Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Transposing Audio In Real Time?
JohnMathew
post Feb 28 2016, 01:34 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 16-June 15
Member No.: 21.047



Hi,

These days I am playing some In flames stuff and I would like to play songs along. The problem is that this guys (like a lot of metal bands) doesn't play in a standard tunning. I have come across the idea of using a real time transposer plugin of something to let me play with standar tunning but outputing audio to my monitors with a transposed sound. Is this possible? I use reaper and Amplitube.

Cheers.

This post has been edited by JohnMathew: Feb 28 2016, 01:35 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GeneT95
post Feb 28 2016, 03:16 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 137
Joined: 26-March 08
Member No.: 4.701



I think this would be hard without a midi guitar although I imagine it is possible and an interesting learning test in one's DAW. But if it is just audio (not midi) then the alternate tuning would have to be symmetric with standard, meaning all strings are shifted the same amount of steps as it would, I think, be impossible to just shift the lower stings, i.e. a drop tuning, by a different number of steps.

I'll have to play around in my DAW, Ableton, just for fun and see if there is plugin that can transpose the input audio. I believe there is, but I've not don it except on audio tracks already recorded.

For a drop tuning and on the fly in the DAW transposition, I think the only way that would be possible is with a midi guitar. Plus, in order to get a drop tuning where the 6th string is down more steps than the others, I think you'd have to send each string on a separate midi channel. Although, I believe this would be overkill if one has a processor like the GR-55 as it can transpose strings automatically before it is sent to the computer.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JohnMathew
post Feb 28 2016, 03:37 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 16-June 15
Member No.: 21.047



QUOTE (GeneT95 @ Feb 28 2016, 03:16 PM) *
I think this would be hard without a midi guitar although I imagine it is possible and an interesting learning test in one's DAW. But if it is just audio (not midi) then the alternate tuning would have to be symmetric with standard, meaning all strings are shifted the same amount of steps as it would, I think, be impossible to just shift the lower stings, i.e. a drop tuning, by a different number of steps.

I'll have to play around in my DAW, Ableton, just for fun and see if there is plugin that can transpose the input audio. I believe there is, but I've not don it except on audio tracks already recorded.

For a drop tuning and on the fly in the DAW transposition, I think the only way that would be possible is with a midi guitar. Plus, in order to get a drop tuning where the 6th string is down more steps than the others, I think you'd have to send each string on a separate midi channel. Although, I believe this would be overkill if one has a processor like the GR-55 as it can transpose strings automatically before it is sent to the computer.


Hi,

Sorry for my ignorance, but, wouldn't it be enough just transposing the audio just for example 2 down steps? I can't see the link between strings and the audio signal. If you have a guitar with standard tunning, just get the audio from it and transpose the audio input n steps.

I could be wrong because I'm not an audio techy person but I think it could work.

If you try anything I would be really happy to hear from you about the results you get smile.gif. And thanks for trying!. I would do it too if I had enough knoledge on how to do it.

Cheers.

CHeers.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GeneT95
post Feb 28 2016, 05:06 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 137
Joined: 26-March 08
Member No.: 4.701



I know I could probably do it in one of two ways in Ableton, or at least I have two ideas as a start point. I'll try it after I finish my next Creativity thread post and post an update. I'm not sure how my Ableton process will convert to Reaper and Amplitude, but I'll look into it cause it sounds challenging and an interesting thing to learn.

I imagine if I can figure out how Ableton can do it I could set it up to turn off and on, i.e. an on the fly tuning change, with a midi pedal and signal. That would be kinda cool.

Ah, a quick way, in the interim, is a Pitch Shifting or Octaver VST plugin, like an Ocatver pedal with the pitch shifted by how ever many steps while setting the original pitch vol to zero. I've done this with an octave pedal but not in a DAW.

Here are two pitch shifting plugins that might work. One is free and one is not. But you could test it out first.

http://www.quikquak.com/Prod_Pitchwheel.html
http://bram.smartelectronix.com/plugins.php?id=2

You might search the net for Pitch shifting plugin for your DAW. Also, you might look for an Octaver pedal add on for Amplitude like your running an Octaver pedal in front of a real amp.

This post has been edited by GeneT95: Feb 28 2016, 05:07 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rammikin
post Feb 28 2016, 05:22 PM
Post #5


Experienced Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 628
Joined: 4-November 10
Member No.: 11.529



If you want to drop the tuning of all six strings equally, I'd recommend a Digitech Drop pedal. I've had better results with that than a plugin since it's designed to do what you're describing, rather than a general purpose transposition plugin.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JohnMathew
post Feb 29 2016, 05:05 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 16-June 15
Member No.: 21.047



QUOTE (Rammikin @ Feb 28 2016, 05:22 PM) *
If you want to drop the tuning of all six strings equally, I'd recommend a Digitech Drop pedal. I've had better results with that than a plugin since it's designed to do what you're describing, rather than a general purpose transposition plugin.

THanks for the answers. I knew there would be something to acomplish that biggrin.gif.

@GeneT95: I would really appreciate it if you could get in touch with me if you accomplish it smile.gif.

@Rammikin: I prefer to try to achieve it with a plugin before burning some bucks on hardware, but it is really nice you brought that to the table.

Cheers
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Feb 29 2016, 05:20 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.420
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



I can't remember which plug-in could do that, maybe try meldaproduction free bundle.

I have to say though they really degrade audio quality even when oversampled.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rammikin
post Feb 29 2016, 05:41 PM
Post #8


Experienced Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 628
Joined: 4-November 10
Member No.: 11.529



QUOTE (JohnMathew @ Feb 29 2016, 04:05 PM) *
@Rammikin: I prefer to try to achieve it with a plugin before burning some bucks on hardware, but it is really nice you brought that to the table.


In that case I'd recommend Elastique Pitch. But I'm not aware of any decent pitch shifting software that costs less than a digitech drop pedal.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nikeman64
post Mar 9 2016, 02:16 PM
Post #9


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 296
Joined: 13-May 11
From: Belgium
Member No.: 12.818



Two plugins come to my mind : Celemony Melodyne and Antares AutoTune. they don't come cheap though !!!

Grts
Nico


--------------------
Experienced Tone Seeker
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th January 2017 - 02:09 PM