Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording Vocals, reaper
ElHombre
post May 3 2014, 07:43 PM
Post #1


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 769
Joined: 25-December 11
Member No.: 14.679



Hello

My friend brought an M - audio sound card which we managed to get to work.
I use it as input , ASIO in reaper.

We can record but we cant hear anywhere what we are recording.
Cause its both input and output I guess.

So how do we fix this?

Can we somehow keep the ASIO device I have right now
and use the m - audio as record monotoring or something?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post May 3 2014, 08:21 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 28.068
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



QUOTE (ElHombre @ May 3 2014, 03:43 PM) *
Hello

My friend brought an M - audio sound card which we managed to get to work.
I use it as input , ASIO in reaper.

We can record but we cant hear anywhere what we are recording.
Cause its both input and output I guess.

So how do we fix this?

Can we somehow keep the ASIO device I have right now
and use the m - audio as record monotoring or something?



Hi mate! You will find a mix level controller in your M-audio soundcard that let's you balance between the audio that comes from your computer and the audio that is entering through the input. That's how I monitor voices with my M-audio fast track pro. Do you have the mix leveler?


--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
enlo22
post May 4 2014, 01:54 AM
Post #3


Learning Guitar Hero
*

Group: Members
Posts: 413
Joined: 24-December 11
Member No.: 14.670



i'm not sure if this will help, but there's a direct monitor button on reaper, on whatever track you're recording, if you turn it on it'll let you hear what you're recording.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post May 4 2014, 09:16 AM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



Both Gabi's and Marco's tips should help out - I am not using Reaper, but there should be a monitoring activation option somewhere for certain. Search it and let us know - Maybe Todd knows more?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
thefireball
post May 4 2014, 02:46 PM
Post #5


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.484
Joined: 9-March 10
From: United States, Arkansas
Member No.: 9.801



I use the same with my Line 6. Be sure to have this button checked. Also USB 3.0 really helps cut down that latency if you have any.
Attached image(s)
Attached Image
 


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post May 4 2014, 03:27 PM
Post #6


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (thefireball @ May 4 2014, 01:46 PM) *
I use the same with my Line 6. Be sure to have this button checked. Also USB 3.0 really helps cut down that latency if you have any.


USB 2 is more than capable of delivering low latency. What USB 3 offers is bandwidth that allows you to run more channels concurrently. There are however still very few audio devices that use USB 3.

If you really want performance you may well be better of with FW by the way.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SeeJay
post May 4 2014, 10:30 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 373
Joined: 1-May 14
From: Orlando, FL USA
Member No.: 19.758



I tried to jump head first into recording years ago. Bought some software, got a little mixer. But didn't have the patience to read a book or watch a video on the software. It lead to A LOT of headaches and long nights googling easy things I didn't know how to do.

For example, I didn't know you could lock edits down to the grid. So if I wanted to copy and paste a loop, it was NEVER a clean cut on the grid (if that makes sense). I made SO many bad edits.

I also had a session where I invited a few friends over and we couldn't get one of the channels to pass any audio. I chalked it up to a bad channel on the converter. NOPE, just didn't set it up correctly. That channel was never in record mode.

Hopefully you know a bit about reaper, otherwise I would say (and I mean this in a constructive way) STOP. Watch a video (there's SOOOOO many now a days). Go down the YouTube rabbit hole. Learn about the software. Learn how to set it up with your hardware, learn how to setup up a good session, and learn how to navigate and edit.

Creating a good workflow is crucial. Otherwise, as you've experienced, when you get your creative juices flowing, it will come to a crashing stop if you can't record or edit correctly.

Hope that's helpful.

ps. here's a good video to get you started.


--------------------
Rock and Roll Lover. Vintage Ampeg collector. Soon to be new father.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post May 5 2014, 02:43 PM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



Thanks for the sharing, man - indeed, building up a workflow (regardless of the musical activity involved - recording/writing/practicing) is a crucial aspect which sometimes, more often than not, makes the difference between success and an illusion of success in that activity.

Usually, we have to try to be as organized as possible in everything we do and this system called SMART has been of great use to me smile.gif

More on it here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SMART_criteria


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post May 8 2014, 10:37 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.747
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Just in case, by FW I'm assuming TONY means FIREWIRE? If so I agree smile.gif Firewire is more suited for music production than usb simply for it's bi directional data processing. USB 3 has far more bandwidth, but it was not designed for music so it actually has some technical limitations on how it can work.

The best option imho is THUNDERBOLT but that's a Mac Only thing primarily. Though you can get tbolt ad on cards. It allows tremendous bandwidth and is great for use on Mixers/interfaces/etc.




QUOTE (tonymiro @ May 4 2014, 10:27 AM) *
USB 2 is more than capable of delivering low latency. What USB 3 offers is bandwidth that allows you to run more channels concurrently. There are however still very few audio devices that use USB 3.

If you really want performance you may well be better of with FW by the way.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th January 2017 - 07:22 PM