUOTE (Darius Wave @ Mar 19 2014, 03:15 PM) *
The biggest issue is...not many people can afford to keep decent, independent PC for recording only - no web connection, no junk software...just all that's needed to make records...


I can't keep it fully recording PC, cause I use this laptop at other occasions as well, but I won't install much "junk" on it. smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th January 2017 - 09:12 PM