Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How To Record Directly To Camera?
Mudbone
post Sep 27 2015, 08:27 PM
Post #1


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.750
Joined: 6-May 10
From: Charlotte, NC (residence)/Boston, MA (home) USA
Member No.: 10.329



My current setup for REC takes is a Zoom H2 in front of a small practice amp (Blackstar ID Core) plugged directly into the camera. It does the job, but dialing a good tone has so far proven to be a bit troublesome. It's fine for it's purpose, but I would like to gradually increase the production quality of my recordings.

What I really like about this setup is the ease I can record a take - Press "record" on the camera, "play" on the backing track - boom. Done. If I mess up, I just start over again. Syncing the audio with video in post production is very time consuming, and I would rather spend that time practicing.

So there are two methods I'd like to try:

1. Mic'ing an amp
2. Use modeling amps, such as Poulin, etc...

- For recording directly with a Mic, how would I go about getting the backing track and the recorded guitar onto the camera? The camera has a stereo 3.5mm mic input.

- How would I do this with a modeling amp? I was thinking of using a splitter from my laptop with one output going to my practice amp, which I will use as a monitor, and one output going directly to the camera.

Any other suggestions?

This post has been edited by Mudbone: Sep 27 2015, 08:28 PM


--------------------


He who laughs last thinks slowest.

"That which can be asserted without evidence, can be dismissed without evidence." - Christopher Hitchens


Gear:

Guitars: Uncle Rufus' Twanger Classic
Amps: Mississippi Boom Box
Mojo: Hammer of Odin and a pair of Ox gonads
Inspiration: Samuel Adams Boston Lager

Zero to Hero: 1,387/10,000

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
yoncopin
post Sep 28 2015, 03:21 PM
Post #2


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 375
Joined: 26-September 09
From: USA
Member No.: 7.667



This page says your amp has a USB recording interface, is that true?

You don't mention what other tools you're using. If it was me, for the audio I'd record direct from the amp's USB interface to a track in your DAW with the backing track.

For the video I'd use your camera (which I assume will record audio too, quality doesn't matter here) Syncing the audio shouldn't be too hard if you have both the direct USB and the camera audio. The waveforms should look very similar and you can often line them up using the track's count-in drum beat. Then just mute the camera's audio and export the finished product.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Sep 28 2015, 07:52 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.761
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



PLAN A:
RECORDING IN SOFTWARE (assuming you are on a mac)
Todd here smile.gif Please tell me you are on a Macintosh? Also, what is your DAW of choice and video editor of choice?

Quick and dirty is you can record using QUICKTIME (assuming mac) and tell the app to take vid from the camera and audio from your headphone out (getting the entire mix) from your interface patched to the little line in jack on your computer. That way you get the entire thing, mix and all, syched and ready to go. If you don't like a take, just record a new video. When done, save the video and it's already synched smile.gif

I think there is a WINDOS app by logitech (made for web cam use) that does something similar, or maybe even recording apps that came with your camera?


The good news about using this method is that you can do whatever you want in your daw. Using your amps USB will work as an input. Or using whatever audio interface you have (assuming you have one). Will let you mic the cab, and record a dry signal if you like. My 11 rack ouputs dry and effected signals and I ad an extra track in the daw micing the cab. You can make it as complex as you like and the final output from your interface (focusrite if I remember correctly) will carry all the mics/emulation/etc. mixed to your desire. Just make sure you like the mix before you hit record smile.gif

-----


PLAN B: no macintosh.

Use your interface as a mixer and run the headphone out to the line in on your camera. Again, everything in perfect sync, (it should be at least) with all tracks going directly to camera including video. Then you just transfer with your mem card or what not.

This post has been edited by Todd Simpson: Sep 28 2015, 07:54 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mudbone
post Sep 29 2015, 04:36 AM
Post #4


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.750
Joined: 6-May 10
From: Charlotte, NC (residence)/Boston, MA (home) USA
Member No.: 10.329



QUOTE (yoncopin @ Sep 28 2015, 10:21 AM) *
This page says your amp has a USB recording interface, is that true?

You don't mention what other tools you're using. If it was me, for the audio I'd record direct from the amp's USB interface to a track in your DAW with the backing track.

For the video I'd use your camera (which I assume will record audio too, quality doesn't matter here) Syncing the audio shouldn't be too hard if you have both the direct USB and the camera audio. The waveforms should look very similar and you can often line them up using the track's count-in drum beat. Then just mute the camera's audio and export the finished product.


Thanks for your input bro biggrin.gif I'm actually trying to avoid the whole post production process. If I was doing just one take it wouldn't really be an issue. But I like to do multiple takes, then choose the best one. It's a much quicker process. I don't have a lot of free time, so I want utilize my time as efficiently as possible.

If were to cover a song, then I would probably use this method, to get the best result possible biggrin.gif

QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Sep 28 2015, 02:52 PM) *
PLAN A:
RECORDING IN SOFTWARE (assuming you are on a mac)
Todd here smile.gif Please tell me you are on a Macintosh? Also, what is your DAW of choice and video editor of choice?

Quick and dirty is you can record using QUICKTIME (assuming mac) and tell the app to take vid from the camera and audio from your headphone out (getting the entire mix) from your interface patched to the little line in jack on your computer. That way you get the entire thing, mix and all, syched and ready to go. If you don't like a take, just record a new video. When done, save the video and it's already synched smile.gif

I think there is a WINDOS app by logitech (made for web cam use) that does something similar, or maybe even recording apps that came with your camera?


