Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Need New Drums
jstcrsn
post Sep 2 2014, 12:48 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.698
Joined: 29-March 08
From: kansas, USA
Member No.: 4.733



after searching and only finding old threads , I have come to the base . I can't find any tutorials ( in you tube) for creating a track with steven slate drums. Was hoping to find an easier way than drawing everynote in a midi track , sort of like the new ez drummer 2 . anyone ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sensible Jones
post Sep 2 2014, 01:48 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.233
Joined: 2-January 09
From: London-ish. UK.
Member No.: 6.517



Do you have a MIDI Controller or Keyboard? If not then there's always the option of Downloading some MIDI Loops and then edit them to suit. There's loads of free ones available on the Intertoob!!
biggrin.gif


--------------------
I'd rather have a full Bottle in front of me than a full Frontal Lobotomy!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Sep 2 2014, 03:27 PM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 28.432
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



I use SSD 3.5, and my way to create drum loops nowadays is writing them with the midi editor in Cubase. That's the method that works for me. However you could get some midi loops and import them into your project as SJ said....


--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jstcrsn
post Sep 2 2014, 03:46 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.698
Joined: 29-March 08
From: kansas, USA
Member No.: 4.733



QUOTE (Sensible Jones @ Sep 2 2014, 01:48 PM) *
Do you have a MIDI Controller or Keyboard? If not then there's always the option of Downloading some MIDI Loops and then edit them to suit. There's loads of free ones available on the Intertoob!!
biggrin.gif
I don't have one


QUOTE (Gabriel Leopardi @ Sep 2 2014, 03:27 PM) *
I use SSD 3.5, and my way to create drum loops nowadays is writing them with the midi editor in Cubase. That's the method that works for me. However you could get some midi loops and import them into your project as SJ said....
ez drummer lets you bring in beats that you can easily edit and then bring into your daw, I was hoping ss4 platinum did this, as there looks to be more bang for your buck.I was hoping SSD4 could do this

forgot to mention I have ezd 1 and can write pretty good with, just looking for a quicker way and better sounds

This post has been edited by jstcrsn: Sep 2 2014, 04:22 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Sep 2 2014, 03:47 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.134
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Start with a midi pack from toontrack smile.gif Or google around for some free drum midi packs as there are wads. I usually just go with toontrack midi packs as they are cheap $35 and good smile.gif It's just midi so you can use it with anything. the SSD samples are AMAZING and folks will often start with EZ drummer and then just drag/drop midi, then change the drum plugin to SSD for better sounds during mix.

Also, SSD lets you STACK DRUM SOUNDS!!!!! A KILLER feature that sadly EZ drummer does not allow. So you can stack four killer snare drums for a SUPER SNARE!! smile.gif

Todd

QUOTE (jstcrsn @ Sep 2 2014, 07:48 AM) *
after searching and only finding old threads , I have come to the base . I can't find any tutorials ( in you tube) for creating a track with steven slate drums. Was hoping to find an easier way than drawing everynote in a midi track , sort of like the new ez drummer 2 . anyone ?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kristofer Dahl
post Sep 2 2014, 09:45 PM
Post #6


GMC Founder & Rocker
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.089
Joined: 15-August 05
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 2



I use SSD, and it contains drum loops I can just drag and drop into logic.

Recently I have started doing something extremely cool: I use Logic's "drummer" which is a (really nice) virtual drummer software, but instead of the included drum sounds I use SSD (link). Results are better than anything I have tried so far.

It's also good because drum programming has always been difficult for me (usually the thing that stops my creative flow), and now its a breeze. Let's just hope not too many others will discover this trick, or we'll all end up sounding the same. Oops I think I have said too much now wink.gif

QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Sep 2 2014, 04:47 PM) *
Also, SSD lets you STACK DRUM SOUNDS!!!!! A KILLER feature that sadly EZ drummer does not allow. So you can stack four killer snare drums for a SUPER SNARE!! smile.gif


Cool, I hadn't thought of that!

This post has been edited by Kristofer Dahl: Sep 2 2014, 10:28 PM
Reason for edit: changed SSL to SSD


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SirJamsalot
post Sep 2 2014, 10:45 PM
Post #7


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.226
Joined: 4-May 10
From: Bay Area, California
Member No.: 10.312



I think the only ways of doing it are

1. use a mdi controller such as a keyboard or electronic drum kit
2. edit pre-existing samples (ez drummer as you know has these).
3. pencil them in a note at a time

I typically default to #2 since it's easier to paste em together and just edit wasn't fit.

I watched a video on EZDrummer2 which has a beautiful new search feature for searching grooves based on a beat you tap - which I think would greatly speed up the time to implement #2. But that's EZ drummer - not SSD. However, if SSD can import MIDI, then you can export anything you author in EZD to MIDI, then import to SD?

just a thought(s).


--------------------
The more I practice, the more I wish I had time to practice!
My Band Forum: http://passionfly.site/chat

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kristofer Dahl
post Sep 2 2014, 10:53 PM
Post #8


GMC Founder & Rocker
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.089
Joined: 15-August 05
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 2



^ Hey Sir - awesome to see you here again. We had some killer jams in the chat room over your track (you know the one where 'an alligator gets your coat' - hope I got that line right wink.gif )


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Sep 2 2014, 11:11 PM
Post #9


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



There is one additional solution as well if you like to use pre-made midi grooves but its not very cost effective sad.gif

* Ezplayer : http://www.toontrack.com/product/ezplayer-pro/

This is basically a midi grooves organizer and looks and works similar to what you get with Ezdrummer. You can easily assign it to play through the Steven Slate Drums track and you'll be able to preview all the grooves etc just like you would in Ezdrummer software and than drag n drop into the timeline to use them or edit the midi tracks (ezplayer pro comes with some built in grooves). But for this to work, you'd might need to find some additional midi drum grooves. Either paid ones like these : http://www.toontrack.com/product-category/midipacks/ ... or free ones like these : http://groovemonkee.com/pages/free-midi-loops

In theory, ezplayer should allow you to accommodate most of midi format vs drum mapping for it to work well with Steven Slate Drums.


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SirJamsalot
post Sep 3 2014, 12:35 AM
Post #10


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.226
Joined: 4-May 10
From: Bay Area, California
Member No.: 10.312



QUOTE (Kristofer Dahl @ Sep 2 2014, 02:53 PM) *
^ Hey Sir - awesome to see you here again. We had some killer jams in the chat room over your track (you know the one where 'an alligator gets your coat' - hope I got that line right wink.gif )



haha, awesome!
Life has me running at full speed, so I can relate that song right about now!


--------------------
The more I practice, the more I wish I had time to practice!
My Band Forum: http://passionfly.site/chat

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Sep 3 2014, 02:59 AM
Post #11


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.134
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Sadly, this is a MAC ONLY thing, and I think CRSN is on PC. sad.gif LOGIC X is a killer Daw and the "AI" drummer is great and then you can just replace the sounds with SSD after the virtual drummer whips up some beats!!

QUOTE (Kristofer Dahl @ Sep 2 2014, 04:45 PM) *
I use SSD, and it contains drum loops I can just drag and drop into logic.

Recently I have started doing something extremely cool: I use Logic's "drummer" which is a (really nice) virtual drummer software, but instead of the included drum sounds I use SSD (link). Results are better than anything I have tried so far.

It's also good because drum programming has always been difficult for me (usually the thing that stops my creative flow), and now its a breeze. Let's just hope not too many others will discover this trick, or we'll all end up sounding the same. Oops I think I have said too much now wink.gif



Cool, I hadn't thought of that!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th March 2017 - 03:58 AM