7 Pages V  « < 4 5 6 7 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Modes Modulation Contribution (7 People Needed)
David Wallimann
post Jul 27 2007, 05:26 PM
Post #101


Instructor
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.565
Joined: 29-March 07
From: Fort Collins, CO
Member No.: 1.439



You guys rock!
Can't wait to get the rest! :-)


--------------------
www.youtube.com/Wallimann
www.davidwallimann.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jeff
post Jul 27 2007, 05:43 PM
Post #102


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 877
Joined: 25-April 06
From: Virginia, US
Member No.: 706



QUOTE (ezravdb @ Jul 27 2007, 11:12 AM) *
Yeah me too - I improvise and then I'm like, hey that lick sounds cool!
And then I try to remember that lick and I improvise some more around with it.
I repeat those steps and eventually, I have a whole solo without written anything.


Yeah I kinda did the same thing. Just improvised and got down a couple of licks to build around. I think if I took the time to write it out and practice it, I could have come up with much better results.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tank
post Jul 27 2007, 06:33 PM
Post #103


GMC Veteran
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 666
Joined: 20-August 05
From: Shropshire UK
Member No.: 5



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Jul 27 2007, 04:19 PM) *
A question Tank ....

You say you are writing it ... I always do this kind of stuff by jamming for a while then selecting the best bits, but have often speculated that if I had the discipline to sit down and write something then learn it I might get better results - do you have a view/experience on this?


I sometimes write by just jamming, and I suppose it's different for everyone. I just find that if I just run a track and jam over it, I can almost always attribute the licks that come out to other songs "That's a Kirk Hammett lick " etc). When I spend half an hour or so actually trying to make some interesting licks, and apply some theory, I tend to get a result that I'm more happy with.

BTW, I'm recording it at the moment (and as an extra tip, if you want a foolproof way of ruin even a 20 second take.. get yourself a 3 year old. They have a special talent in just getting interested in what you are doing when the red light blinks on the desk!!!!)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nick325
post Jul 27 2007, 11:07 PM
Post #104


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.996
Joined: 24-July 07
From: Long Island, NY
Member No.: 2.387



i have a question


i have my part recorded but how do i upload my part
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Jul 27 2007, 11:10 PM
Post #105


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (Nick325 @ Jul 27 2007, 06:07 PM) *
i have a question
i have my part recorded but how do i upload my part


Create a post, and look down past the text part - there is a file attachments section. Hit the browse button, find your file, click on add this attachment. When you finalise your reply the track should be attached.


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nick325
post Jul 27 2007, 11:12 PM
Post #106


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.996
Joined: 24-July 07
From: Long Island, NY
Member No.: 2.387



andrew it says


"Upload failed. You are not permitted to upload a file with that file extension."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Jul 27 2007, 11:14 PM
Post #107


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (Nick325 @ Jul 27 2007, 06:12 PM) *
andrew it says
"Upload failed. You are not permitted to upload a file with that file extension."


What file type is it? It should be an mp3 preferably or possibly a wav file.


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tank
post Jul 27 2007, 11:22 PM
Post #108


GMC Veteran
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 666
Joined: 20-August 05
From: Shropshire UK
Member No.: 5



I had a lovely set up with my Engl, and an SM58 just positioned right earlier, only to find that I'd managed to get some unwanted background noise in the take that I liked, so I gave up, and did a direct in instead. If the software has made this too noisy David, I can fiddle with the amp models a bit. And I didn't put a limiter on it to bring it up to 0db, just incase you needed headroom for mixing smile.gif
Attached File(s)
Attached File  mixolydian.mp3 ( 365.81K ) Number of downloads: 102
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Jul 27 2007, 11:26 PM
Post #109


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (Tank @ Jul 27 2007, 06:22 PM) *
I had a lovely set up with my Engl, and an SM58 just positioned right earlier, only to find that I'd managed to get some unwanted background noise in the take that I liked, so I gave up, and did a direct in instead. If the software has made this too noisy David, I can fiddle with the amp models a bit. And I didn't put a limiter on it to bring it up to 0db, just incase you needed headroom for mixing smile.gif


Very nice tank - the whole mix is shaping up nicely now smile.gif


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nick325
post Jul 27 2007, 11:32 PM
Post #110


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.996
Joined: 24-July 07
From: Long Island, NY
Member No.: 2.387



its an audacity file. how to do u make it an mp3 file?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Jul 27 2007, 11:33 PM
Post #111


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (Nick325 @ Jul 27 2007, 06:32 PM) *
its an audacity file. how to do u make it an mp3 file?


