Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Yet Another Reaper Question
Phil66
post Sep 12 2015, 08:52 PM
Post #1


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.572
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Hello everyone,

Anyone know why, when I render a project, just backing on track 1 and guitar on track 2, when I play it back the guitar isn't as up in the mix as when played through the DAW??

Cheers



--------------------

AWARD

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Sep 12 2015, 10:02 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.432
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Is it possible reaper is playing back mono but the program you use to play music is stereo? its a long shot but check asio menu of soundcard incase something is ticked mono...

Also since the release is new they seemed to fix lots of bugs make sure you're using the newest version.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Sep 13 2015, 12:08 PM
Post #3


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.572
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks Mertay, it's ok now but I've done nothing other than switch PC on unsure.gif biggrin.gif



--------------------

AWARD

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Sep 13 2015, 12:12 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.432
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



eheh such things can happen in the DAW world smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Sep 15 2015, 02:06 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.782
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



It could honestly be just about anything. If it's a reaper project, zip it up and post it here and we can try to see if we can replicate your results and figure out the issue smile.gif

QUOTE (Phil66 @ Sep 12 2015, 03:52 PM) *
Hello everyone,

Anyone know why, when I render a project, just backing on track 1 and guitar on track 2, when I play it back the guitar isn't as up in the mix as when played through the DAW??

Cheers



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
thefireball
post Sep 15 2015, 02:14 AM
Post #6


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.486
Joined: 9-March 10
From: United States, Arkansas
Member No.: 9.801



What format are you rendering to? Could be the compression. I have noticed what you are describing through the years. I don't know if Reaper is mixing down the project or what..but I don't notice the issue anymore. I always render down to WAV or 320MP3.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Sep 15 2015, 12:33 PM
Post #7


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.572
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thank you gentlemen,

The next day all was good for some reason (see above). For the record I render to wav

Cheers


--------------------

AWARD

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Sep 16 2015, 08:50 PM
Post #8


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.572
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



AAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH it keeps on doing it.

Play through the DAW, get the mix right then render to .WAV and playback and it's as though I've turned the guitar down half way on the volume pot mad.gif


--------------------

AWARD

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Sep 16 2015, 08:55 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.432
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Then I repeat my first post here biggrin.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Sep 16 2015, 09:10 PM
Post #10


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.572
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



I've just noticed that when the mix sounds correct through the DAW the guitar track peak meter shows -11 but the backing track shows -1.2 so when rendered that is why the guitar sounds quiet, but it is louder through the DAW.


--------------------

AWARD

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Sep 16 2015, 09:36 PM
Post #11


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.572
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



I've sorted it out, well the Reaper forum has.

I have it set up for re-amping and I was using the "wet" track to render. The "wet" track goes back into the hardware output. For some reason it needs to do this, (I think, unless I have got it wrong) but it works for re-amping so I leave it.

I just copy and pasted the "wet" track to another blank track and it seems more balanced so I'll try a render tomorrow.

THIS is how I set up Reaper for re-amping if any of you need to know or if you can advise a simpler method wink.gif

Thanks everyone.

This post has been edited by Phil66: Sep 16 2015, 09:37 PM


--------------------

AWARD

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Sep 17 2015, 09:21 PM
Post #12


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.572
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



What I now do is have 4 guitar tracks huh.gif

Main (effected but single route)
Wet (effected but sent to a hardware output)
Dry ( no effects but sent to a hardware output)
Reamp (single route used to record re-amped signal)

I then use the MAIN for rendering unless I have re-amped and then I use the reamp track.

If anyone can think of a simpler idea please tell me.

I have noticed that the signal for the main track is stronger (the signal wave has higher peaks) than the others, as though there is a higher input signal.

Any ideas?

Cheers


--------------------

AWARD

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd January 2017 - 07:23 AM