2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Tone Issues
Todd Simpson
post Jul 10 2014, 12:53 AM
Post #21


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.112
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Yup wink.gif #2 is probably your best best! Ill take a screen grab of the built in gate:( If that's still on it's cutting off your sustain sad.gif

But yeah, gates should go before your pedals/amps typically smile.gif Also, you can combine hardware/software, just like pros do! You can get an actual overdrive pedal, of pretty much any kind (overdrive, not distortion) and run your guitar in to it, then in to the pod. Turn level to 7 or so, keep drive near zero and tone about 6 then tweak to taste. This is akin to putting a preamp in your chain an will drive everything a bit harder and better and raise your signal level a bit so it's hotter when it hits your gain stage smile.gif




QUOTE (Spock @ Jul 9 2014, 06:03 PM) *
Almost there man - sounding great

I like the effect with the noise gate in it, (#2 setting) except you need to tweak the settings on the noise gate so it doesn't cut you out so quickly. You will get almost the full effect of the tube screamer but it will knock out a lot of back ground noise (palm hitting strings and stuff).

Also - try the noise gate behind the tube screamer - or even behind the amp.

But I think your #2 setting with a little backing off on the gate is going to give you what you are looking for, unless you just want balls to the wall - then take the gate out all together.


This post has been edited by Todd Simpson: Jul 10 2014, 12:54 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jul 10 2014, 02:06 AM
Post #22


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.112
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



AND HERE IT IS!!!!! smile.gif This is a screen grab of the ENTIRE interface. Notice the section that is highlighted brighter in the upper left. See where it says GATE? Click that button to turn off the built in gate. I"m guessing that may be killing some of your sustain?

Attached Image


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Jul 10 2014, 02:40 AM
Post #23


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.580
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Gate issue seems to be solved but can't exactly figure out from video why S guitars sustain still not there...

To be fair LP's are sustain machines by weight, bridge and even pickup advantages (mid-high favored pickups have an advantage but on extreme gain the highs from pickup are bad for a clear distorted sound) so in theory it should be better than the S anyway.

Makes me think its a setup issue specially since sustain decreases fast when you bend rather than hold the note. First thing comes to mind if the strings are too low that the radius is interrupting vibration without any buzzing. Further is more about clean frets/new strings and maybe even an inspection by a pro luthier.

Its not terrible or have something to worry but if that guitar is a keeper (I saw the sticker is still on the humbucker, keeping it incase of refund?) a pro treatment should have benefits (as every new guitar needs no matter the price imho).


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
klasaine
post Jul 10 2014, 02:48 AM
Post #24


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.739
Joined: 30-December 12
From: Los Angeles, CA
Member No.: 17.304



I still feel that some type of gate somewhere is 'on'.
With that much gain you should be able to get a note to sustain forever and flip into harmonic feedback.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bleez
post Jul 10 2014, 12:46 PM
Post #25


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.957
Joined: 4-November 11
From: Scotland
Member No.: 14.292



I dont think my version of pod farm has the built in gate, if it does.... it's a ninja gate, I cant see it!
[attachment=37904:pf1.jpg]

I agree with you guys about the second tone, I like that much better than no gate at all. I'll play with the threshold and decay on the gate, see if it helps some more. I might just get myself an actual overdrive pedal at the weekend to plug into the ux1.



QUOTE (Mertay @ Jul 10 2014, 02:40 AM) *
Makes me think its a setup issue specially since sustain decreases fast when you bend rather than hold the note. First thing comes to mind if the strings are too low that the radius is interrupting vibration without any buzzing. Further is more about clean frets/new strings and maybe even an inspection by a pro luthier.

Its not terrible or have something to worry but if that guitar is a keeper (I saw the sticker is still on the humbucker, keeping it incase of refund?) a pro treatment should have benefits (as every new guitar needs no matter the price imho).

its a keeper for sure. I think I'll take it to the local guitar guy at the weekend, at least he can play it and tell me for sure how the setup is because I really wouldnt know. If he thinks it needs a setup I'll get it done. Other than this sustain issue, the guitar is amazing.


