2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> What Soundcard/interface Do You Use?
dcz702
post Jan 18 2015, 10:49 AM
Post #21


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 613
Joined: 5-March 13
From: Las Vegas
Member No.: 17.838



QUOTE (Mith @ Jan 9 2015, 04:10 AM) *
What you have there is a combination input. (your 610 is kinda like the baby brother to my 2626) you can plug a XLR cable into it and it will go through the Mic pre amp. or you can put a instrument cable straight in (normally called a TR for unbalanced or a TRS for balanced XLR is pretty much always balanced)

The idea behind all this is when you record you want to get things to what they call "Line level" which in most cases is as close to 0db without going over. Microphones have very little output so they go through a small amp to boost it before it gets recorded (pre amp) But there are alot of things that can put out high signals such as the POD and the Eleven Rack. The idea here is to go in through a TRS which will bypass the pre-amp. Best way to remember is Balanced signals (TRS and XLR) are always better than unbalanced signals and everything needs to go through a pre-amp to get it to the right level (PODs and Eleven racks are guitar pre amps) Hopefully that made sense since it does touch quiet a few in depth topics

As for the POD HD Pro, I have one (The first one not the slightly better X) and I like it. I do find I hit the DSP limit a bit easy but the X has a little bit more. The thing I would recomend is the 500 model its cheaper and has its own floor pedal and internally its exsactly the same as the Pro which you will pay more for then you need to buy the controller then you need to buy a rack (but in say that rack gear is easier to store and move.

thanks for the explanation brotha. so can i go right into the mic/ inst input left and right, for stereo and use the level control to get the right level using the gain knobs or into line inputs and do the levels through the pod?
i was looking at the 2626 cause i liked my 610 so much for my start into recording. now that im playing with others nd am thinking of recording sessions im looking at other interfaces, and since im looking at rackmount proccecors a 2626 would fit right into a rack. lots of gear out there hard to chose

QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Jan 13 2015, 06:55 AM) *
Todd here wink.gif I'd say try both units and see which one your ears tell you to buy smile.gif Who knows? You may prefer the POD HD! It's got to make you happy after all smile.gif

Personally, I"d say go ahead and get the 11 rack. The pod has GREAT effects, but the amp models, especially the high gain ones, didn't impress me as much as the 11. You can always add a cheaper pod, like a used POD XT (which has all the update packs of the entire line before the HD) and use it in the FX loop of your 11 rack if you want more fx. smile.gif

Both the POD HD and the 11 rack have BUILT IN AUDIO INTERFACES smile.gif SO you just connect via USB and you get stereo recording. You can skip your current interface entirely. smile.gif

Balanced outs are better for longer cable runs. But from what I've ready, you don't need to worry about it. Just plug in USB smile.gif

i had a feeling you were gonna say 11. lol. cool i can go right into my mac and not bother with interface. thanks todd.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 21 2015, 08:05 PM
Post #22


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.478
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Just wanted to follow up smile.gif Let us know what you end up doing!! I gotta say my 11 rack has been the best bit of gear I've bought in ages. I run through a LOT of gear every year. The 11 rack has not left my rack since I got it. No plans to replace or sell it. It's a keeper. smile.gif


QUOTE (dcz702 @ Jan 18 2015, 05:49 AM) *
thanks for the explanation brotha. so can i go right into the mic/ inst input left and right, for stereo and use the level control to get the right level using the gain knobs or into line inputs and do the levels through the pod?
i was looking at the 2626 cause i liked my 610 so much for my start into recording. now that im playing with others nd am thinking of recording sessions im looking at other interfaces, and since im looking at rackmount proccecors a 2626 would fit right into a rack. lots of gear out there hard to chose


i had a feeling you were gonna say 11. lol. cool i can go right into my mac and not bother with interface. thanks todd.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dcz702
post Jan 22 2015, 06:16 AM
Post #23


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 613
Joined: 5-March 13
From: Las Vegas
Member No.: 17.838



QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Jan 21 2015, 07:05 PM) *
Just wanted to follow up smile.gif Let us know what you end up doing!! I gotta say my 11 rack has been the best bit of gear I've bought in ages. I run through a LOT of gear every year. The 11 rack has not left my rack since I got it. No plans to replace or sell it. It's a keeper. smile.gif

Hi Todd
I decided to go with the pod hd pro x.
I like both the 11 and line 6 from the demos on YouTube and other places. One of the things that leaned me towards lines 6 is the tones I've heard and ease of use. I noticed gabe uses a pod 500 on a lot of his lessons and it sounds great.
For now Im just going to get the pod and use it for recording, but I wanted to ask you on how I could use this in different situations like live in a PA and running it into a cabinet. I'm going to have to put this into a rack housing and add some more gear to it to connect to a cab without running it in front of a amp, correct? And what do I need? I think it would be cool having a rig with so many different sounds on the fly, to use with my cab and when I don't want to fiddle with a amp. And have that same piece of gear go right into a PA if I'm ever in a situation where that option is available.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 22 2015, 11:04 PM
Post #24


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.478
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



I don't have a line 6 unit, so maybe GABE would be better to ask about using it in various situations and such since he is a owner/user? But in general, it should be workable for just about everything smile.gif You can run it in to amp or pa etc.

QUOTE (dcz702 @ Jan 22 2015, 01:16 AM) *
Hi Todd
I decided to go with the pod hd pro x.
I like both the 11 and line 6 from the demos on YouTube and other places. One of the things that leaned me towards lines 6 is the tones I've heard and ease of use. I noticed gabe uses a pod 500 on a lot of his lessons and it sounds great.
For now Im just going to get the pod and use it for recording, but I wanted to ask you on how I could use this in different situations like live in a PA and running it into a cabinet. I'm going to have to put this into a rack housing and add some more gear to it to connect to a cab without running it in front of a amp, correct? And what do I need? I think it would be cool having a rig with so many different sounds on the fly, to use with my cab and when I don't want to fiddle with a amp. And have that same piece of gear go right into a PA if I'm ever in a situation where that option is available.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dcz702
post Jan 23 2015, 02:34 AM
Post #25


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 613
Joined: 5-March 13
From: Las Vegas
Member No.: 17.838



QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Jan 22 2015, 10:04 PM) *
I don't have a line 6 unit, so maybe GABE would be better to ask about using it in various situations and such since he is a owner/user? But in general, it should be workable for just about everything smile.gif You can run it in to amp or pa etc.

the ins and out are very similar to the 11.
except that the line 6 has unbalanced and balanced left and right outs.
can you conect a 11 to a guitar cab without running in front of a amp? if so what do you need to do it? does it need to have the output of the 11 into the cab or into a pre amp? i dont know anything about this stuff so before i get it want to have some understanding on how its used in a live situation.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 24 2015, 07:16 AM
Post #26


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.478
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



The 11 Rack, and the POD are "PREAMP" units. Meaning they go BEFORE an amp. Neither one is designed to drive guitar cabs on their own. Both units need to run to a "POWER AMP" of some kind, either rack mount or the amp built in to a combo guitar amp smile.gif

So when you get your line 6, you'll need to run in into something to use it live. If you have a combo guitar amp, you can run it in to that on the amps clean channel and use the line 6 for distortion/clean tones/etc. smile.gif Same with the 11.

In both cases, you'd probably just take the "amp out" which is a guitar cable jack.

Todd


QUOTE (dcz702 @ Jan 22 2015, 09:34 PM) *
the ins and out are very similar to the 11.
except that the line 6 has unbalanced and balanced left and right outs.
can you conect a 11 to a guitar cab without running in front of a amp? if so what do you need to do it? does it need to have the output of the 11 into the cab or into a pre amp? i dont know anything about this stuff so before i get it want to have some understanding on how its used in a live situation.


This post has been edited by Todd Simpson: Jan 24 2015, 07:17 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th May 2017 - 01:04 PM