Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Reaper Clipping Checking
Phil66
post Nov 3 2015, 09:12 PM
Post #1


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.577
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Hello everyone,

Is there a quick way to check for clipping (red on peak meter) in Reaper? I normally sit and listen to the piece all the way through but there must be a quick way because when you render a track it shows it and that is pretty quick.

Cheers


--------------------

AWARD

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Nov 3 2015, 10:12 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.432
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Since plug-ins clip I don't think reaper can do anything about that.

But what you can do is place a limiter as the last thing of the channel chain, it will protect from clipping. Unless its clipped too hard results will be transparent, if not just lower the gain from a previous plug-in.

Reaper doesn't seem to have a limiter plug-in? I can recommend this as its as good as payware stuff; http://loudmax.blogspot.com.tr/

After inserting, just set the output to -0.2 and thats it.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 3 2015, 11:01 PM
Post #3


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.577
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks Mertay,

I was getting clipping on that backing track I imported for the minor blues lesson. I thought there might be a quick clipping check because it shows clipping in the render screen.

I'll look at that plugin but didn't it make things lose dynamics? I mean if you are playing something closed to clipping and then add harder picking for emphasis wrong it sound incorrect?

Cheers

This post has been edited by Phil66: Nov 3 2015, 11:04 PM


--------------------

AWARD

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Nov 3 2015, 11:26 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.432
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Yes, although we set levels of the guitar input (in studio, we always request the musician to play the loudest part of the song to prevent clipping by adjusting the preamp) when adding fx/plug-ins or the combination of backing track+guitar can result in clipping.

Always adjust severe clipping thats for sure, but when minor since we're doing recording for educative manners if it is so slight and the limiter isn't working much it shouldn't be a problem.

If you place a limiter and if the track is clipping really hard instead of crackle you'll hear pumping/muddyness, then that means the levels must be taken down.

Just some extra info; Your recording logic is correct but if we were to be making an album, after recording stage is done there will be a mix and a master stages. The limiter is pretty much always used in the mastering stage for finalizing the album, it reduces/controls dynamics gently for listeing pleasure.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 4 2015, 09:34 AM
Post #5


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.577
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Cheers Mertay,
I'm really interested in this kind of stuff but can't find a night class to cover the basics.
Thank you


--------------------

AWARD

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TylerT
post Nov 19 2015, 07:19 PM
Post #6


Guitar Hero
*

Group: Members
Posts: 295
Joined: 24-September 07
From: Canada
Member No.: 2.856



Hey Phil,

CTRL + M will bring up the Master Track, it is very easy to see clipping there and the HIGHEST DB clip achieved will stay displayed until playback is stopped or a higher clip is achieved. Very helpful IMO!

Best of luck!


--------------------
My Website
My Youtube

Main Guitars:
- Agile Interceptor Pro 725
- EBMM John Petrucci Signature
- Axl Badwater

Amps/Effects:
- Avid Eleven Rack
- Hughes & Kettner Switchblade
- Pod X3 Live
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 19 2015, 08:19 PM
Post #7


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.577
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks Tyler,

What I meant though, is there a way for Reaper to quickly scan the track or tracks to find the clipped area. When you render tracks it does it so quickly and also shows that a track has somewhere clipped. It would be nice for Reaper to scan that quickly and show the clipped secion on the wave form.

Cheers smile.gif


--------------------

AWARD

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th January 2017 - 02:30 AM