Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Boss Gt 100 4cm Any Good Tips?, F
norules
post Apr 29 2016, 07:57 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 11-March 11
From: bristol england
Member No.: 12.407



I just got a boss gt100 delivered :-) some of my line 6 m9 foot switches have packed up and after taking it apart to try and fix them and seeing how poor quality the switches are and badly designed the way they are mounted I decided to try boss as we all know how well built boss pedals are

I'm planning on putting my m9 in the gt100 fx loop and using it until the switches that still work pack in and then I'll try and control it via midi with the gt100. I only had about two hours with the gt100 so far and I'm loving it but the delays are definitely not as good for me as the line 6 and I can't be without sweep echo. I also noticed the delays don't go nuts if you max out the settings like the m9 they just fade out. I do lots of fx with bouncing the delays around so need it really. Also the delays don't seem to trail when you turn them off which is very annoying but hey ho the m9 can still do all of that.

I've got a blackstar 100w valve amp ht venue I think is the model and I've got myself some new cables to try the four cable method and use the blackstar fx loop as well.

I normally use my amp on the mid gain channel set so that it's really clean but with a bit of break up if I dig in hard and then I have a ds1 for my dirt and I don't use the other channels on my amp. I'm happy using the one channel and I can't use the gr100 amp control anyway as the blackstar has its own multi pin plug but like I said I'm happy enough with it like that.

I'm interested to hear any advice anyone has with using multi fx like this with a valve amp and fx loop? I've always feared in depth multi fx pedals so I'm new to a pedal this complex but well experienced in pedals generally.

I don't intend to use the preamps but is there situations where you would use them with an amp like this? I've only played the pedal with headphones so far and the preamps do sound very good to me.

Also how easy is it to have my normal patches for playing live with out preamps but then just turn the pre amps on if I want to play through headphones? Or do I need to have two patches and always save changes I make twice?

Also there's is several eqs in the chain and then the amp eq as well. Do people tend to use them all or just one or two and why?

Thanks any tips are greatly appreciated:-)







Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JaxN4
post Apr 30 2016, 05:43 PM
Post #2


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 863
Joined: 24-June 11
From: Melbourne
Member No.: 13.200



Hey Mate how are you? cool.gif

I have the Boss GT 100 and going from an Axe FX 2 and downgrading to the GT 100, I cant speak highly enough of this machine. I spoke with Johnathan Burgos (Former GMC Instructor) about this and his opinion was the final nail in the coffin for me to buy it...

Since your Questions are very specific I would direct you to this guy on YT, he has a heap of in depth instructional videos on the GT 100 and alot of handy tricks... https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL11A0F865D05421BC

It does take some getting used to, but then again any effects processor with as many option / settings will be the same hey :-)

This is my favorite Demo video of the GT 100.... and Jack is all over it haha laugh.gif
Cheers

https://youtu.be/2wy89a4NEXw?list=PLZSTx0r8...89pdA9ZAyxi7T_G

This post has been edited by JaxN4: Apr 30 2016, 05:48 PM


--------------------
Washburn N4 Wenge
Washburn N5 AT-100

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post May 1 2016, 06:17 PM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 28.442
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



Hi mate,

I've used my Pod X3 live with my Mesa Boogie for some time. I've also used the 4 cable method and it was ok, it did the job right. It's a comfortable way to have everything in 1 device. You won't be able to choose the best fx processor for each effect but you'll have everything available. The four cable method is GREAT and allows you to use effects and processes in the right part of the chain.

You won't want to use amp emulators or preamp when connecting your guitar to a real amp. You need to turn it off. If you want to practice at home you can edit the patches or maybe just have clones of your presets but with amp emulations turn on.

About the use of EQ, more is less. Having so many parameters can confuse and in most of the cases it can ruin more than improve your tone. Start VERY simple, using only your amp EQ and add something else only if you reach to the moment in which you can find a cool EQ balance from your amp. The use of your processors EQ could be cool to have a different EQ for solos, or maybe clean parts, but not for the main tone. However there are no rules about this, you can experiment and see what you get.





--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post May 2 2016, 12:49 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.146
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



A ton of experimentation is in your near future smile.gif Typically, gain based fx don't work great in an fx loop, however, each system is different and I have a high gain preamp on my eleven rack fx loop and it works great. So I'd say try several configurations. Eg.

Guitar/fx/amp
guitar/amp/fx in loop
four cable method

and anything else you can come up with. Eventually you'll find where it fits in your rig to your tastes. Start going direct to the unit then amp and see how everything sounds leaving the amp on a clean channel. It will give you a good idea of what each patch and effect is gonna sound like.

Todd


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
norules
post May 4 2016, 09:54 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 11-March 11
From: bristol england
Member No.: 12.407



Thanks very much guys :-)

I'm good thanks. Really enjoying my gt100. Had a lot more time to play with it and get it set up but I've still not tried it at band practice or gigged with it yet.

