3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Rack Processsor, Effects Processor
Hajduk
post Mar 28 2014, 07:08 PM
Post #1


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 977
Joined: 8-February 13
From: North Vancouver
Member No.: 17.670



So I have been trying to understand gear more and this is one of those things I'm confused about ( one of many smile.gif ) If you have a multi effects Processor do you need Pedals?? Or would you just need a foot switch?? For example if you had a TC Electronics G-Force multi effects Processor.


--------------------
Tomislav
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Mar 28 2014, 10:24 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.458
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



"need" is probably not accurate but you could still "want" pedals and make good use of them smile.gif But no, you wouldn't need them as such. If you have a good fx unit, it will have a version of several fx pedals built in. However, your tone might benefit from adding a boutique overdrive to the chain or even a noise suppressor before the unit to help high gain patches be less noisy even though there is a noise gate built in.

So adding pedals is just a way to enhance ones tone. smile.gif But yeah, most folks with a multi unit that doesn't have a built in foot controller (eg. rack units / pod bean/etc.) typically buy a foot controller. If your fx unit is good enough you can be really happy without adding extra pedals. My ELEVEN RACK has good emulations of pedals built in so I actually sold my precious ProTone Bulb Overdrive since I just didn't need it anymore.

But if you buy a pod, or something else on the lower end side, you might add a nice pedal of some kind to it smile.gif

Todd



QUOTE (Hajduk @ Mar 28 2014, 02:08 PM) *
So I have been trying to understand gear more and this is one of those things I'm confused about ( one of many smile.gif ) If you have a multi effects Processor do you need Pedals?? Or would you just need a foot switch?? For example if you had a TC Electronics G-Force multi effects Processor.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Mar 29 2014, 08:59 AM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



Todd is right smile.gif It's all about your tastes and actual needs. I for one, if i were to get a rack unit, I would use delays, reverb and such from that unit but place the noise suppressor and the booster as pedals. It's something you just can't go wrong with! smile.gif Are you into getting a rack unit?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hajduk
post Mar 29 2014, 09:21 AM
Post #4


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 977
Joined: 8-February 13
From: North Vancouver
Member No.: 17.670



Thank you, Todd and Cosmin smile.gif Yeah would love to get one, was just confused as to what the deal with them was! When I saw Satriani he had a full pedal board but the other guitarist ( Mike Knealey) Had the racks, maybe they both used them?? Would really like to get a unit, just not sure which one or how much I would like to spend, or how much I can smile.gif My son just got braces $6000.00 dollars, be paying that off for a bit.


--------------------
Tomislav
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Mar 29 2014, 02:09 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



QUOTE (Hajduk @ Mar 29 2014, 08:21 AM) *
Thank you, Todd and Cosmin smile.gif Yeah would love to get one, was just confused as to what the deal with them was! When I saw Satriani he had a full pedal board but the other guitarist ( Mike Knealey) Had the racks, maybe they both used them?? Would really like to get a unit, just not sure which one or how much I would like to spend, or how much I can smile.gif My son just got braces $6000.00 dollars, be paying that off for a bit.


Man..... sorry to appear as a dumbass, but what sort of braces can cost 6000 bucks? It seems like a huge amount for dental braces.. Mate, I wouldn't spend my money on a rack effect, as I usually need only a delay or a reverb when playing. If I have one pedal for each effect, it's about enough.

I am currently testing a VOX AC15 and believe me, the ONLY thing that I added in front of it was the Suhr Shiba Drive pedal and of course the built in spring reverb. For lightly distorted lead playing and clean playing it's THE THING!



It's simply beautiful! Shooting two vids with it next week smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post Mar 29 2014, 11:20 PM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.293
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



Unfortunately this thing is pretty twisted and depends on the long list of "how I connect my gear"

1. If it's rack processor in amp fx loop than You will still need some fx in front of the amp because....in the fx loop they work different
2. Rack FX can do a loto of job but You might no be satisfied with some of the effects. Example. I use T.C G-major in fx loop but I'm not satisfied with chorus and phaser effects from it but I use them live anyway....because I use those to rare to make myself trouble by new devices in pedalboard, new purchases, rig reconfig etc
3. If You DON'T USE DISTORTION FROM YOUR AMP (clean channel only and stomp distortion) , You might find You don't need anything more than this Rack FX but...here comes MY THING...

