Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Reaper Recording Options
thefireball
post Oct 12 2015, 12:53 AM
Post #1


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.486
Joined: 9-March 10
From: United States, Arkansas
Member No.: 9.801



Hey everyone

I need help finding an answer with Reaper. I know many here use this program and I have for many years. Just having a hard time finding this answer. I am aware that it allows you to record multiple takes on top of each other but the way it interfaces is not what I am looking for.

Reaper by default shows your multiple takes stacked on top of each other within the same window. This allows you to click the take you like best and splice them up. I am looking for a way to punch in the recording take so it's still in the same window track.

I made this video to explain and illustrate.
I would like to point out the method I seek still allows you to move around the takes, it's just not stacked visually on top of each other.



Just an interface preference and really doesn't change the end result.


-Brandon


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Oct 12 2015, 03:02 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.761
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Sound like you want to "Punch in" in the middle of a track. Here is a Tutorial (part 1 of 2) about auto punching!



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
thefireball
post Oct 12 2015, 05:15 PM
Post #3


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.486
Joined: 9-March 10
From: United States, Arkansas
Member No.: 9.801



Thanks Todd. Close but it still made the separate tracks. It may not be possible in Reaper.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
thefireball
post Oct 17 2015, 04:30 PM
Post #4


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.486
Joined: 9-March 10
From: United States, Arkansas
Member No.: 9.801



You know what - even though this isn't exactly what i was looking for, i am actually finding good use for this feature. I just have to pull back the track i want to correct and just punch in the audio recording for that small time selection. smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Oct 17 2015, 06:22 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.761
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Happy to help smile.gif Looking forward to hearing what you are working on!


QUOTE (thefireball @ Oct 17 2015, 11:30 AM) *
You know what - even though this isn't exactly what i was looking for, i am actually finding good use for this feature. I just have to pull back the track i want to correct and just punch in the audio recording for that small time selection. smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th January 2017 - 09:13 PM