Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Looking For A Lite Daw, But Still Pro
KenA
post Feb 1 2016, 02:05 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 16-August 13
From: Curitiba - Parana - Brasil
Member No.: 18.625



Hi everyone,

I'm in the quest of an alternative for the currently DAW I'm using which is Ableton Live. I quite like Live, but there's many aspects in there I really don't need, eg: 2 visual modes (Arrangement and Session views), most of the Software Instruments, tons of loops and one shots, among some other things. (things that basically bloats the software)

What I use is the basic stuff any musician may use: tracks, mixer, midi, audio, time stretching and VST support.

Well, any tips help. Thanks, Ken.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jstcrsn
post Feb 1 2016, 04:08 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.894
Joined: 29-March 08
From: kansas, USA
Member No.: 4.733



Reaper, this is what Glen uses . It will do everything you need for 60 bucks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Feb 1 2016, 09:31 AM
Post #3


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.668
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Reaper wink.gif


--------------------


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor



Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tom51
post Feb 1 2016, 10:38 AM
Post #4


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 391
Joined: 21-November 14
Member No.: 20.440



I use Steinberg Cubase Elements 8 - which is a downstripped version of Cubase and costs here somewhat around 80 bucks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
KenA
post Feb 1 2016, 11:55 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 16-August 13
From: Curitiba - Parana - Brasil
Member No.: 18.625



Thanks, I'll definitely try Cubase Elements and Reaper.

I've tested both GarageBand and Logic, both sw do something strange, eg. they alter the guitar sound. The guitar signal path I'm testing is:

Guitar > real Amp head > Suhr Reactive Load > Audio Interface > DAW

The result sounds like I'm using an amp simulator sw instead. I also tried my previous setup which was:

Guitar > Joyo American and AC Tone pedals > Audio Interface > DAW : same altered sound

But maybe it's something I'm doing wrong inside GarageBand and Logic?

Plus Logic is not Lite at all :-(


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jstcrsn
post Feb 1 2016, 12:15 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.894
Joined: 29-March 08
From: kansas, USA
Member No.: 4.733



QUOTE (KenA @ Feb 1 2016, 11:55 AM) *
Thanks, I'll definitely try Cubase Elements and Reaper.

I've tested both GarageBand and Logic, both sw do something strange, eg. they alter the guitar sound. The guitar signal path I'm testing is:

Guitar > real Amp head > Suhr Reactive Load > Audio Interface > DAW

The result sounds like I'm using an amp simulator sw instead. I also tried my previous setup which was:

Guitar > Joyo American and AC Tone pedals > Audio Interface > DAW : same altered sound

But maybe it's something I'm doing wrong inside GarageBand and Logic?

Plus Logic is not Lite at all :-(

do you have a speaker simulator in that chain
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
KenA
post Feb 1 2016, 12:21 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 16-August 13
From: Curitiba - Parana - Brasil
Member No.: 18.625



QUOTE (jstcrsn @ Feb 1 2016, 11:15 AM) *
do you have a speaker simulator in that chain


in the hardware side No, but last in the DAW I have Recabinet. I made sure that in Logic or Garageband I had a similar setup in the DAW as well. I also deleted Recabinet in Logic and played to test if there wasn't any other cabinet in the chain.

I still believe I'm doing something wrong (not the SW's fault).

Well nevermind because I'll probably not going to use Logic since it appears to be another heavy sw.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Feb 1 2016, 12:51 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 3.114
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



http://harrisonconsoles.com/site/mixbus.html

The entire DAW is analog modeled and though I never used it, its said to be not complicated.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Feb 1 2016, 01:26 PM
Post #9


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.687
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



I have recently moved to Reaper from Cubase, and while there's a short learning curve, I'm not looking back. It supports all the things I need personally.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
KenA
post Feb 1 2016, 02:42 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 16-August 13
From: Curitiba - Parana - Brasil
Member No.: 18.625



QUOTE (Mertay @ Feb 1 2016, 11:51 AM) *


Not sure about this one. Looks quite good, but quite heavy, but I'll add it on my list.

QUOTE (Caelumamittendum @ Feb 1 2016, 12:26 PM) *
I have recently moved to Reaper from Cubase, and while there's a short learning curve, I'm not looking back. It supports all the things I need personally.


I'll try this one too!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Feb 1 2016, 09:02 PM
Post #11


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.668
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



The one good thing about Reaper is that there are many GMCers who use or have used it so there's always help available. If you go for a less popular DAW and have issues it may take longer to sort out.

CHeers


--------------------


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor



Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Feb 2 2016, 08:34 AM
Post #12


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.407
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



I'm with everyone else smile.gif If you want lite and still good quality, grab REAPER. You can download and use it for free with just a nag screen popping up at the start. So you can try it and then buy it or not smile.gif You can always download the free version of Pro Tools which is of course "pro" but not that light and not that complete to be honest.

QUOTE (Caelumamittendum @ Feb 1 2016, 07:26 AM) *
I have recently moved to Reaper from Cubase, and while there's a short learning curve, I'm not looking back. It supports all the things I need personally.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
KenA
post Feb 2 2016, 12:13 PM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 16-August 13
From: Curitiba - Parana - Brasil
Member No.: 18.625



I'm testing Reaper and it's very good, but I need to see how it deals with MIDI devices and learn the overall aspects of the DAW. The overall sound quality I get using an equivalent setup I use in Ableton is very similar from each other. Not sure if it has Timestretching tool. It's a very lite sw. I think I'll do further studies on this one!!!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jstcrsn
post Feb 2 2016, 01:47 PM
Post #14


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.894
Joined: 29-March 08
From: kansas, USA
Member No.: 4.733



QUOTE (KenA @ Feb 2 2016, 12:13 PM) *
I'm testing Reaper and it's very good, but I need to see how it deals with MIDI devices and learn the overall aspects of the DAW. The overall sound quality I get using an equivalent setup I use in Ableton is very similar from each other. Not sure if it has Timestretching tool. It's a very lite sw. I think I'll do further studies on this one!!!

not sure what you mean about stretching , but if it slowing the track down without changing the pitch , just double click the BPM and type in what speed you want .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
KenA
post Feb 2 2016, 01:56 PM
Post #15


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 16-August 13
From: Curitiba - Parana - Brasil
Member No.: 18.625



QUOTE (jstcrsn @ Feb 2 2016, 12:47 PM) *
not sure what you mean about stretching , but if it slowing the track down without changing the pitch , just double click the BPM and type in what speed you want .


That's definitely part of time stretching abilities a sw may have, but there are a few more things than just slowing down, eg. the ability to detect transients so one can alter/fix minor errors, etc.

But, no problem at all if Reaper does not include an specific tool for that. We can do it outside the DAW in case it's needed.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th December 2017 - 11:49 PM