5 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Strange Hiss
Phil66
post Sep 7 2016, 09:33 PM
Post #1


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.296
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Ello folks,

The Laney (see HERE) has a funny hiss. It's only on the rhythm or the lead channel. It hisses when notes are played. It only does it when I am hooked up to my other components, eg, GT-001, GT-100, etc. When the string stops vibrating the hiss goes away. It's ok when played through direct into the cab though with no fx connected. It's also ok if I switch the tuner on in the GT-100 and set it to "bypass". Below is a recording of it. I remember having a Roland Cube with built in fx and that was hissy when the notes were being played I wonder if it's something similar?
I've tried the ground lift which did improve it a little.
Can I do anything else? My GT-100 is on the floor next to my PC under my desk, where I need it to be really. Everything is plugged into one wall socket via a similar item to THIS Maybe it's more to do with the GT-100 than the amp? The hiss even stopped when I removed the XLR out cable from the amp to the Scarlett but obviously I need that there smile.gif
https://soundcloud.com/gmcphil-1/hiss

Cheers

This post has been edited by Phil66: Sep 7 2016, 09:43 PM


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Sep 7 2016, 11:04 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.873
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



The first thing I'd suggest is finding where it's coming from by eliminating EVERYTHING from the chain but Guitar and AMP and adding things back one at a time. When you start hearing the hiss again, whatever you added last is probably the issue smile.gif

Todd



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Sep 8 2016, 08:10 AM
Post #3


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.296
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks Todd,

I hate the process of elimination laugh.gif I was hoping someone would say "buy this dooberryfirkin, plug it in, job done" smile.gif

Cheers


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
verciazghra
post Sep 8 2016, 08:15 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 309
Joined: 10-July 13
Member No.: 18.475



That's some nice Tinnitus simulation going on there. You should trademark that.


--------------------
"To achieve great things, two things are needed; a plan, and not quite enough time." -Leonard Bernstein

"The only love affair I have ever had was with music." -Maurice Ravel

"There's no such place as dumb question." -Dose One
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Sep 8 2016, 08:49 AM
Post #5


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.296
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



smile.gif

Is it strange that the hiss is only there when the strings are vibrating? You only have to breathe on the strings to start it. I thought maybe it was some processing noise. My old Roland cube with digital reverb used to hiss when playing but not when the guitar was still.

Cheers



--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Sep 8 2016, 10:26 AM
Post #6


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.931
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Check if the pre-boost, reverb and dynamics knobs on the ironheart effects this but I'd also guess powering might ahve to do with it. The peavey problem isn't also identified yet right? maybe that was an electrical thing too?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Sep 8 2016, 10:42 AM
Post #7


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.296
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks Mertay,

Good point re the Peavey, but the Peavey didn't always have the valve issue, it's recent. I'll check out the other things. Any idea why it only hisses when the strings are moving? I have to admit, I only tried one guitar, it was my PRS 30th Anniversary.

Cheers

Phil


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Sep 8 2016, 04:32 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.931
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Not really sure without a horrible PROCESS OF ELIMINATION!!! biggrin.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GeneT95
post Sep 8 2016, 07:27 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 164
Joined: 26-March 08
Member No.: 4.701



If you don't hear it when other effects are plugged in the chain, I think there are two possibilities

1. An electrical issues, ground loop or interference from something close by like an overhead fan motor or electrical outlet thing, is there and feeding the guitar pickups but it is so low or dormant that it can only be heard when effects are plugged in and 'boost' the noise.

2. The effects themselves create a ground loop, are affected by an interfering electrical field, or have faulty connections that are not noticeable unless playing.

I don't know your amp, but if it has an automatic gate or suppressor, the sound may actually be there all the time but is suppressed when the signal strength is low. If the buzzing suddenly shuts off as the tone dies to near nothing it could still be from #1. You just don't hear it when the strings are dampened and not vibrating and the gate clamps down.

I had a similar pickup interference issue related to an in room fan. The noise was only apparent with play although I could get it to sound if I dampened the strings then removed my hand. I could also make it waver by turning my body at different angles. Move about the room and see if it changes when plugged in. Go outside the room or shut off all extraneous electrical stuff in the room. And try again.

Check each of those effects pedals one by one by themselves plugged into the amp. If it happens with all of them, then you've some sort of interconnection issue/ground loop/power source. Obviously, if it happens with only one of them, you take it apart and look for loose connectors.

My bet is that you have electrical interference somewhere, either generated by the pedal, or actually affecting your pickups but not noticeable unless the effects are plugged and your amp has some sort of gate or suppressor that is active.

