Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pedal Switching
Becca
post Jun 9 2014, 05:11 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 129
Joined: 31-March 14
From: Somerset UK
Member No.: 19.626



a few weeks ago when we were discussing the train wreck that is my pedal board , I was advised to get a switching system to stop my tap dancing routine when playing live and changing pedals. I am going to get one eventually but I have no idea how they work. What is the sort of things I need to bear in mind when buying one? I assume the peds all plug into the switching system and that I can select some peds on one switch and others on other switches. How does it know to do this? Will I have to change the 6" patch leads I currently use for something else? What can you guys tell me about these systems.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Spock
post Jun 9 2014, 05:26 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.295
Joined: 26-December 12
From: South Carolina, U.S.A.
Member No.: 17.265



Are you using stomp boxes? If so, there is a really cool unit you can get that will engage multiple pedals at once, and you can have different configurations. One of my friends has one and I had considered it myself, but eventually went with using a Line 6 unit.

I have forgotten what it's called, but I've put in text message to him about it and will let you know as soon as I hear something back.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Becca
post Jun 9 2014, 05:38 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 129
Joined: 31-March 14
From: Somerset UK
Member No.: 19.626



QUOTE (Spock @ Jun 9 2014, 04:26 PM) *
Are you using stomp boxes? If so, there is a really cool unit you can get that will engage multiple pedals at once, and you can have different configurations. One of my friends has one and I had considered it myself, but eventually went with using a Line 6 unit.

I have forgotten what it's called, but I've put in text message to him about it and will let you know as soon as I hear something back.

hi Spock. yes I am using stomp boxes, mostly analogue, I'm an old fashioned gal. smile.gif I think my EHX Memory Man is digital but the others are all analogue. I dont know if that makes any difference. actually I am not sure if the EHX Riddle is analogue or not. I always thought it was but I can't be positive.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Spock
post Jun 9 2014, 07:32 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.295
Joined: 26-December 12
From: South Carolina, U.S.A.
Member No.: 17.265



Here it is...

Carl Martin Octa-switch

Attached Image




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Becca
post Jun 9 2014, 07:56 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 129
Joined: 31-March 14
From: Somerset UK
Member No.: 19.626



QUOTE (Spock @ Jun 9 2014, 06:32 PM) *
Here it is...

Carl Martin Octa-switch

Attached Image


That is exactly the sort of thing I have in mind. So I could patch say my comp plus my Rothwell OD into one switch. Would I then be able to use , say my comp in combination with my tremelo unit in another patch? How many peds could I put on one patch? See, I have no idea about these things. I like the price of the Joyo unit that I have seen but apart from specs I cannot find any info on its day to day use. Thank you Spock, for sourcing all the info above. you are a top man smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Spock
post Jun 9 2014, 08:10 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.295
Joined: 26-December 12
From: South Carolina, U.S.A.
Member No.: 17.265



I'm pretty sure that once you get everything plugged in, you have 8 switches that can be configured to any pedal combination you like.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Becca
post Jun 9 2014, 08:17 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 129
Joined: 31-March 14
From: Somerset UK
Member No.: 19.626



QUOTE (Spock @ Jun 9 2014, 07:10 PM) *
I'm pretty sure that once you get everything plugged in, you have 8 switches that can be configured to any pedal combination you like.

Thats really cool. er, I just checked the price on that Carl Martin Octaswitch. ohmy.gif
Here in the UK a second hand one on ebay is over £300!! A tad rich for my taste I fear but I have no doubt its a top quality piece of kit. I guess you use the digital multi effects gear, How are finding it?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Spock
post Jun 9 2014, 08:36 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.295
Joined: 26-December 12
From: South Carolina, U.S.A.
Member No.: 17.265



Yes, I love having the Pod HD500X. It was a learning curve to get it hooked up an working with the Marshall though, but I got it figured out. I still have all my pedals, just keep them in a drawer. It seems every few years I want to go all analog, but the deciding factor for me was because of the exact issue you are having with your pedals.

I was either going to have to get one of these units or bite the bullet and learn how to bypass all the preamps in the Line 6 and only use it's effects in the effects loop of my amp. I also liked the Pod because it is a great stand-alone unit. It's a little more expensive at $500. Here's the thread in which I like to pull all my hair out trying to understand the process...

https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...showtopic=51483


I guess for anything, whether Mutli-FX pedals or something like the Octa-Switch unit you're going to have to spend at least $300, I haven't found a way around that. Even a smaller Line 6 or Boss is $30o on the low end.