--------------------


You say 'minor pentatonic ' like it's a bad thing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jul 10 2014, 01:43 PM
Post #26


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.112
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Egad!!! I though you said you were using POD FARM 2? It looks like you are using POD FARM Version 1? Sadly I started using pod farm at version 2. But the good news is I think you are correct! I dont see a gate either smile.gif

QUOTE (bleez @ Jul 10 2014, 07:46 AM) *
I dont think my version of pod farm has the built in gate, if it does.... it's a ninja gate, I cant see it!
[attachment=37904:pf1.jpg]

I agree with you guys about the second tone, I like that much better than no gate at all. I'll play with the threshold and decay on the gate, see if it helps some more. I might just get myself an actual overdrive pedal at the weekend to plug into the ux1.




its a keeper for sure. I think I'll take it to the local guitar guy at the weekend, at least he can play it and tell me for sure how the setup is because I really wouldnt know. If he thinks it needs a setup I'll get it done. Other than this sustain issue, the guitar is amazing.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Sep 16 2014, 02:21 AM
Post #27


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.112
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



So did you decide to upgrade your software? The PODFARM stuff is a great way to get started as it's one of the least complicated to use overall. Guitar Rig and Amplitude are good packages as well. Both make a FREE version which I'd say is worth downloading no matter what.


I still have to say that I'd fully suggest TH2 which you can download as a demo. Before buying always download the demo smile.gif If you do get TH2 I'd be happy to work with you on setting up some patches. It's sorta fun once you get the hang of it!

Then again, my idea of relaxation is trying to program my ancient Digitech 2112 to sound DJENT smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bleez
post Sep 16 2014, 06:33 AM
Post #28


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.957
Joined: 4-November 11
From: Scotland
Member No.: 14.292



I downloaded the TH2 full demo. I was actually following your thread about building a tone, it was really interesting but the demo has since run out. tbh I would have liked a bit longer with it. There was only a couple of things I had issues with, firstly - the tones I got with TH2 seemed to lack a bit of balls, they kinda sounded 'thin', very nice but thin. secondly - I could only get TH2 working within reaper as a VST. when I had it in standalone mode it kept crashing reaper.
That said both of these issues may well have been fixable with a bit more time and basically learning a bit more about it so I wasnt too worried about them but I would like to run the demo again. I could either buy TH2 or buy the extra model packs from pod farm. I need to give it a bit more thought rolleyes.gif

QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Sep 16 2014, 02:21 AM) *
So did you decide to upgrade your software? The PODFARM stuff is a great way to get started as it's one of the least complicated to use overall. Guitar Rig and Amplitude are good packages as well. Both make a FREE version which I'd say is worth downloading no matter what.


I still have to say that I'd fully suggest TH2 which you can download as a demo. Before buying always download the demo smile.gif If you do get TH2 I'd be happy to work with you on setting up some patches. It's sorta fun once you get the hang of it!

Then again, my idea of relaxation is trying to program my ancient Digitech 2112 to sound DJENT smile.gif



--------------------


You say 'minor pentatonic ' like it's a bad thing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sensible Jones
post Sep 16 2014, 03:40 PM
Post #29


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.231
Joined: 2-January 09
From: London-ish. UK.
Member No.: 6.517



QUOTE (bleez @ Sep 16 2014, 06:33 AM) *
I could only get TH2 working within reaper as a VST. when I had it in standalone mode it kept crashing reaper.

That's how you need to do it, as a VST. 'Stand alone' means you can open it on your desktop and just play through it without needing to open it in Reaper!
biggrin.gif


--------------------
I'd rather have a full Bottle in front of me than a full Frontal Lobotomy!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bleez
post Sep 16 2014, 03:48 PM
Post #30


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.957
Joined: 4-November 11
From: Scotland
Member No.: 14.292



QUOTE (Sensible Jones @ Sep 16 2014, 03:40 PM) *
That's how you need to do it, as a VST. 'Stand alone' means you can open it on your desktop and just play through it without needing to open it in Reaper!
biggrin.gif

fair enough smile.gif
I thought it would be like my pod farm because I open that on the desktop and it still goes through reaper while in standalone mode. Still its good to know that th2 would be opened as a vst, next time I wont need to mess around trying to 'fix' it cool.gif


--------------------


You say 'minor pentatonic ' like it's a bad thing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sensible Jones
post Sep 17 2014, 04:13 PM
Post #31


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.231
Joined: 2-January 09
From: London-ish. UK.
Member No.: 6.517



QUOTE (bleez @ Sep 16 2014, 03:48 PM) *
fair enough smile.gif
I thought it would be like my pod farm because I open that on the desktop and it still goes through reaper while in standalone mode. Still its good to know that th2 would be opened as a vst, next time I wont need to mess around trying to 'fix' it cool.gif

I had the exact same thing with GR4!
biggrin.gif


--------------------
I'd rather have a full Bottle in front of me than a full Frontal Lobotomy!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SirJamsalot
post Sep 22 2014, 06:15 PM
Post #32


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.226
Joined: 4-May 10
From: Bay Area, California
Member No.: 10.312



Seems like everyone has touched all the possibilities on this one!
My initial thought was your action/neck adjustment is killing you early, and secondly, magnets too close to the strings. I guess the best way to test that theory is to plug into an actual amp, and hit the note and let it ring til it dies - seem premature? if so, then one of those two is the cause - most likely neck setup. Another good guague, is to hit the note, and bend it - does the bend kill the note? if so, definitely a setup issue.

