> HEY MAN, I really need your help...

...the thing is, I need you to start progressing faster then ever, but to achieve that I need your help:

* Don't know where to start? Just pm me and we will sort it out directly, I am online every day.

* Join My Army. Sounds aggressive? It is! We can study anything from the most fearsome picking techniques to bombastic songwriting. A medal of honor awaits the brave. Seriously, this is an opportunity for you to get a personalised learning experience...what are you waiting for?!

* Join my next video chat! GMC startpage holds a video chat schedule. We always cover a lot of ground and have fun. Remember that you don't need any previous knowledge, and you can be passive in the chat.

* Jam with me - you will find active collabs here.

* Post a topic on this board, guitar related or not - doesn't matter! You will find that chatting with instructors boosts your motivation to practice.

* You haven't missed my latest video lessons, have you?

* Finally I want to tell you a secret. Nah I changed my mind - pm me instead ;)

4 Pages V  « < 2 3 4  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Robbiej's Composing Workout, for Gab's Army
RobbieJ
post Mar 7 2015, 02:06 AM
Post #61


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 4-January 15
From: Denver, Colorad USA
Member No.: 20.593



Gab, I just got the Midi Guitar today and recorded a bass part for Talk Dirty. Check it out and let me know what you think. Let me know how what we need to start tweaking.....how are the volumes? What do I need to do in order to start making this sound more "studio" quality?

Thanks!

Rob
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Talk_Dirty_to_Me_4.mp3 ( 1.77MB ) Number of downloads: 23
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Mar 7 2015, 04:18 PM
Post #62


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 28.057
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



Great job mate! smile.gif

It's time to polish the mix! The first thing that I do when I mix is starting with the drums. Have you tried the "multitrack" option for drums?



--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RobbieJ
post Mar 7 2015, 05:27 PM
Post #63


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 4-January 15
From: Denver, Colorad USA
Member No.: 20.593



https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...-1424691609.jpg

Hey Gab...I don't have the drums routed to mulit output yet...I don't know how to bring up that little VST box. Can you tell me what I need to click on to bring it up.....

I've highlighted the drum track and then clicked F11, and it brings up the box, but it has the virtual bass in it...Not sure what I'm doing wrong.

I'm attaching a screen shot...

By the way....Todd Simpson is going to start helping me learn Reaper. I want to continue our journey with the guitar and learning Cubase...but I also want to learn Reaper. Todd says that most everyone at GMC uses Reaper....If I learn Reaper, I can then share files with others without issues. What I learn from Reaper I can apply with Cubase, and what I learn from Cubase I can apply in Reaper. Hope that makes sense.

Rob

Gab, by the way, is there a button to push to remove and bring back the player bar that I have put an arrow by in the picture? It went away one time and I spent an hour trying to click on everything to get it to come back. I hit a button (not sure what I hit) and now it's back, but I want to learn how to get it back if it ever goes away. Please let me know.


Attached image(s)
Attached Image Attached Image
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Mar 8 2015, 04:54 PM
Post #64


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 28.057
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



Hi Robbie! That's called "Transport panel" and it can be activated clicking F2:

Attached Image

If it still doesn't appear, it may be hidden somewhere like this:

Attached Image

About how to set VSTi as multitrack, you have to click here:

Attached Image


Please try these things and let me know if we are ready for the next step!

PS: Learning Reaper sounds good! but I don't think that you need to master both, you can choose your favorite and use it always since the only difference are shortcuts, and details on how to use some functions. The results should be similar.


--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RobbieJ
post Mar 9 2015, 07:13 PM
Post #65


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 4-January 15
From: Denver, Colorad USA
Member No.: 20.593



Gab, how do I get that little VST box up to click "there"? When my box comes up it has the virtual bass VB-1 in it...Please take a look at the picture that I attached earlier to see how my VST box says VB-1. Does this make sense?

Also, I have loaded a plug in in Superior Drummer that routes everything to a mixer and has certain effects on certain drum pieces. Isn't this that same thing that we are trying to accomplish in Cubase. I will attache a photo tonight when I get home from work.



Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Mar 10 2015, 03:46 PM
Post #66


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 28.057
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



Hi Robbie. If you have your Superior Drummer opened and working on the project, it should appear just below the virtual bass, doesn't is?

Attached Image


About your question. We are trying to do something similar. You are already using Superior drummer internal mixer that allows you to process and add effects to the different parts of the drums. This is a great tool but as I don't use this software, I can't judge how good EQs, compressors and effects are. However this functions are usually used for quick mixes and tweaks. If you want to do a professional mix, you'll want to have the multitracking on different Cubase's tracks to be able to use Cubase's EQs, compressors, fxs as well as all the other plug ins that you want (waves, tcelectronic, izotope, etc). Does it make sense?



--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

4 Pages V  « < 2 3 4
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th January 2017 - 01:57 AM