Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Fx Loop Question
Phil66
post May 4 2016, 09:08 PM
Post #1


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.209
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Hello folks,

I'm thinking of putting my GT-001 through my Peavey Valveking MH-20 head's FX loop. What is the best way? I've read about the four cable method but it is very confusing and they go on about signal losses etc.
Is there another way other than going straight into the front?

Cheers

Phil


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post May 4 2016, 09:21 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.851
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Never tested 4 cable method (been away from processors for a while) but can't imagine why signal loss would happen? maybe the stuff you read was related to stage usage as the cables can be very long in such situation.

as for normal connection typical in/outs should be fine but I can't remember, did you ever had issues bypassing non-modulation fx like amp, cab., distortion etc.?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post May 4 2016, 09:34 PM
Post #3


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.209
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks Mertay,
I haven't tried anything except guitar into processor and processor into front input but I wanted to try to use the modulations after the preamp and drives before. I thought the 4cable would allow this?

Here is some stuff about loss of signal and dynamics. (Not related to Boss though)

http://line6.com/support/topic/12666-4-cab...it-really-work/



--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post May 4 2016, 10:01 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.851
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



QUOTE (Phil66 @ May 4 2016, 08:34 PM) *
Thanks Mertay,
I haven't tried anything except guitar into processor and processor into front input but I wanted to try to use the modulations after the preamp and drives before. I thought the 4cable would allow this?

Here is some stuff about loss of signal and dynamics. (Not related to Boss though)

http://line6.com/support/topic/12666-4-cab...it-really-work/


Yeah thats the idea of the 4 cable method, I did check the topic and understand what they mean but I guess I have to try that on my own to believe its actually an issue.

But to keep stuff simple (and probably logical) connecting the gt001 to the fx of the amp (and only use mod. fx) makes more sense to me cause your amp is pretty cool and have top notch pedals...

also if you like, make guitar-gt001 to amp fx loop and open any preset you like but disable the cab. from gt001 (be careful with the output levels of the gt001 while surfing presets). Its like plugging the gt001 to a soundcard but now you can use the power section of the amp and your cab. . Its a fun approach smile.gif

Yesterday I helped my friend doing this, we connected a tech 21 vox emu pedal (analog pedal but its basically an amp sim.) to a crappy stagg amp. It really helped transform the sound and results were insanly good, that terrible amp actually sounded vox-like biggrin.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post May 12 2016, 09:01 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.739
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Sadly, unless the gt 001 has it's own fx loop, the 4 cable method won't really work. Here is a diagram using it's big brother. that said, i think mertay is on the right track smile.gif

Attached Image



QUOTE (Phil66 @ May 4 2016, 04:08 PM) *
Hello folks,

I'm thinking of putting my GT-001 through my Peavey Valveking MH-20 head's FX loop. What is the best way? I've read about the four cable method but it is very confusing and they go on about signal losses etc.
Is there another way other than going straight into the front?

Cheers

Phil


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post May 12 2016, 09:10 PM
Post #6


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.209
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Ahh,

I will have to get a GT-100 then. Not bad though because I can have the GT-001 dedicated to my PC recording and the GT-100 to my amp and share patches smile.gif

Cheers folks

Phil


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post May 18 2016, 08:45 PM
Post #7


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.209
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



If anyone else needs advice look hear http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/attac...chmentid=112188



--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st July 2017 - 11:46 AM