2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Studio Pron!
Spock
post May 25 2014, 09:03 PM
Post #21


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.295
Joined: 26-December 12
From: South Carolina, U.S.A.
Member No.: 17.265



QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ May 25 2014, 01:40 PM) *
NICE!!!! Looking great!! Super Congrats! smile.gif One little tip, pull the sub away from the wall/backing a bit when placing it and also perhaps move it out from under the desk. The area under the desk may act like a big resonator and over emphasize the bass and result in mixes that end up sounding thin. Place the sub away from the wall and even on a stand if possible. Don't put it in a corner either or the you'll get the same over bass. Sub placement can be a pain but it's worth it smile.gif



Well, I really don't have anywhere else to put the subwoofer, but I just checked out the sound and I love it. It's a lot better placement than where I use to have it.

The only thing is that right now my 2 speakers are behind the 2 side monitors - I can still hear everything good, but ideally I would like to raise them above the monitors and point them down. That will be another weekend project.

This desk suits my needs perfectly - it gave my already cramped space a lot of room so now I can stand and play and not have my pedals crammed under the desk - and save money! Plus, I just enjoy these types of projects I guess.

Attached Image


Attached Image
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jstcrsn
post May 26 2014, 12:03 AM
Post #22


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.841
Joined: 29-March 08
From: kansas, USA
Member No.: 4.733



this in not a studio desk, but I made this "point of sale' counter for a local golf shop
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Spock
post May 26 2014, 12:17 AM
Post #23


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.295
Joined: 26-December 12
From: South Carolina, U.S.A.
Member No.: 17.265



That's some beautiful work jstcrsn!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Becca
post May 26 2014, 05:16 PM
Post #24


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 129
Joined: 31-March 14
From: Somerset UK
Member No.: 19.626



QUOTE (Spock @ May 24 2014, 09:21 AM) *
Awesome, I would love to see a picture of it.


The desk I had purchased was only $200 - and that was the cheapest I could find it online, but for all I know it was coming from Taiwan and no telling how long it would have taken to be delivered. The priced included "FREE Delivery" it said - but nothing in this world is free, so you can imagine the materials used to make the desk.

I was able to purchase everything and have my boards cut to size for $100. So that cut the price in half and I know the quality of the wood is much better than the particle board (held together by laminate) I ordered.

My only obstacle is how to cut the hole cleanly. But like you said, this will be perfect for the space available, which for me is very limited.

Hi Spock, My fella puts Gaffa Tape on the surface and marks it then cuts through wood and tape both. Stops splintering and lifting of any veneer. He is quite handy like that but STILL hasnt made me my pedal board grrr.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
klasaine
post May 26 2014, 06:06 PM
Post #25


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.849
Joined: 30-December 12
From: Los Angeles, CA
Member No.: 17.304



QUOTE (Spock @ May 25 2014, 04:17 PM) *
That's some beautiful work jstcrsn!


+1
You too Spock!

*Becca - your guy NEEDS to build you a pedal board. Remind him of the story of Lysistrata.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SeeJay
post May 26 2014, 06:45 PM
Post #26


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 373
Joined: 1-May 14
From: Orlando, FL USA
Member No.: 19.758



Love all this. Building stuff outa wood is awesome man type stuff!! I've got a buddy who works at a woodshop locally. They do incredible stuff with locally sourced wood.

CHECK IT OUT!


--------------------
Rock and Roll Lover. Vintage Ampeg collector. Soon to be new father.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post May 30 2014, 09:09 AM
Post #27


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.739
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Had to share this smile.gif Get ready for some over the top, color infusion.

Attached Image


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Feb 9 2015, 09:21 AM
Post #28


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.739
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Change of pace, here is a nice clean look. I think it's a home studio.

Attached Image


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Feb 9 2015, 02:15 PM
Post #29


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.539
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



I'll try and post some pictures of my setup one day when I get my place cleaned up a little. It doesn't compare at all to some of these though!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Feb 10 2015, 12:02 PM
Post #30


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Feb 9 2015, 08:21 AM) *
Change of pace, here is a nice clean look. I think it's a home studio.

...


almost certainly a home studio


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Feb 10 2015, 08:59 PM
Post #31


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.739
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



ROLAND must have set up the place and the shot as there are no visible wires anywhere. Every home studio I've ever seen had some visible wires somewhere. You don't even see power connections here.

QUOTE (tonymiro @ Feb 10 2015, 07:02 AM) *
almost certainly a home studio


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tommy M
post Feb 19 2015, 08:01 AM
Post #32


Learning Rodie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 25-October 14
From: Sweden
Member No.: 20.349



Awwww, this is just mean:)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Feb 19 2015, 04:16 PM
Post #33


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Feb 10 2015, 07:59 PM) *
ROLAND must have set up the place and the shot as there are no visible wires anywhere. Every home studio I've ever seen had some visible wires somewhere. You don't even see power connections here.


Yes it's common practice in pro studios not to have the cables attached/showing for photoshoots. It's easier for us to keep them out of the shoot though as gear tends to be set in to custom built desks and/or racks and we also tend to use wiring looms rather than individual cables, etc. Easest way to know if things are plugged in is if the power lights etc are on - photographers also often like all the pretty LEDs to be lit up ;-).


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Feb 20 2015, 11:50 PM
Post #34


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.739
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



I think they photoshopped out some of the wires actually in that photo. You can tell the stuff is powered up yet no power cables are visible at all.

QUOTE (tonymiro @ Feb 19 2015, 11:16 AM) *
Yes it's common practice in pro studios not to have the cables attached/showing for photoshoots. It's easier for us to keep them out of the shoot though as gear tends to be set in to custom built desks and/or racks and we also tend to use wiring looms rather than individual cables, etc. Easest way to know if things are plugged in is if the power lights etc are on - photographers also often like all the pretty LEDs to be lit up ;-).



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post May 13 2015, 12:26 AM
Post #35


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.739
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Here's one smile.gif It's on a Greek Island. You live there while you record. It's just amazing.

https://www.facebook.com/blackrockvilla


Attached Image
Attached Image


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st July 2017 - 01:57 PM