2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pod
Andrew Cockburn
post Jul 31 2007, 09:48 PM
Post #21


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (steve25 @ Jul 31 2007, 04:34 PM) *
Yeah will do thanks. One more question though, i heard that the way you're setup changes the sound quality for the pod. So the standard setup would be Guitar > PODxt > Amp right? Well there are other ways of setups isn't there have you noticed any certain setups that seem to make it better or worse?

One last time , try reading the lines6 boards ... Pods are not designed to be played through regular guitar amps. The sound quality is generally regarded as inferior if you do this. Your mileage may vary, but I think you are going down the wrong path. At least try it both ways before you decide.


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pavel
post Jul 31 2007, 09:54 PM
Post #22


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 3.764
Joined: 8-January 07
From: Rijeka, Croatia
Member No.: 1.055



QUOTE (steve25 @ Jul 31 2007, 10:08 PM) *
I was sort of similar, heard OF it but didn't know what all the fuss was about. I take it you've seen the pic from the GAK site?


Yeah! The link from the first post! smile.gif


--------------------
"It isn't how many years you have been playing, it's how many hours." -- Prashant Aswani

"PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!" -- Michael Angelo Batio

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
steve25
post Jul 31 2007, 09:55 PM
Post #23


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.197
Joined: 19-April 07
From: Wiltshire, England
Member No.: 1.626



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Jul 31 2007, 09:48 PM) *
One last time , try reading the lines6 boards ... Pods are not designed to be played through regular guitar amps. The sound quality is generally regarded as inferior if you do this. Your mileage may vary, but I think you are going down the wrong path. At least try it both ways before you decide.


I did have a look on the line6 boards, and there is no mention anywhere that they should be put through PAs or keyboard amps as you say. In fact most of them seemed to be using regular guitar amplifiers all different types of guitar amps heads/stacks combos etc. Surely if this was the case they would say on their site or somewhere someone would mention that this is how they should be used. I'm not trying to argue with you or anything but i'm just saying what i've read. No one has complained about using it with their guitar amps as far as i can see unless you know somewhere that will tell me otherwise. As far as i can see from what i've read these things are built for both. There's no mention of guitar amp problems anywhere on the line6 boards
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mattacuk
post Jul 31 2007, 09:58 PM
Post #24


Lets go fishing!
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.526
Joined: 21-December 06
From: illinois
Member No.: 1.001



I wouldnt even know how to use a POD! Give me a battered up old amp and a guitar and im happy biggrin.gif


--------------------
mysql> SELECT * FROM master_name WHERE ((firstname = 'Paul') AND (lastname = 'Gilbert'));


"The Fundimental Difference between Paul Gilbert and Buckethead is that Paul Explores the Good side of the force, while Buckethead Explores the Dark Side of the Force" :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rob_g
post Jul 31 2007, 10:00 PM
Post #25


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 377
Joined: 13-December 05
From: White River, Ont, Canada
Member No.: 196



Thats the setup I have and it works, not sure about the diffrent setups. I can't really think of a diffrent way to set it up.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Jul 31 2007, 10:06 PM
Post #26


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (steve25 @ Jul 31 2007, 04:55 PM) *
I did have a look on the line6 boards, and there is no mention anywhere that they should be put through PAs or keyboard amps as you say. In fact most of them seemed to be using regular guitar amplifiers all different types of guitar amps heads/stacks combos etc. Surely if this was the case they would say on their site or somewhere someone would mention that this is how they should be used. I'm not trying to argue with you or anything but i'm just saying what i've read. No one has complained about using it with their guitar amps as far as i can see unless you know somewhere that will tell me otherwise. As far as i can see from what i've read these things are built for both. There's no mention of guitar amp problems anywhere on the line6 boards

I guess I imagined it then.


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rob_g
post Jul 31 2007, 10:08 PM
Post #27


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 377
Joined: 13-December 05
From: White River, Ont, Canada
Member No.: 196



Actually After looking on my pod a little bit. You can actually change the output mode. You can change the output from studio to stack to combo to bose? whatever that means. So all you have to really do is change the output setting to whatever your playing through.

This post has been edited by Rob_g: Jul 31 2007, 10:09 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
steve25
post Jul 31 2007, 10:10 PM
Post #28


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.197
Joined: 19-April 07
From: Wiltshire, England
Member No.: 1.626



Andrew - do you own a POD yourself? Was just wondering if you've experimented yourself with using different amplifiers and things? I'll have a look again just in case i'm going blind but i was on the lookout for any mention of it.

Rob - Yeah i've heard of that on the POD, didn't really know what it was all about that makes sense really
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Jul 31 2007, 10:23 PM
Post #29


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (steve25 @ Jul 31 2007, 05:10 PM) *
Andrew - do you own a POD yourself? Was just wondering if you've experimented yourself with using different amplifiers and things? I'll have a look again just in case i'm going blind but i was on the lookout for any mention of it.

Rob - Yeah i've heard of that on the POD, didn't really know what it was all about that makes sense really

That function is included as an atenpt to match the output types to different types of amp. Reading the lines bbiards when I got my pod 6 months ago, mostvpepple agreed that they didn't work too well and a clean amp . was the best choice.

Try comparing the pod throgh a guitar amp against the headhpne output of the ppd. The headphone output is uncolored and will give you an idea of how it would sound through a pa I keyboard amp, it should sound better. But if you prefer the amped up sound, go ahead, at leasttou will have tried it, that is mymaij concern.


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
steve25
post Jul 31 2007, 10:28 PM
Post #30


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.197
Joined: 19-April 07
From: Wiltshire, England
Member No.: 1.626



Yeah will try it, but i have to get some decent headphones at some point. I mean mine are alright but could be better. I guess it's also about personal preference as well but i'd be happy if it did still sound really good with an ordinary guitar amp. If i prefered the headphones, then i'd probably look into getting just an all clean amp eventually.

Also found this on the line6 site, for the amp settings

http://line6.com/support/entry!default...SearchPage=true
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th March 2017 - 09:11 AM