Dunno, file save as ?


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nick325
post Jul 27 2007, 11:36 PM
Post #112


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.996
Joined: 24-July 07
From: Long Island, NY
Member No.: 2.387



when i get to file save as i try clicking to change the .aup to .mp3 but its not there
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tank
post Jul 27 2007, 11:38 PM
Post #113


GMC Veteran
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 666
Joined: 20-August 05
From: Shropshire UK
Member No.: 5



I think you have to install an encoder (from google)

http://audacity.sourceforge.net/help/faq?s...p;item=lame-mp3
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Jul 27 2007, 11:38 PM
Post #114


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (Nick325 @ Jul 27 2007, 06:36 PM) *
when i get to file save as i try clicking to change the .aup to .mp3 but its not there


Export? Can you save it as a wav then convert it with winlame or something?

This post has been edited by Andrew Cockburn: Jul 27 2007, 11:40 PM


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nick325
post Jul 27 2007, 11:42 PM
Post #115


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.996
Joined: 24-July 07
From: Long Island, NY
Member No.: 2.387



tank when i click on the LAME thing it brings up so many ones. which one do i click?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tank
post Jul 27 2007, 11:46 PM
Post #116


GMC Veteran
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 666
Joined: 20-August 05
From: Shropshire UK
Member No.: 5



Any of them mate, they're all the same, just provided in different places (in case one is not working).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nick325
post Jul 27 2007, 11:52 PM
Post #117


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.996
Joined: 24-July 07
From: Long Island, NY
Member No.: 2.387



i still cant get .mp3 in the save as folder
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Jul 27 2007, 11:58 PM
Post #118


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (Tank @ Jul 27 2007, 06:22 PM) *
I had a lovely set up with my Engl, and an SM58 just positioned right earlier, only to find that I'd managed to get some unwanted background noise in the take that I liked, so I gave up, and did a direct in instead. If the software has made this too noisy David, I can fiddle with the amp models a bit. And I didn't put a limiter on it to bring it up to 0db, just incase you needed headroom for mixing smile.gif


Hey Tank, just a thought - I've been thinking about recording my amp when I get one and have decided I will record clean and re-amp, that way you can always re do it if you get a great performance but the effect is wrong.

I do the same now with my pod - monitor with the effect on for playing but get the pod to send clean, then use the gearbox plugin (basically a software pod) to get the right sound. That way I can change it afterwards for ultimate flexibility.

I haven't tried it but that approach might work well for capturing amp sounds as well, I know David Gilmour used to do that ...

QUOTE (Nick325 @ Jul 27 2007, 06:52 PM) *
i still cant get .mp3 in the save as folder

Its on the export function I think.


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nick325
post Jul 28 2007, 12:04 AM
Post #119


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.996
Joined: 24-July 07
From: Long Island, NY
Member No.: 2.387



where is that
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tank
post Jul 28 2007, 12:23 AM
Post #120


GMC Veteran
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 666
Joined: 20-August 05
From: Shropshire UK
Member No.: 5



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Jul 27 2007, 11:58 PM) *
Hey Tank, just a thought - I've been thinking about recording my amp when I get one and have decided I will record clean and re-amp, that way you can always re do it if you get a great performance but the effect is wrong.

I do the same now with my pod - monitor with the effect on for playing but get the pod to send clean, then use the gearbox plugin (basically a software pod) to get the right sound. That way I can change it afterwards for ultimate flexibility.

I haven't tried it but that approach might work well for capturing amp sounds as well, I know David Gilmour used to do that ...
Its on the export function I think.


It's the best approach. I just was using the experience to try a mic'd up recording. Putting the signal direct to track gives you much more options. The only danger I could see (in myself) is that I'd spend hours upon hours fiddling with reverbs, delays, and amp simulations, and never get anything done !!

Nick, try somewhere in the "File" menu, usually export is located there (in other programs).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

7 Pages V  « < 4 5 6 7 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st January 2017 - 10:52 PM