Reply to this topicStart new topic
> More Recording Problems!
Phil66
post Mar 15 2016, 09:44 PM
Post #1


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.061
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Hello folks,

I haven't changed anything in my setup but for some reason I'm suddenly getting sounds like on the embedded player below. I feel like buying an old cassette recorder with built in mics at the moment, I think I'd have more success laugh.gif

This only happens when I play stuff through Reaper, even stuff that I recorded last year has the same clicking and warbling and I know it didn't then.

Recorded with an SM57 by my monitor with the output from the mic muted in Scarlett control to prevent feedback.

Any ideas or should I bin everything, win the lottery and buy Air Studios cool.gif

https://soundcloud.com/gmcphil-1/clicking

Thanks again for any help that may help to stop me going insane wacko.gif


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Mar 15 2016, 09:56 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.737
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Buffer settings would be my first look but does it happen when you do a re-start? or when you disconnect the internet?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Mar 15 2016, 10:06 PM
Post #3


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.061
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks Mertay,

restart sorted it, normally I would have done that right away. I think all of this frustration is affecting my thought processes sad.gif

Cheers dude.


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Mar 15 2016, 10:19 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.737
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Just a guess but felt like it might have to do with internet unless anything new installed. Auto updates, browser been surfing too long etc. can cause such stuff.

Keep in mind (when your hand heals smile.gif ) when sitting infront of the pc knowing the recording will take a while, I prefer to disconnect the internet from next to the speaker icon. Not a must but helps prevent stuff like these happening specially in the middle of the recording.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Mar 16 2016, 07:20 AM
Post #5


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.061
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks Mertay,
It's a first for me though and I'm always recording. I probably record 80% of my playing just to listen back for errors not heard whilst playing and then I delete.
I'll keep it in mind though.
Cheers buddy


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Mar 16 2016, 05:13 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.480
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Good call MERTAY! smile.gif When in doubt check those settings first. They sometimes get reset to values that are the default and cause problems. Resetting the samples and a good clean cold boot (turn the computer all the way off, not just a hot restart) will solve a shocking amount of problems.

Also, MERTAY has a good point about the web. Windows is always trying to update itself and
QUOTE (Phil66 @ Mar 15 2016, 04:06 PM) *
Thanks Mertay,

restart sorted it, normally I would have done that right away. I think all of this frustration is affecting my thought processes sad.gif

Cheers dude.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th May 2017 - 09:20 PM