Good luck though. Finding the right FX for you and how to incorporate them into your set-up is as much of a never ending process as learning guitar is.

This post has been edited by Spock: Jun 9 2014, 08:38 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Becca
post Jun 10 2014, 03:03 AM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 129
Joined: 31-March 14
From: Somerset UK
Member No.: 19.626



QUOTE (Spock @ Jun 9 2014, 07:36 PM) *
Yes, I love having the Pod HD500X. It was a learning curve to get it hooked up an working with the Marshall though, but I got it figured out. I still have all my pedals, just keep them in a drawer. It seems every few years I want to go all analog, but the deciding factor for me was because of the exact issue you are having with your pedals.

I was either going to have to get one of these units or bite the bullet and learn how to bypass all the preamps in the Line 6 and only use it's effects in the effects loop of my amp. I also liked the Pod because it is a great stand-alone unit. It's a little more expensive at $500. Here's the thread in which I like to pull all my hair out trying to understand the process...

https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...showtopic=51483


I guess for anything, whether Mutli-FX pedals or something like the Octa-Switch unit you're going to have to spend at least $300, I haven't found a way around that. Even a smaller Line 6 or Boss is $30o on the low end.

Good luck though. Finding the right FX for you and how to incorporate them into your set-up is as much of a never ending process as learning guitar is.

Jeez Spock that link totally twisted my mind. I guess the hard work is in setting up how you want it for max results. It certainly seems to me that you are getting the most out of it. I am an analogue girl i suppose. Thats why I had to ask about the loop switcher. It all seems like witchcraft to me.Anyway I wont be getting one anytime soon now, my hubby got towed back home today due to the radiator blowing out in the car mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif That's an unexpected bill we could do without. DAMMIT!! mad.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Spock
post Jun 10 2014, 12:01 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.295
Joined: 26-December 12
From: South Carolina, U.S.A.
Member No.: 17.265



OUCH!!! I know that feeling.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Jun 10 2014, 03:09 PM
Post #11


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 29.537
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



Hi Becca, there is a cheaper option by joyo, and I heard good things from them. I have some Joyo pedals and do their job very well.





--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sensible Jones
post Jun 11 2014, 04:19 PM
Post #12


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.499
Joined: 2-January 09
From: London-ish. UK.
Member No.: 6.517



Here's a quick video showing how to make presets on the GEC438 Loop Switcher:-


This post has been edited by Sensible Jones: Jun 11 2014, 05:14 PM


--------------------
I'd rather have a full Bottle in front of me than a full Frontal Lobotomy!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jun 12 2014, 07:08 AM
Post #13


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.018
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Bingo!! smile.gif The joyo pedal switchers have good built quality and and they are much cheaper than many other options smile.gif You could of course start with a used mult fx unit and foot pedal controller. For example, I bought a Digitech mult fx unit with a midi control pedal for only $150 which is about the price of the joyo 8 channel effects switcher smile.gif
Attached Image

The plus about a multi fix unit is that you can have, for example, a different delay setting on your clean channel than you have on your lead channel. That's one of the BIG limitations about a pedal board. Unless you put two delay units on it, you get one delay setting for everything. One Distortion setting, for everything, one chorus setting for everything. It's always struck me as extremely limited. That said, I actually use both smile.gif I use my pedal board for very specific stuff to add to certain patched in 11 Rack smile.gif For example, if I want TWO OVERDRIVES in one patch. I use the 11 Rack overdrive, then I stomp on my boutique FUHRMANN pedal overdrive as well smile.gif


QUOTE (Gabriel Leopardi @ Jun 10 2014, 10:09 AM) *
Hi Becca, there is a cheaper option by joyo, and I heard good things from them. I have some Joyo pedals and do their job very well.




--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cosmin Lupu
post Jun 14 2014, 07:45 AM
Post #14


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 22.808
Joined: 14-June 10
From: Bucharest
Member No.: 10.636



Great thread smile.gif I am currently using just a few pedals, but I think that I am getting closer and closer to the day on which I will need to switch more stuff around.

I am betting that there are enough experienced users here, so let's make a little top 5 in respect to fx controllers having in mind the price vs quality ratio. What say you, guys?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st September 2017 - 04:28 AM