This post has been edited by GeneT95: Sep 8 2016, 07:30 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Sep 8 2016, 09:04 PM
Post #10


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.296
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks Gene,

This has only happened since getting the Laney. The Peavey gave none of this at all. It's as though the Laney picks something up that the Peavey didn't.

Been having some strange things tonight while testing. I was actually getting sound from my cab with the volume down on the amp, if I strummed the strings the hiss comes through the cab even with the volume down on the amp.

I've contacted Laney as it only happens when I use the GT100 through the loop. I disconnected everything. I haven't tried it through the front as I don't want to use it that way.

If I can't sort it I'll put it back on Ebay, I don't think I'll lose any money really as it was a good price made with an offer rather than a bidding war. It was up as a buy it now.

I can't afford to mess around any longer as I am getting way behind with Gab's assignment. I'll just wait for the trusty Peavey to come back.

Cheers folks.



--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Sep 12 2016, 08:47 PM
Post #11


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.296
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Ok, Laney are at a loss with this, they asked me to call their fx specialist but I need to call him from home, no good really as I can only call from work. Anyway, I think it is mains related but why the Peavey doesn't do it I don't know.

This is the GT100, no fx assigned, in the same mains socket as before but on the lead channel with gain on 10 and pre boost on 10.
https://soundcloud.com/gmcphil-1/gt-100-in-tower-extension

This is exactly the same but plugged into a seperate socket on the other side of the room. Th GT100 is in the same physical position.
https://soundcloud.com/gmcphil-1/gt-100-seperate-socket

It's still not great but when you consider the pre boost and the lead gain are both on 10 I guess you can expect something. What this does demonstrate is that there is a difference between the sockets.

Any ideas for a solution now you've heard this?

Cheers


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Sep 12 2016, 10:07 PM
Post #12


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.931
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



In studios (active) voltage regulators are used, I know for stuff like computers smaller and more affordable ones are ok but an amp would need a lot of power so it might be a bit expensive.

By the way, I looked at the manual ( http://www.laney.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/...e8425080f33.pdf ) and seems there is a zillion ways to connect this amp, what input/outputs are you using?

also for checking noise usually its better not connecting a guitar, the guitar and cable can attract noise from many sources depending on placement so we can't sure.

This post has been edited by Mertay: Sep 12 2016, 10:07 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Sep 12 2016, 10:12 PM
Post #13


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.296
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks Mertay,

The thing is, it needs the guitar to be connected because the noise is only there when the strings are actually vibrating. It you listen, when it goes quiet, I'm not turning any levels down anywhere, it's just the strings coming to rest.


I'm using the GT-100 connected via 4 cable method and the xlr out. Haven't sussed out how to connect via USB yet.

Cheers buddy smile.gif

This post has been edited by Phil66: Sep 12 2016, 10:14 PM


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Sep 12 2016, 10:54 PM
Post #14


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.931
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



ok, did you try it with the 15w input and tested fx loop switch positions behind the unit?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Sep 13 2016, 07:30 AM
Post #15


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.296
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Yeah tried all the switches and the 15w. This is the best combination.

Cheers smile.gif


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Sep 13 2016, 08:22 AM
Post #16


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.931
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Ok, how is it with non-4 cable method? although you don't want to use it such way it might give a good clue on the noise issue.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Sep 13 2016, 11:50 AM
Post #17


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.296
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



The amp on its own is fine. I'll try tonight sending the GT100 through the front input of the amp.

Cheers buddy smile.gif


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Sep 13 2016, 08:36 PM
Post #18


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.296
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Ok,

Here is the GT100, no fx or amps going straight into the front of the amp with the pre-boost and lead gain both on 10 (a helluva lot of gain). As you can hear, the interference is there but the vibrating string doesn't change anything.

Without the GT100 plugged in I just get normal high gain amp hiss. The GT100 through the front on the clean channel using effects and amp sims is fine too.

https://soundcloud.com/gmcphil-1/front-of-amp

I think I'm going to have to sell the amp sad.gif or get my house rewired mad.gif

Cheers

This post has been edited by Phil66: Sep 13 2016, 08:36 PM


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Sep 13 2016, 08:56 PM
Post #19


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.931
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Nothing scientific but that noise resembles digital (like guitar picking up noise from the fan of a pc, or pc internal noise which is rare but can happen).

Only easy to do thing that comes to my mind is moving the processor and amp to a different side of the room o see if they're affected from something at the current location.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Sep 13 2016, 09:41 PM
Post #20


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.296
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks Mertay

What I really really don't understand, not that I know anything about electronics is why, when going through the fx loop is the interference sound ONLY there when the string is vibrating but it's always there when going through the front. It's fine though with the GT100 disconnected.

Seems very strange to me.

Cheers

Phil


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd August 2017 - 05:54 PM