Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Reaper Bpm Query
Phil66
post Nov 2 2015, 09:50 PM
Post #1


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.376
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Hello everyone,

If I put a backing track into Reaper 5 and forget to set the BPM first is it possible to change the BPM within Reaper without changing the speed of the imported media file? I find that if the track is 80bpm but Reaper is set to 100bpm when I import it and I then change it to 80bpm, the track itself is slow.

Any ideas?

Cheers


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SpaseMoonkey
post Nov 2 2015, 11:26 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 951
Joined: 8-May 11
From: Warren, Ohio
Member No.: 12.764



QUOTE (Phil66 @ Nov 2 2015, 04:50 PM) *
Hello everyone,

If I put a backing track into Reaper 5 and forget to set the BPM first is it possible to change the BPM within Reaper without changing the speed of the imported media file? I find that if the track is 80bpm but Reaper is set to 100bpm when I import it and I then change it to 80bpm, the track itself is slow.

Any ideas?

Cheers


Hello there sir!

Easiest way to do this is.

1. Select the track.
2. Use the menu at the top and select "ITEM"
3. Then "ITEM PROPERTIES" (on a PC you can just hit "F2")
4. Look for "Take Properties" make sure the "playback rate is set to 1.00"
5. Enjoy and have some fun!

Have a great day!


--------------------
Guitars:
Ibanez RG920QM (Black Ice) , Ibanez S770PB (Natural Flat) , Ibanez RG470XL (Black Perl) , Squire IV Jazz Bass (Sunburst)
Gear:
Kemper Profiling Amp , Mesa Mark 5:25

My YouTube Page.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jstcrsn
post Nov 3 2015, 02:07 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.858
Joined: 29-March 08
From: kansas, USA
Member No.: 4.733



I don't think so. I always create the correct tempo before i load anything
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 3 2015, 07:15 AM
Post #4


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.376
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thank you gentlemen, I'll look into the item properties thing this evening. I always forget to set the tempo first rolleyes.gif It's not a major problem just a bit of a ball ache dry.gif

Cheers


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Nov 3 2015, 05:04 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 29.570
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



Unfortunately I don't use Reaper so I can't help you with this. Let's see if any other GMCers who uses this software can help you. I have to say that the normal thing would be that changing tempo doesn't affect your audio's bpm.


--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Nov 3 2015, 06:24 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.977
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Hmmm had a quick look but couldn't find that setting, probably best to ask at reaper forum...


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 3 2015, 11:09 PM
Post #7


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.376
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



I couldn't find "take properties" either sad.gif



--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SpaseMoonkey
post Nov 4 2015, 01:06 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 951
Joined: 8-May 11
From: Warren, Ohio
Member No.: 12.764



Round 2! FIGHT!



I guess I'll step up my game! cool.gif


--------------------
Guitars:
Ibanez RG920QM (Black Ice) , Ibanez S770PB (Natural Flat) , Ibanez RG470XL (Black Perl) , Squire IV Jazz Bass (Sunburst)
Gear:
Kemper Profiling Amp , Mesa Mark 5:25

My YouTube Page.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 6 2015, 03:38 PM
Post #9


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.376
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



QUOTE (SpaseMoonkey @ Nov 4 2015, 12:06 PM) *
Round 2! FIGHT!



I guess I'll step up my game! cool.gif



Thanks, I'll check that out.

Cheers buddy smile.gif


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 12 2015, 10:05 PM
Post #10


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.376
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



QUOTE (SpaseMoonkey @ Nov 4 2015, 12:06 PM) *
Round 2! FIGHT!



I guess I'll step up my game! cool.gif


Perfect thank you. Sorry it took a while to get back to you but I've been wasting shed loads of time on tone seeking rolleyes.gif

Cheers buddy smile.gif



--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 19 2015, 08:36 PM
Post #11


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.376
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Ok it worked for my last one but it doesn't work for the backing track download from THIS lesson for some reason.

It's not a major issue, I'll just have to stop being a dingbat and forgetting to alter the BPM before I import rolleyes.gif

Any ideas why it doesn't work for all tracks?

Cheers


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th September 2017 - 04:53 AM