7 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 7 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Modes Modulation Contribution (7 People Needed)
Nick325
post Jul 26 2007, 04:42 PM
Post #81


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.996
Joined: 24-July 07
From: Long Island, NY
Member No.: 2.387



i have a question

im using audacity to record my part and how do i get that backing track in so i can hear it when im playing

and how do i get a distortion sound if im recording from a usb to my toneport and then straight to my guitar
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
David Wallimann
post Jul 26 2007, 04:48 PM
Post #82


Instructor
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.565
Joined: 29-March 07
From: Fort Collins, CO
Member No.: 1.439



I wish I could help but am not familiar with these..
Can anyone else help?

QUOTE (Nick325 @ Jul 26 2007, 11:42 AM) *
i have a question

im using audacity to record my part and how do i get that backing track in so i can hear it when im playing

and how do i get a distortion sound if im recording from a usb to my toneport and then straight to my guitar


--------------------
www.youtube.com/Wallimann
www.davidwallimann.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nick325
post Jul 26 2007, 04:53 PM
Post #83


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.996
Joined: 24-July 07
From: Long Island, NY
Member No.: 2.387



well i have reaper too but not so how to work it but ill try if someone gives me help
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stratman58
post Jul 26 2007, 05:07 PM
Post #84


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 152
Joined: 27-May 07
From: Los Banos
Member No.: 1.920



In reaper, just do this.

1. Download Walliman's backing (first post, but you've already done this I think)

2. Open reaper -> new project

3. Press CTRL + T this will open a track for you to use. Drop Walliman's backing in that track.

4. CTRL + T again. This new track will be your guitar track. Select input whatever input you have plugged your guitar into your hardware (line 1-2 usually). If you get no signal, press CTRL+P (preferences) and go to devices. Select your recording hardware as the input/ouput.

Hope that wasn't too bad.

Wow, these leads are cool! I'll get mine in within a few hours.


--------------------
God said "Let there be LIGHT"
and Chuck Norris said "Say Please"


Gear:
Ibanez RG Prestige 1570 Mirage Blue
Fender Mexican Strat HSS Arctic White
G&L Climax Marble body (Found my Gotoh trem bar!)
Crate GT1200H Half Stack
PodXTLive board
Ibanez delay and chorus tank pedals
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nick325
post Jul 26 2007, 05:38 PM
Post #85


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.996
Joined: 24-July 07
From: Long Island, NY
Member No.: 2.387



QUOTE (Stratman58 @ Jul 26 2007, 12:07 PM) *
In reaper, just do this.

1. Download Walliman's backing (first post, but you've already done this I think)

2. Open reaper -> new project

3. Press CTRL + T this will open a track for you to use. Drop Walliman's backing in that track.

4. CTRL + T again. This new track will be your guitar track. Select input whatever input you have plugged your guitar into your hardware (line 1-2 usually). If you get no signal, press CTRL+P (preferences) and go to devices. Select your recording hardware as the input/ouput.

Hope that wasn't too bad.

Wow, these leads are cool! I'll get mine in within a few hours.



ok but how do i find wallimans backing track i know i listened to it but how did i download it and get it on there
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jeff
post Jul 26 2007, 05:40 PM
Post #86


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 877
Joined: 25-April 06
From: Virginia, US
Member No.: 706



QUOTE (Nick325 @ Jul 26 2007, 11:38 AM) *
ok but how do i find wallimans backing track i know i listened to it but how did i download it and get it on there


right click on it and select "save as" and then save it to your desktop or file somewhere. Did you decide to use Reaper?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nick325
post Jul 26 2007, 05:51 PM
Post #87


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.996
Joined: 24-July 07
From: Long Island, NY
Member No.: 2.387



QUOTE (jeff @ Jul 26 2007, 12:40 PM) *
right click on it and select "save as" and then save it to your desktop or file somewhere. Did you decide to use Reaper?



ya i am i just dont know how to get the distortion sound
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jeff
post Jul 26 2007, 06:00 PM
Post #88


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 877
Joined: 25-April 06
From: Virginia, US
Member No.: 706



QUOTE (Nick325 @ Jul 26 2007, 11:51 AM) *
ya i am i just dont know how to get the distortion sound


I assume that you are plugged straight into the sound card? If so, you will need to get distortion from your software via a plug-in. Is that correct?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nick325
post Jul 26 2007, 06:10 PM
Post #89


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.996
Joined: 24-July 07
From: Long Island, NY
Member No.: 2.387



ya i tried plugged into my amp and then into my guitar but i get no sound so im looking for effects otherwise it sound like plan and i need distortion
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ezravdb
post Jul 26 2007, 06:17 PM
Post #90


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 597
Joined: 20-July 06
From: Holland
Member No.: 764



QUOTE (Nick325 @ Jul 26 2007, 07:10 PM) *
ya i tried plugged into my amp and then into my guitar but i get no sound so im looking for effects otherwise it sound like plan and i need distortion


Dude you're born on the same day as me cool.gif

Plugging your guitar in your amp is better I think, because plugging your amp in your guitar wont work unsure.gif

If you have 2 cabels you can plug your guitar in your amp then with your other cable plug the output from your amp in the Line-in or Mic-in from your PC. ( you need a jack converter to a 3.5 mm jack)
With Reaper set Audio Device as Windows or something like the audio driver from your PC is called.

If you have a headset make sure you aren't using it as your default recording setup.
Go to Control Panel ---> Sound Devices , then choose the audio driver thing as your default audio or voice recording.

That's like the simplest way to do it if you ask me.

