2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording Electro Acoustic
Phil66
post Nov 15 2015, 10:30 PM
Post #21


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.058
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks Mertay,

I'm starting to understand a bit more of this now. I haven't tried to use the Boss unit yet. I did want to get away from plugins as I don't know if my system is really up to using very many, that's why I bought the GT-001 (I may change to GT-100 soon and have a Line 6 UX-2). I'm starting to find things a little annoying having an interface that is also an FX Processor. I can't have an interface AND the GT-001 on the desktop so I might go for a GT100. Not sure yet.

Cheers





--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Nov 15 2015, 11:33 PM
Post #22


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.734
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



The fundamental principle on anything related to recording/audio engineering is to capture the source as good as possible. Plug-ins are just there for little enhancement, fix or compansate for a hardware.

That reverb plug-in was the last thing to add for this topic, the plug-ins we used are really low on cpu usage, did you experience any crackle? keep in mind, we can always set a low buffer for recording, then increase the buffer to add fx.

Many people I know uses their mic.ed (in your case if wanted the emulated output of blackstar) amp and pedals at home for recording. If soloing over a backing track, then adjusting level and maybe an eq plug-in is enough.

But having a processor is also handy as analog tone options can never be as rich as digital, saving lots of cpu your gt-001 is also a very valid solution specially as it can internally re-amp though I don't know if you use that feature. Also I guess the boss fx you shared here are also not using the cpu? gt-100 won't be able to do these as it will only work as processor.

What I'm trying to say is you know setting up a DAW (and that gt-001 was a hard one biggrin.gif ), audio editing and (like now) using fx for audio shaping. Getting better is an experience thing but you know the territory now, its all about the workflow you prefer.

Who knows, maybe when the hotbird arrives you'll prefer to go all analog...just take your time as for these sort of decisions you know the best for yourself.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 16 2015, 10:14 AM
Post #23


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.058
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks Mertay,

All the effects I currently use are from my GT001. I think you can use the GT100 in the same way as GT001 even re-amping because the GT001 is a desktop version of the GT100, the images of the software you saw are for GT100 and GT001.

I do use the re-amping feature, I have a template project because I don't understand the routing wink.gif

Cheers again


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Nov 16 2015, 10:46 AM
Post #24


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.734
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



QUOTE (Phil66 @ Nov 16 2015, 09:14 AM) *
...I do use the re-amping feature, I have a template project because I don't understand the routing wink.gif


I see, you might miss re-amping with a normal soundcard+processor or analog gear as there is more work to it.

You have to record both direct from guitar and your rig at the same time. Then if you change your mind, route the clean guitar through the rig again and play+capture the recording again...also have to adjust the tracks latency. To me this isn't ideal for home studio use.

What can be done thats easy with this method (recording both dry guitar and amped) is inserting a plug-in on the direct guitar recording. Then if you want blend or just use the plug-ins sound. This is easy but needs some cpu. Your gt001 exactly does this with the dry signal, but faster and without cpu need.

Then I guess its all about using the re-amping feature you currently have or not, its a nice thing to have but up to you if you can do without it or use the alternatives. I'd limit myself for a while trying to not use the re-amping for lesson or collab. recordings, then we'll discuss again if you need a change.

By the way, are you happy with the current acoustic guitar sound? we can always adjust the 2 plug-ins we inserted if you feel it can be better?

This post has been edited by Mertay: Nov 16 2015, 11:28 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 16 2015, 04:31 PM
Post #25


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.058
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks Mertay,

I am much happier with the acoustic sound now, I haven't had time to fiddle with reverb or chorus but I will try this week. I'm falling behind with practice with all this tone seeking smile.gif

Cheers

Phil


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 27 2015, 09:48 PM
Post #26


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.058
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



I'll be back soon with some recordings. Just fetched guitar back from luthier. WOW blink.gif sounds and feels better than I can remember!!!! He used D'Addario Phosphor Bronze EJ26 .011-.052 strings, fitted a new bridge saddle, dressed the frets and oiled the fretboard.

Incredible difference smile.gif


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Nov 28 2015, 12:47 AM
Post #27


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.734
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Qurious smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Jan 18 2016, 09:43 PM
Post #28


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.058
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Sorry I didn't answer this Mertay.

I guess it's all in the "GAS What next?" thread wink.gif


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th May 2017 - 04:57 PM