I've got it setup in the 4 cable method through my amp and with my line 6 m9 in between the fx return from my amp to the return on the gt100 and it's working fine. I've not used an amp fx loop before now and straight away I can see why people do it, my delay trails are crystal clear :-)

I'm actually quite amazed at how easy this pedal has been to set up. It's gonna make for so much less tap dancing. I've built 4 patches one distortion solo, one heavy rhythm, one clean and one clean but dubby with delay wah and reverb. The great thing is without double tapping and going into manual mode you can have 3 switches on deck for fx changes within a patch. eg I can be in the heavy patch and turn the flanger or reverb or delay on but still then go straight into a clean patch with only one tap :-)

Very very impressed with the distortions. The line 6 m9 distortions are awful but the gt100 I think they are great so far. The ds1 model I straight away dialled in my usual sound and I'm also getting some awesome tones from the guvnor although I've never used one before so can't really compare.

Delays are ok but not a scratch on the m9 in my opinion and the tera echo i don't like as much as I was hoping i would and doesn't it have tap tempo either.

Tap tempo isn't possible to be set so that its global across all patches and/or fx which I think is a massive oversight with the software. It's what makes the m9 so good in my opinion and I'm shocked they missed that feature. I'd of thought it would be easy enough to include just by adding it to the software. When I get to try midi between the 2 pedals I read that I can use the m9 as a master tempo so that should solve that issue anyway. Also I haven't really looked to see if I've missed a setting yet but it seems the delay trails can't be set to continue when you change patch which is something I need. Again the m9 is basically my box of delays so I can do my trailing delays on that but I'm still surprised that it appears to not be possible in the gt100.

Haven't tried the pitch bend whammy yet but that's next on the list as it's something I need in one of my songs. I only have 3 fully working switches on the m9 and need them for delays so I'm hoping the gt100 will manage that one ok.

Eq's I've not used at all, same with the noise suppressor and preamps. Think I'll take your advice gabriel and not reach for the eq unless I find a reason too.

What output volume do you guys have your multi fx pedals set at? I didn't give it any thought and then realised I'd set everything up with it just under halfway. I've not tried changing it yet but I'm worried if I now turn it up full then my amps gonna respond way different and I'm going to need to change all my settings. I'm guessing with a valve amp I should of had it at least 75% up if not full volume?

Thanks mates and sorry for such a long response but I noticed there's not much mention of the gt100 in the gmc forum so thought if anyone else is looking to get one they may be interested to read some thoughts on it.

Nice one :-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post May 19 2016, 08:52 PM
Post #6


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.795
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Some good info here but you may already know this.

http://www.rolandcorp.com.au/blog/gt-100-t...r-cable-method/



--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
norules
post May 19 2016, 09:55 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 11-March 11
From: bristol england
Member No.: 12.407



Thanks mate that's good info I've read that before and I've my gt-100 setup as it says.. I need to book a studio on my own and take my drum machine and experiment at proper volume levels I think. I'm really shocked by how much different my amp sounds with it plugged in and everything in the pedal switched off. I got all new decent quality cables when I got the pedal and I play a fender strat so I've got good gear being used with it but I just found something was missing from my amp. My m9 I use in the non true bypass mode so I get the trails and I don't notice it but the gt100 makes my amp feel kinda tired and unresponsive..

Just realised you posted in this thread I was speaking in my other post earlier about it so that last post might not make sense mate but thanks for you help man
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post May 19 2016, 10:01 PM
Post #8


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.795
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



I'll try mine to see what my amp sounds like with my GT100 with everything off.

Cheers

This post has been edited by Phil66: May 20 2016, 12:02 PM


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
norules
post May 20 2016, 09:39 AM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 11-March 11
From: bristol england
Member No.: 12.407



Thanks mate that would he ace. I was really happy with the gt100 untill I got it to band practice and it just wasn't cutting through the mix at all..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post May 20 2016, 09:18 PM
Post #10


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.795
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



OK mate,

Here are some simple quick recordings connected using the four cable method. I set my amp (Peavey Valveking MH20) with everything in the middle, used an SM57 near the centre of a Celestion Vintage 30, used an HSH Strat set to single coil, hence the hum. I changed no setting at all between these recording except the cable going into a GT100 with everything off and then the amp direct.
I hope this helps, just let me know if you want anything any more specific.


https://soundcloud.com/gmcphil-1/clean-through-gt-100
https://soundcloud.com/gmcphil-1/clean-direct-to-amp
https://soundcloud.com/gmcphil-1/dirty-through-gt100
https://soundcloud.com/gmcphil-1/dirty-direct-to-amp

Cheers buddy.

Just ask for whatever you want, except hot playing.

This post has been edited by Phil66: May 21 2016, 10:16 AM


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post May 21 2016, 09:45 PM
Post #11


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.146
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Too make a long story short, you typically want your fx pedals to be at the same volume as your amp. So if the pedal is on or off, your amp volume should stay roughly the same. The only time you want it to change is for a patch that is for lead work so it will get louder and cut through better. For regular patch changes. the volume should remain pretty constant. If you need it louder, you want to do that from your AMP typically and NOT from your pedals. Again, unless you are using pedals as boost during lead. Mostly your amp sets the stage for how loud you are in general and it's tone controls shape the overall tone of what is going to the amp.

It sounds like you may try to be making up for volume using your pedal board. It's possible that you may need a stronger amp if it's not cutting through with the pedal/pedals set to even / flat volume.

Todd


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th March 2017 - 10:09 PM