...One of most important arguments for having rack fx in my case...was to keep it close to the amp, short connection chords, fx loop for the amp to use it with amp distortion.


This is very individual


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hajduk
post Mar 30 2014, 02:59 AM
Post #7


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 977
Joined: 8-February 13
From: North Vancouver
Member No.: 17.670



Thanks for the great insight Cosmin and Darius smile.gif In Canada our medical is all paid for but Dental is the killer, yup $6000.00 for some metal rails on teeth smile.gif but he will have nice straight teeth!


--------------------
Tomislav
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post Mar 30 2014, 02:58 PM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.293
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



This price really looks scary...


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hajduk
post Mar 30 2014, 05:52 PM
Post #9


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 977
Joined: 8-February 13
From: North Vancouver
Member No.: 17.670



Haha smile.gif Yes it is Darius! I often think of all the nice guitars I could have bought smile.gif family first though, the way its gotta be smile.gif
but seriously I could have bought a killer guitar and amp, haha smile.gif


--------------------
Tomislav
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Mar 30 2014, 06:10 PM
Post #10


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (Cosmin Lupu @ Mar 29 2014, 02:09 PM) *
Man..... sorry to appear as a dumbass, but what sort of braces can cost 6000 bucks? It seems like a huge amount for dental braces.. Mate, I wouldn't spend my money on a rack effect, as I usually need only a delay or a reverb when playing. If I have one pedal for each effect, it's about enough.

...


My daughter has braces and her's cost a little over 3000 Euros, so $6000 doesn't surprise me.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Mar 30 2014, 09:19 PM
Post #11


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



Pfffaaa! I really think that braces are MUCH, MUCH cheaper here smile.gif Mates, I think that I am in love with that AC15. I frankly don't feel like I need anything else right now when it comes to clean and crunch/light leads. It's not a metal amp - I will have other stuff for that, but this AC15 is something ...wow!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Mar 31 2014, 01:14 AM
Post #12


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.458
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



One rack unit I can highly recommend is the Digidesign Eleven Rack, since I own one and LOVE it. smile.gif I"ve tried more gear than I ever thought possible and most of the rack/floor multi processors I've tried were CAAARAAAAPPPPPP!! Pods included. All new Digitech products included (RP series) all wer crap. I've owned the behringer multi fx pod as well and it was crap.

Keep in mind I'm looking for high gain for low / mid gain any multi is fine wink.gif

I finally got a ELEVEN RACK and the stand alone software editor and WOW. It's like I'm using TH2 (my fav plugin) but attached to a box that racks up and goes with me. You can find them on Ebay used for $300. which is shockingly cheap for this much processsing and tone. I paid about that for one overdrive a bit back.

You will need a midi foot switch to control it. If it's a bit much for starting, just grab something cheap to play with and get used to working with multi fx, Pod, Behringer, Line 6, all roughly similar so just set a price and buy whatever fits. You can always sell it later to get something good.

https://soundcloud.com/techniqueswithtodd/avid-elevn-rack-custom-patch

Attached Image



QUOTE (Hajduk @ Mar 28 2014, 02:08 PM) *
So I have been trying to understand gear more and this is one of those things I'm confused about ( one of many smile.gif ) If you have a multi effects Processor do you need Pedals?? Or would you just need a foot switch?? For example if you had a TC Electronics G-Force multi effects Processor.


This post has been edited by Todd Simpson: Mar 31 2014, 01:16 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hajduk
post Mar 31 2014, 05:12 AM
Post #13


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 977
Joined: 8-February 13
From: North Vancouver
Member No.: 17.670



That's awesome Todd, will look it up and see if I can get one on Ebay or maybe craigslist!


