24 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Gas. What Next?
Mertay
post Nov 9 2015, 01:12 PM
Post #21


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.730
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



QUOTE (Phil66 @ Nov 9 2015, 10:52 AM) *
Hotbird ordered. Dispatch next Monday from Italy. I'm getting signed model number 8 smile.gif


Cool! another collectable item smile.gif Now you're in trouble as we'll want to hear it through your playing once you get your hands on it biggrin.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 9 2015, 07:04 PM
Post #22


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.044
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



QUOTE (Mertay @ Nov 9 2015, 12:12 PM) *
Cool! another collectable item smile.gif Now you're in trouble as we'll want to hear it through your playing once you get your hands on it biggrin.gif


Eeeeek smile.gif


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bleez
post Nov 9 2015, 08:06 PM
Post #23


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.995
Joined: 4-November 11
From: Scotland
Member No.: 14.292



yep, we wanna hear the new prs through the new hotbird biggrin.gif

congrats on the new pedal btw, it does sound pretty badass.


--------------------


You say 'minor pentatonic ' like it's a bad thing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 9 2015, 10:47 PM
Post #24


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.044
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Cheers,

Valerio (The V in VDL Valerio Alfredo Di Loreto) is going to send a signed photo with it. I might make a little shelf to put the pedal on the wall underneath the guitar with the pic by the Ace pic wink.gif Only when I'm not using it of course smile.gif



--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 22 2015, 08:39 PM
Post #25


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.044
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Should be here tomorrow smile.gif


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Nov 22 2015, 10:15 PM
Post #26


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.730
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



QUOTE (Phil66 @ Nov 22 2015, 07:39 PM) *
Should be here tomorrow smile.gif


Cool! I hope you've practiced shred-tastic solo's for us!

Kidding smile.gif we do want pic's and first impressions though!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 22 2015, 10:20 PM
Post #27


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.044
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Most definitely getting pics. cool.gif


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 23 2015, 08:43 PM
Post #28


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.044
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Ok, it's here. He forgot to put the signed pic in but I did get a tee shirt smile.gif It's got a very hand made look to it, nice and industrial. Not played through it yet, much experimenting to do smile.gif















--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Nov 23 2015, 09:39 PM
Post #29


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.730
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Nice! I think it actually is handmade smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 23 2015, 10:21 PM
Post #30


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.044
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



QUOTE (Mertay @ Nov 23 2015, 08:39 PM) *
Nice! I think it actually is handmade smile.gif


Yes it is, and they haven't tried to disguise it smile.gif

Sounds great through my amp, not much success through my GT-001 yet but it's early days. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Phil66: Nov 23 2015, 10:22 PM


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Nov 23 2015, 10:35 PM
Post #31


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.730
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



biggrin.gif

Keep testing but yeah no rush, depending on the chain you feel best sounding and most comfortable let me know if you need any assistance (and I'm curious too) smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 23 2015, 10:48 PM
Post #32


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.044
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks.

Any suggestions for starters? I have one problem. I wanted to feed the GT001 from my Blkackstar emulated output BUT I can't use speaker emulation without a preamp in the chain and I can't find a transparent one.

Would a Shure SM57 be a valid option?

Cheers

This post has been edited by Phil66: Nov 23 2015, 10:50 PM


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Nov 23 2015, 11:37 PM
Post #33


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.730
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



QUOTE (Phil66 @ Nov 23 2015, 09:48 PM) *
...


We might be able to get a clean signal from the aux input, though not 100% sure this should work (it should get the sound through but not sure if it can record);



this converts a guitar jacks tip into a smaller, earphone-like tip. It should be extremely affordable and easy to find in music stores (or electronic supply type shops).

Worth a shot cause from mic input either we'll need a di-box for direct in or an sm57, mic.ing may be a problem for the neighbors at night smile.gif

Does the boss amps offer to disable the amp but keep the cabinet? blackstars I think also has line or headphone outputs, if possible we could use the cabinet from the gt001?


edit; found the parameter guide; http://lib.roland.co.jp/support/en/manuals...-001_r_e01W.pdf

as I understand from page 4, if you press on/off the preamp should be disabled?

This post has been edited by Mertay: Nov 24 2015, 12:07 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 24 2015, 09:17 AM
Post #34


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.044
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks Mertay,

If I disable the preamp it disables the cab emulation. The GT001 has phantom power mic inputs so I was thinking of trying that. I can do more experimenting at the weekend. Best option so far has been using the Blackstar emulated output which is for recording or headphones.

Cheers


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Nov 24 2015, 10:41 AM
Post #35


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.730
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



QUOTE (Phil66 @ Nov 24 2015, 08:17 AM) *
Thanks Mertay,

If I disable the preamp it disables the cab emulation. The GT001 has phantom power mic inputs so I was thinking of trying that. I can do more experimenting at the weekend. Best option so far has been using the Blackstar emulated output which is for recording or headphones.

Cheers


The sm57 is a dynamic mic. that doesn't require phantom power but the thing is its not a very sensitive mic. and thats why I'm a bit suspicious on how it would work in a home environment.

In studio, the best sound happens when the amp is really cranked. If wanted to record vocals for example, the preamps of a console or soundcard are forced a bit. Think of a loudly speaking person in the room, that would be the minimum healthy sound level acoustically needed for an sm57 to do its magic.

Darious has a lot of experience with such approach at home or smaller rooms, I strongly recommend you sending a pm to him to get the best advice if such workflow is ok for you and your environment. Maybe he could recommend something better for home use.

What I'd brainstorm would be either using the emulated output (as you did), stick with that cab. sound from amp and use eq to change its character when needed (use gt001 fx post)...or get a line level (non-emulated, it the amp has that option) from the amp, use gt001 fx (pre) and use cab. sim from computer. Either way you won't be forcing any cpu (cab. sim.s/ir's need really low power, lots of good freeware on web too).


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 24 2015, 12:35 PM
Post #36


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.044
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks Mertay,

I have full version of Amplitube 3, I just hate the interface. I'd like to persevere with the Hotbird as it feels different when playing through it and sounds great through my Blackstar (no line out on it).

Thanks again for your help Mertay.

Cheers smile.gif


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Nov 24 2015, 01:06 PM
Post #37


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.730
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



QUOTE (Phil66 @ Nov 24 2015, 11:35 AM) *
Thanks Mertay,

I have full version of Amplitube 3, I just hate the interface. I'd like to persevere with the Hotbird as it feels different when playing through it and sounds great through my Blackstar (no line out on it).

Thanks again for your help Mertay.

Cheers smile.gif


Cool, very understandable as although pedal+plug-in is frequently adviced by me or friends here full analog is always something else...

If you decide not to mic. your amp but feel the cab. emu from the amp isn't enough for any reason let me know as thats solvable by using an eq. Have fun experimenting smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 24 2015, 10:07 PM
Post #38


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.044
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr,

A whole night wasted, my GT-001 has stopped outputting any sound from the guitar input. All other sounds on computer are working fine. The GT-001 is my soundcard.

The only thing I have done is to update firmware on my Korg NanoKontrol2 but I can't see how that would affect anything.

mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Nov 24 2015, 11:21 PM
Post #39


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.730
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Hmmm I also couldn't think of a reason, when you insert a track in reaper does it playback ok too? also why not revert to previous setup and re-install the korg?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 25 2015, 09:30 AM
Post #40


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.044
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks Mertay,
I didn't try Reaper but I can't see it being a problem, Windows sounds work, youtube works, media player works, iTunes works.
I tried a system restore and it said it could restore and I tried about 5 restore points.
Cheers


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

24 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th May 2017 - 01:43 PM