Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Powering Up Gear With Surge Protector?
dcz702
post Jul 8 2016, 08:27 AM
Post #1


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 613
Joined: 5-March 13
From: Las Vegas
Member No.: 17.838



i play guitar mostly through my computer these days. I was wondering, is it safe for my monitors, sub and guitar processor power switches to remain on, plugged into a surge protector and switch the surge protector on and off so I can power everything up with one flick of a switch?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Jul 8 2016, 09:26 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 3.071
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



QUOTE (dcz702 @ Jul 8 2016, 07:27 AM) *
i play guitar mostly through my computer these days. I was wondering, is it safe for my monitors, sub and guitar processor power switches to remain on, plugged into a surge protector and switch the surge protector on and off so I can power everything up with one flick of a switch?


Can be a problem for speakers if slight popping sound occurs, usually the tweeters get damaged but its not good for the amp either.

I do use one only to powerup my pedals and nothing unfortunate happened till now.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
yoncopin
post Jul 8 2016, 01:30 PM
Post #3


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 567
Joined: 26-September 09
From: USA
Member No.: 7.667



I've been doing this for quite a while now. It started because the Pod HD500X doesn't have a power switch on the unit at all. I added my audio interface, monitors, Pod, computer monitor, pedals and amp. I leave the amp off, and use it's power switches to control it, but for everything else it's from the power strip switch. No problems so far, but I guess that's no guarantee there won't be.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jul 19 2016, 05:35 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.272
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Good plan! I have a power strip with switches on the front for each plug in the back. So the speakers go on LAST. They are self powered and if you power everything up, you get a big POP than can actually effect your speakers/sub. Loud, sudden transients are how speakers get blown in many cases. sad.gif







QUOTE (yoncopin @ Jul 8 2016, 08:30 AM) *
I've been doing this for quite a while now. It started because the Pod HD500X doesn't have a power switch on the unit at all. I added my audio interface, monitors, Pod, computer monitor, pedals and amp. I leave the amp off, and use it's power switches to control it, but for everything else it's from the power strip switch. No problems so far, but I guess that's no guarantee there won't be.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Jul 19 2016, 11:53 AM
Post #5


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.531
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



I switch everything on from one switch. My valve amp is left in standby and my audio interface is turned all the way down. Been doing this for eons with no problems. Not to say others won't have issues though. smile.gif


--------------------


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jul 22 2016, 06:53 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.272
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



It will work just fine to turn it on all at once smile.gif The problem is that if you power your amp on and hear a "pop", it means your speakers just got a very strong transient signal. This is the exact sort of thing that can damage speakers. If you don't hear the POP, then it's fine. I have powered Studio monitors hooked up to my 11 Rack and if I don't turn the speakers on last, I get the POP when the 11 rack comes on. That's the indication that I should turn the speakers on last.

There is an old saying among audio guys about Amplifiers in general.

"LAST ON, FIRST OFF"

This means the amp is the last thing turned on, (so everything that might cause a pop/transient has already happened) and first to be turned off (so that more pops don't hit them while turning gear off).

So in general, it's a good practice to follow the "Last on/First Off" rule for any type of amplifier of any kind, if at all possible smile.gif

Todd


QUOTE (Phil66 @ Jul 19 2016, 06:53 AM) *
I switch everything on from one switch. My valve amp is left in standby and my audio interface is turned all the way down. Been doing this for eons with no problems. Not to say others won't have issues though. smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th November 2017 - 07:56 AM