--------------------
Tomislav
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Mar 31 2014, 02:38 PM
Post #14


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



QUOTE (Hajduk @ Mar 31 2014, 04:12 AM) *
That's awesome Todd, will look it up and see if I can get one on Ebay or maybe craigslist!


There's a catch though smile.gif You need to be a VERY patient man and have an inclination towards tweaking parameters, if you want to get a great tone out of these babies. I for one am a more oldschool sort of dude in respect to these things and I like my stuff to have a few knobs and do 2-3 things at most. But that doesn't mean these processors are bad - they just take more time to work with.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Apr 1 2014, 01:08 AM
Post #15


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.458
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Cosmin is SPOT ON!!! The presets that come with the ELEVEN are CRAP but the good new is I"VE MADE SOME PRESETS I CAN SHARE WITH YA!! smile.gif Like the one in the sound sample. I've spent hours upon hours tweaking the crap out of this thing and finally found the secret sauce to BIG KRUNCHY tone. smile.gif

You can use the standalone software app to tweak settings on your computer so it's like editing amplitude or something. And it connects via usb to your computer so it's a recording interface. It has a total of 8 inputs!!! Even has a built in mic preamp on the front for recording with a microphone doing vocals, acoustic guitar etc.

For the used price, the feature set and tone is without peer. You could spend three times as much and get a first gen axe fx but you could buy two eleven racks and two foot controllers and two rack cases for the same money.


QUOTE (Cosmin Lupu @ Mar 31 2014, 09:38 AM) *
There's a catch though smile.gif You need to be a VERY patient man and have an inclination towards tweaking parameters, if you want to get a great tone out of these babies. I for one am a more oldschool sort of dude in respect to these things and I like my stuff to have a few knobs and do 2-3 things at most. But that doesn't mean these processors are bad - they just take more time to work with.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Apr 1 2014, 10:22 PM
Post #16


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



It's true, that the analogue devices offer far less possibilities in one unit, but they sound hellishly good... for instance, I am ready to spend 600 euros on the VOX AC 15 even if it's only a clean channel amp. I will get a metal prone head and I will use both onstage. I only have to tweak a few knobs and it sounds killer smile.gif It's heavy tho and I will need a car laugh.gif Terrible disease is this one of the gear laugh.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
post Apr 3 2014, 11:01 AM
Post #17


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 5.293
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Member No.: 17.069



Some amps just sound good no matter what You set on the EQ. Usually those are the "3 knobs" amps smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Apr 3 2014, 10:39 PM
Post #18


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



QUOTE (Darius Wave @ Apr 3 2014, 10:01 AM) *
Some amps just sound good no matter what You set on the EQ. Usually those are the "3 knobs" amps smile.gif


Like that wonderful VOX AC15 I have at home laugh.gif I keep mentioning it and maybe it's already becoming annoying, but for me, it's a tone so wonderful I can't stop being amazed biggrin.gif Darius, what amp was it that charmed you like a beautiful lady?

This post has been edited by Cosmin Lupu: Apr 3 2014, 10:40 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sensible Jones
post Apr 3 2014, 11:33 PM
Post #19


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.261
Joined: 2-January 09
From: London-ish. UK.
Member No.: 6.517



QUOTE (Cosmin Lupu @ Apr 3 2014, 09:39 PM) *
Like that wonderful VOX AC15 I have at home laugh.gif I keep mentioning it and maybe it's already becoming annoying, but for me, it's a tone so wonderful I can't stop being amazed biggrin.gif

I know what you mean Cos, I used to use an AC 30 TB for quite a while. I never should have sold that thing!!


--------------------
I'd rather have a full Bottle in front of me than a full Frontal Lobotomy!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Apr 4 2014, 07:31 AM
Post #20


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



QUOTE (Sensible Jones @ Apr 3 2014, 10:33 PM) *
I know what you mean Cos, I used to use an AC 30 TB for quite a while. I never should have sold that thing!!


I'm seriously thinking about having two amps onstage - the Vox for the clean and crunch tones and maybe a Peavy 5150 or a Blackstar for the metal. That sort of rig is gonna be difficult to carry around, but for that tone... heh biggrin.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th May 2017 - 05:27 AM