But, more knowledgeable people than I have already chimed in, so goooood luckkkkk!

This post has been edited by SirJamsalot: Sep 22 2014, 06:16 PM


--------------------
The more I practice, the more I wish I had time to practice!
My Band Forum: http://passionfly.site/chat

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Sep 23 2014, 10:31 PM
Post #33


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.112
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Did you use TWO guitar cabs or one? If you only use one, it's a bit to bright sad.gif Also, did you use my posted preset as a starting point or build from scratch? The stack of parametric eq at the end are a bit part of the tone so tweaking there is key smile.gif

I'd say get TH2. I had the POD XT with every model pack they ever released. The clean tones were great!! The high gain tones were CRAP imho. Too much FIZZ.

I'm not sure if you can use my custom patches on the DEMO but I'm sure you can use them on the full version. Let us know what you decide smile.gif If you have any questions about TH2 please feel free to shoot me a PM so I'm sure to see it!! They don't pay me anything, neither does IBANEZ!! But I'm a big fan of both and I share the things that work well as I spent wands of time trying everything before I stick on a product wink.gif

QUOTE (bleez @ Sep 16 2014, 01:33 AM) *
I downloaded the TH2 full demo. I was actually following your thread about building a tone, it was really interesting but the demo has since run out. tbh I would have liked a bit longer with it. There was only a couple of things I had issues with, firstly - the tones I got with TH2 seemed to lack a bit of balls, they kinda sounded 'thin', very nice but thin. secondly - I could only get TH2 working within reaper as a VST. when I had it in standalone mode it kept crashing reaper.
That said both of these issues may well have been fixable with a bit more time and basically learning a bit more about it so I wasnt too worried about them but I would like to run the demo again. I could either buy TH2 or buy the extra model packs from pod farm. I need to give it a bit more thought rolleyes.gif



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bleez
post Sep 23 2014, 11:25 PM
Post #34


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.957
Joined: 4-November 11
From: Scotland
Member No.: 14.292



you can use custom patches with the demo, its actually quite a good demo. I downloaded your mega metal bank and your VH patch, they imported fine.
I think I was using 2 cabs when following your 'build a tone' thread, It did feel like I was missing 'something' to beef it up. Im sure with a bit more experience I would know what to tweak to get it.
If I can stop spending my money on guitars I may well just buy TH2 because I did like the amount of scope it offered. I'll definitely be bugging you for tone info when I get it smile.gif

QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Sep 23 2014, 10:31 PM) *
Did you use TWO guitar cabs or one? If you only use one, it's a bit to bright sad.gif Also, did you use my posted preset as a starting point or build from scratch? The stack of parametric eq at the end are a bit part of the tone so tweaking there is key smile.gif

I'd say get TH2. I had the POD XT with every model pack they ever released. The clean tones were great!! The high gain tones were CRAP imho. Too much FIZZ.

I'm not sure if you can use my custom patches on the DEMO but I'm sure you can use them on the full version. Let us know what you decide smile.gif If you have any questions about TH2 please feel free to shoot me a PM so I'm sure to see it!! They don't pay me anything, neither does IBANEZ!! But I'm a big fan of both and I share the things that work well as I spent wands of time trying everything before I stick on a product wink.gif


This post has been edited by bleez: Sep 23 2014, 11:25 PM


--------------------


You say 'minor pentatonic ' like it's a bad thing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Sep 24 2014, 02:43 AM
Post #35


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.112
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Bug away smile.gif Did you stack the four parametric eqs at the end? They are the secret sauce. I use each one to do something specific. They will let you put as much beef as you want on just about any patch but you gotta understand EQ just a bit to make it work. Also, TH2 supports TWO signal paths. I typically only use one. But you can use one path just for lower freq signals and then blend it in using the mixer at the end of the chain. smile.gif



QUOTE (bleez @ Sep 23 2014, 06:25 PM) *
you can use custom patches with the demo, its actually quite a good demo. I downloaded your mega metal bank and your VH patch, they imported fine.
I think I was using 2 cabs when following your 'build a tone' thread, It did feel like I was missing 'something' to beef it up. Im sure with a bit more experience I would know what to tweak to get it.
If I can stop spending my money on guitars I may well just buy TH2 because I did like the amount of scope it offered. I'll definitely be bugging you for tone info when I get it smile.gif



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd March 2017 - 03:04 PM