The good news about using this method is that you can do whatever you want in your daw. Using your amps USB will work as an input. Or using whatever audio interface you have (assuming you have one). Will let you mic the cab, and record a dry signal if you like. My 11 rack ouputs dry and effected signals and I ad an extra track in the daw micing the cab. You can make it as complex as you like and the final output from your interface (focusrite if I remember correctly) will carry all the mics/emulation/etc. mixed to your desire. Just make sure you like the mix before you hit record smile.gif

-----


PLAN B: no macintosh.

Use your interface as a mixer and run the headphone out to the line in on your camera. Again, everything in perfect sync, (it should be at least) with all tracks going directly to camera including video. Then you just transfer with your mem card or what not.


I got a laptop with Windows 10... no Mac laugh.gif

I don't have any DAW or video editing software at the moment. I was looking into getting Reaper. Supposedly its affordable, very intuitive, and doesn't use a lot of hardware resources.

By the way Todd, how is your rig setup for your webcasts?

I was actually looking at this setup here:



--------------------


He who laughs last thinks slowest.

"That which can be asserted without evidence, can be dismissed without evidence." - Christopher Hitchens


Gear:

Guitars: Uncle Rufus' Twanger Classic
Amps: Mississippi Boom Box
Mojo: Hammer of Odin and a pair of Ox gonads
Inspiration: Samuel Adams Boston Lager

Zero to Hero: 1,387/10,000

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Sep 29 2015, 07:50 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.761
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



That daw in the vid is a great way to go smile.gif Reaper is a great daw to use. Go grab it. Free to download smile.gif Wads of vids on youtube and plenty of help here in the forums smile.gif

If you were using the interface setup as in that vid, you'd just run the headphone output of the interface to your camera and bam. ZERO post production.

For my chat setup, I"m using a simple one mic setup. My tone comes from my 11 rack through my KRK monitors. The guitar sound and my voice hit the mike going in to a single channel BLUE ICICLE which just connects a mic to USB for your computer.

Can you run me through your current production/post process with the gear you've got running now?



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mudbone
post Sep 30 2015, 02:38 AM
Post #6


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.750
Joined: 6-May 10
From: Charlotte, NC (residence)/Boston, MA (home) USA
Member No.: 10.329



QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Sep 29 2015, 02:50 PM) *
That daw in the vid is a great way to go smile.gif Reaper is a great daw to use. Go grab it. Free to download smile.gif Wads of vids on youtube and plenty of help here in the forums smile.gif

If you were using the interface setup as in that vid, you'd just run the headphone output of the interface to your camera and bam. ZERO post production.

For my chat setup, I"m using a simple one mic setup. My tone comes from my 11 rack through my KRK monitors. The guitar sound and my voice hit the mike going in to a single channel BLUE ICICLE which just connects a mic to USB for your computer.

Can you run me through your current production/post process with the gear you've got running now?


Right now I have a Zoom H2 mic in front of a Blackstar ID Core 20. The mic goes directly into a Nikon D7100. The amp has a Line In, so I play the backing track directly through the amp. So basically what you're hearing in the recording is almost what I'm hearing in the room, except the mic is about a foot directly in front of the amp and my ears are not. I do this to get the backing track clear, but it results in the guitar being a little bit harsh and a lot of static noise.

I'm sure with a bit more tweaking I'll be able to get a much better sound. But I want to start working on improving the quality. I'm a firm believer in Kaizen - great change can be achieved with incremental improvements biggrin.gif


--------------------


He who laughs last thinks slowest.

"That which can be asserted without evidence, can be dismissed without evidence." - Christopher Hitchens


Gear:

Guitars: Uncle Rufus' Twanger Classic
Amps: Mississippi Boom Box
Mojo: Hammer of Odin and a pair of Ox gonads
Inspiration: Samuel Adams Boston Lager

Zero to Hero: 1,387/10,000

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mudbone
post Oct 1 2015, 03:21 AM
Post #7


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.750
Joined: 6-May 10
From: Charlotte, NC (residence)/Boston, MA (home) USA
Member No.: 10.329



These are the things I was looking into acquiring:

- Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
- Behringer Direct Injection DI400P
- Reaper
- JBL LSR305, KRK Rokit 5 or Presonus Eris E5

So, now my question is, is it possible to have the headphone out go to the camera while still using the monitors?

This post has been edited by Mudbone: Oct 1 2015, 03:58 AM


--------------------


He who laughs last thinks slowest.

"That which can be asserted without evidence, can be dismissed without evidence." - Christopher Hitchens


Gear:

Guitars: Uncle Rufus' Twanger Classic
Amps: Mississippi Boom Box
Mojo: Hammer of Odin and a pair of Ox gonads
Inspiration: Samuel Adams Boston Lager

Zero to Hero: 1,387/10,000

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Oct 1 2015, 05:13 AM
Post #8


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.761
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Certainly should be possible smile.gif But you may need to spring the extra 50bux for the upgrade scarlett.

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Scarlett2i2

notice how it's got a knob for headphone out and another for main out.

For the setup you are talking about I don't think you need the DI box though.

QUOTE (Mudbone @ Sep 30 2015, 10:21 PM) *
These are the things I was looking into acquiring:

- Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
- Behringer Direct Injection DI400P
- Reaper
- JBL LSR305, KRK Rokit 5 or Presonus Eris E5

So, now my question is, is it possible to have the headphone out go to the camera while still using the monitors?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th January 2017 - 05:14 PM