> Cleaning The Neck / Fingerboard
Ben Higgins
post Jun 2 2014, 11:10 AM
Post #1

Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Member No.: 9.820

Hey guys, I wanted to ask what you guys use to clean the fingerboard and neck of your guitars ?

Lemon oil is the go-to for fingerboards.. probably not needed that regularly but good to stop the neck drying out if you live in hot, dry areas.

The Ibanez RG7421 I bought recently has an unfinished maple neck and a rosewood fingerboard. The rosewood fingerboard isn't much of a mystery but I'm new to the idea of unfinished necks and wondered what your advice would be regards maintenance ?

I've seen people mentioning gun oil for cleaning necks.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Becca
post Jun 2 2014, 12:08 PM
Post #2

GMC:er

Group: Members
Member No.: 19.626

QUOTE (Ben Higgins @ Jun 2 2014, 10:10 AM) *
Hey guys, I wanted to ask what you guys use to clean the fingerboard and neck of your guitars ?

Lemon oil is the go-to for fingerboards.. probably not needed that regularly but good to stop the neck drying out if you live in hot, dry areas.

The Ibanez RG7421 I bought recently has an unfinished maple neck and a rosewood fingerboard. The rosewood fingerboard isn't much of a mystery but I'm new to the idea of unfinished necks and wondered what your advice would be regards maintenance ?

I've seen people mentioning gun oil for cleaning necks.

Hmm.. Hi Ben, the most my guitars get is a wipe down the strings with Fast Fret after a gig. I'm not sure about gun oil on unfinished wood though. Would have thought a natural oil like Lemon or Linseed oil would be the route to go but I am no expert on this. Sensible Jones is a luthier, he or someone else like him would know the best route to take to be absolutely sure.

--------------------

+Quote Post
Mertay
post Jun 2 2014, 12:56 PM
Post #3

Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Member No.: 18.294