Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Itunes, GRRRRRRRRRRRRR
Phil66
post Jul 14 2016, 07:50 PM
Post #1


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.287
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Why is it that no matter what you do with the info section, some tracks will not go into an album?

The track Motorhead from Ace of Spades sits there all alone, I've matched the info section as it was slightly different but it still sits there as a lone track. I have some others like it too.

I've just had the same with Modern Primitive and something else is weird. I added the artwork to the lone track "Bop!" and it applied it to the album. The album show only tracks 2-13 as being on the album and track 1 is on its own, but when I put the artwork to track 1 it applied it to the "album"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It really makes me mad, why can't we just drag the track into the album?????????????????????????????????????

Look at how Steve Vai appears in the left column as two separate artists, the lower one showing two albums, one of which is actually a single track from an album in the Steve Vai section above it GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR



This post has been edited by Phil66: Jul 14 2016, 08:15 PM


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bleez
post Jul 14 2016, 11:49 PM
Post #2


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.097
Joined: 4-November 11
From: Scotland
Member No.: 14.292



sorry mate, I dont even know what an itunes is biggrin.gif

Attached Image

I used itunes once for something and absolutely hated it.


--------------------


You say 'minor pentatonic ' like it's a bad thing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rammikin
post Jul 15 2016, 12:46 AM
Post #3


Experienced Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 873
Joined: 4-November 10
Member No.: 11.529



smile.gif

Phil, try selecting all the songs you want in the album, then do the Get Info. When it asks if you want to edit multiple files, say yes, then enter album name. That will set the name to all the files equally.

About the artwork, I've seen something similar when mixing file types within an album, e.g. mp3 vs wav vs. aiff.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Jul 15 2016, 06:19 PM
Post #4


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.287
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



QUOTE (bleez @ Jul 14 2016, 11:49 PM) *
sorry mate, I dont even know what an itunes is biggrin.gif

Attached Image

I used itunes once for something and absolutely hated it.


Lol Scott,

I have the cds too but don't want to put 500!of them in my car wink.gif Don't you just hate those new card CD wallets??????


QUOTE (Rammikin @ Jul 15 2016, 12:46 AM) *
smile.gif

Phil, try selecting all the songs you want in the album, then do the Get Info. When it asks if you want to edit multiple files, say yes, then enter album name. That will set the name to all the files equally.

About the artwork, I've seen something similar when mixing file types within an album, e.g. mp3 vs wav vs. aiff.


I've just tried that Rammikin but it didn't work. If you look at the picture you will see I have, for some reason, got two Steve Vais. I can only open one at a time. The one track (Bop!) is from and album in the other Steve Vai section sad.gif

Cheers

This post has been edited by Phil66: Jul 15 2016, 07:42 PM


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jul 18 2016, 06:20 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.858
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Sadly, the easy solution is to buy everything from itunes. That's sort of what they are going for. sad.gif Where did you get this file?? If you did get it from them, you can get Apple Support and they can help fix it. But if you ripped it yourself, or downloaded it, then they make you figure it out. sad.gif I never got in to itunes that deep sad.gif I did rip all my cds long ago but switched to streaming a bit ago. You can use spotify on your smart phone and build pretty much any playlist you want. Granted, it's streamed so the quality isn't quite as good as high bit rate encoding, and it requires some sort of connection via your phone or wifi. But I gotta say it's been much more simple since I switched. I mostly use pandora just because it's free and exposes me to music I wouldn't have heard of otherwise smile.gif

Todd

QUOTE (Phil66 @ Jul 15 2016, 01:19 PM) *
Lol Scott,

I have the cds too but don't want to put 500!of them in my car wink.gif Don't you just hate those new card CD wallets??????




I've just tried that Rammikin but it didn't work. If you look at the picture you will see I have, for some reason, got two Steve Vais. I can only open one at a time. The one track (Bop!) is from and album in the other Steve Vai section sad.gif

Cheers


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rammikin
post Jul 18 2016, 06:43 PM
Post #6


Experienced Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 873
Joined: 4-November 10
Member No.: 11.529



QUOTE (Phil66 @ Jul 15 2016, 05:19 PM) *
I've just tried that Rammikin but it didn't work. If you look at the picture you will see I have, for some reason, got two Steve Vais. I can only open one at a time. The one track (Bop!) is from and album in the other Steve Vai section sad.gif


Do the same thing with the Artist name. Select all your Steve Vai songs, when it asks if you want to edit multiple songs say yes, then type in Steve Vai. That will make them all the same.

Also, if you select "All Artists" in the left column, then you'll be able to simultaneously select all the songs you want.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Jul 19 2016, 08:20 PM
Post #7


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.287
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks Rammikin,

I don't know if I'm being brain dead here but I can't select all Steve Vai tracks. I can only select them from the specific section that they are in. I can't select BOTH Steve Vai sections at once and highlight all of the songs.
Please see below.
Thanks smile.gif







--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rammikin
post Jul 19 2016, 11:15 PM
Post #8


Experienced Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 873
Joined: 4-November 10
Member No.: 11.529



Scroll up to the top of the left column and you'll see "All Artists". Choose that, then scroll the right side down to Steve Vai and you'll be able to select all the Steve Vai songs.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rammikin
post Jul 20 2016, 02:32 PM
Post #9


Experienced Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 873
Joined: 4-November 10
Member No.: 11.529



Also, make sure all the artist, album artist, sorting artist, and sorting album artist fields are the same. It might help to rename all of them to "xyz", then change all of them back to "Steve Vai".


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ben Higgins
post Jul 20 2016, 08:37 PM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 13.788
Joined: 11-March 10
From: England
Member No.: 9.820



QUOTE (bleez @ Jul 14 2016, 10:49 PM) *
sorry mate, I dont even know what an itunes is biggrin.gif

Attached Image

I used itunes once for something and absolutely hated it.


Dude, if I'm ever in the beautiful North again I'd love us to chill out with some beers and that collection of vinyl cool.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Jul 20 2016, 09:25 PM
Post #11


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.287
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



QUOTE (Rammikin @ Jul 20 2016, 02:32 PM) *
Also, make sure all the artist, album artist, sorting artist, and sorting album artist fields are the same. It might help to rename all of them to "xyz", then change all of them back to "Steve Vai".


Now just look at that picture, how weird is that????? Look at the left column, in there if I clicked on it would be "Bop" as a track on its own int he second Steve Vai section.




Ok the "xyz" thing kinda worked, now I have 3 Steve Vai sections but at least Modern Primative is showing all tracks smile.gif Be interesting to see what my car makes of it all smile.gif

Cheers buddy

This post has been edited by Phil66: Jul 20 2016, 09:37 PM


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rammikin
post Jul 20 2016, 09:49 PM
Post #12


Experienced Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 873
Joined: 4-November 10
Member No.: 11.529



You probably have everything fixed now, but it might take a restart of itunes for it to all look right.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Jul 21 2016, 08:20 PM
Post #13


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.287
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks Rammikin,

I had to do it again, using your method, somehow it was still the same with now 2 Vai sections but all tracks were on each album. I did it again and it has now sorted itself out. One last thing, any idea why the tracks on Modern Primitive are greyed out? They play fine on my PC, haven't tried in the car yet, keep forgetting to bring my iPod in rolleyes.gif

Cheers buddy



This post has been edited by Phil66: Jul 21 2016, 08:20 PM


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th August 2017 - 05:53 PM