This post has been edited by ezravdb: Jul 26 2007, 06:19 PM


--------------------
The coolest new community: Lockerz Wanna join Lockerz?
Send me a PM with your mailadress.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jeff
post Jul 26 2007, 06:18 PM
Post #91


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 877
Joined: 25-April 06
From: Virginia, US
Member No.: 706



QUOTE (Nick325 @ Jul 26 2007, 12:10 PM) *
ya i tried plugged into my amp and then into my guitar but i get no sound so im looking for effects otherwise it sound like plan and i need distortion


Something else you will need to do, unless you already have it is to go here and download the lame .dll file:

http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~raa110/audacity/lame.html

Once you have downloaded it, unzip it and make sure that the lame_enc.dll is copied to the same directory where Reaper is installed. You will need this to render your lead to an mp3 file and lame allows you to do that.

Reaper has built it distortion effects so I think you can do it ok. Look at your track. Do you see a little "fx" button? If so, click that and see what plug-in's pop-up for you to choose. You should see several distortions.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nick325
post Jul 26 2007, 06:31 PM
Post #92


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.996
Joined: 24-July 07
From: Long Island, NY
Member No.: 2.387



thats cool ezra biggrin.gif

ok ive been playing around with audacity becuase i understand it more but ill try reaper another time

i got the backing track on and will record my part later today becuase im going out now for a while

thanks for your help guys because its my first time recording

also i was just wondering if anyone has a line 6 recording thing if you know how to use all the effects it comes with becuase i have the line 6 toneport and i cant figure it out
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nick325
post Jul 27 2007, 05:47 AM
Post #93


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.996
Joined: 24-July 07
From: Long Island, NY
Member No.: 2.387



ok so i have my solo part tabbed out and im practicing it and I will record it in the morning but just one question ezra i tried putting it through the amp but when i do i dont get any sound so idk what to do becuase if im just recording straight into the computer i cant make the volume louder and add distortion.

someone help huh.gif (using audacity by the way)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Jul 27 2007, 11:30 AM
Post #94


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (Nick325 @ Jul 27 2007, 06:47 AM) *
ok so i have my solo part tabbed out and im practicing it and I will record it in the morning but just one question ezra i tried putting it through the amp but when i do i dont get any sound so idk what to do becuase if im just recording straight into the computer i cant make the volume louder and add distortion.

someone help huh.gif (using audacity by the way)

I don't know Audiacity but as said in another thread (and this) select the ASIO driver for sound (preference tab)

Plug your Toneport to your computer and any other cords that toneport comes with (see your manual!)
Plug your guitar cord into Toneport
Start the Toneport software
Select the distorted sound of your choise
Set Audiacity to record and then play

Hope it works


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
David Wallimann
post Jul 27 2007, 03:41 PM
Post #95


Instructor
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.565
Joined: 29-March 07
From: Fort Collins, CO
Member No.: 1.439



Hi everyone..
Just wanted to make sure that I didn't miss anything...
I still need leads by:
Nick325
Stratman 58
and Tak

Is that right?
If your name is above and you have posted your solo already please let me know!


--------------------
www.youtube.com/Wallimann
www.davidwallimann.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tank
post Jul 27 2007, 03:56 PM
Post #96


GMC Veteran
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 667
Joined: 20-August 05
From: Shropshire UK
Member No.: 5



Hi David

I'm at home, writing mine at the minute. Should be posted this evening. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Jul 27 2007, 04:19 PM
Post #97


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (Tank @ Jul 27 2007, 10:56 AM) *
Hi David

I'm at home, writing mine at the minute. Should be posted this evening. smile.gif


A question Tank ....

You say you are writing it ... I always do this kind of stuff by jamming for a while then selecting the best bits, but have often speculated that if I had the discipline to sit down and write something then learn it I might get better results - do you have a view/experience on this?


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stratman58
post Jul 27 2007, 04:56 PM
Post #98


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 152
Joined: 27-May 07
From: Los Banos
Member No.: 1.920



*sigh*...I feel like a loser.

I had finished recording my solo when my dad came home last night. I minimized reaper, and took the opportunity to show him some guitarists on youtube. Within 5 minutes, my computer blue screened sad.gif

NO EXCUSES THOUGH, you're getting it today Walliman!

This post has been edited by Stratman58: Jul 27 2007, 04:56 PM


--------------------
God said "Let there be LIGHT"
and Chuck Norris said "Say Please"


Gear:
Ibanez RG Prestige 1570 Mirage Blue
Fender Mexican Strat HSS Arctic White
G&L Climax Marble body (Found my Gotoh trem bar!)
Crate GT1200H Half Stack
PodXTLive board
Ibanez delay and chorus tank pedals
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ezravdb
post Jul 27 2007, 05:12 PM
Post #99


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 597
Joined: 20-July 06
From: Holland
Member No.: 764



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Jul 27 2007, 05:19 PM) *
A question Tank ....

You say you are writing it ... I always do this kind of stuff by jamming for a while then selecting the best bits, but have often speculated that if I had the discipline to sit down and write something then learn it I might get better results - do you have a view/experience on this?


Yeah me too - I improvise and then I'm like, hey that lick sounds cool!
And then I try to remember that lick and I improvise some more around with it.
I repeat those steps and eventually, I have a whole solo without written anything.


--------------------
The coolest new community: Lockerz Wanna join Lockerz?
Send me a PM with your mailadress.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nick325
post Jul 27 2007, 05:25 PM
Post #100


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.996
Joined: 24-July 07
From: Long Island, NY
Member No.: 2.387



david

i have my solo and i figured out all the recording stuff (its my first time) so you'll have it today
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

7 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 7 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 03:24 PM