5 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Focusrite Problem
Todd Simpson
post Nov 28 2016, 11:45 PM
Post #61


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.269
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



P.S. I'm running AVAST antivirus. I've tried em all and so far avast gets in the way the least. Your mileage may vary. Handy thing is you can just click all the bits off in one screen if you want after air gapping. Easy way to get some variables out of the way smile.gif

Attached Image


Also, the 11 Rack, like we talked about, is based on Pro Tools Hardware which has been the heart of many professional studios for many decades. Just as a recording interface, it's one of the best I've ever had in terms of performance and lack of latency and quality of input. You can even record a Mic for vocals or guitar cab, while recording a clean guitar tone direct from the 11 while recording a processed tone from the 11, while recording the input from your kemper. All at the same time, to different tracks in your daw. This is a bit more advanced than where you are now, but it's what is possible with the 11. smile.gif Love that thing. Imho, best dollar per pound of any interface/processor on earth.

P.S. You can get a FREE VERSION OF PRO TOOLS which works amazingly well with the 11r as they were designd to work as a pair. You can easily assign each input on the 11r to separate tracks in pro tools and record 7 inputs at once if you like including your unprocessed tone and stereo kemper. All for free smile.gif
http://www.avid.com/pro-tools-first

At that point you are running a Multi Track Pro Tools based studio. smile.gif

Todd

This post has been edited by Todd Simpson: Nov 28 2016, 11:51 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Nov 29 2016, 08:11 AM
Post #62


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.530
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



QUOTE (bleez @ Nov 28 2016, 10:03 PM) *
hey phil, out of curiosity what anti virus type software are you running?


Bitdefender mate wink.gif


--------------------


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bleez
post Nov 29 2016, 06:42 PM
Post #63


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.197
Joined: 4-November 11
From: Scotland
Member No.: 14.292



QUOTE (Phil66 @ Nov 29 2016, 07:11 AM) *
Bitdefender mate wink.gif

LOL! That puts a little dent in my theory. Was hoping you used literally anything other than bitdefender! biggrin.gif


--------------------


You say 'minor pentatonic ' like it's a bad thing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bleez
post Dec 5 2016, 12:06 AM
Post #64


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.197
Joined: 4-November 11
From: Scotland
Member No.: 14.292



Been playing around a bit more. Here's what Im sure of cool.gif

1. KPA sound via 11R headphone definatley loses something. The sound is a little muffled and reverb & delays are not as nice.
2. KPA sound via Scarlett headphone is better than 11R but not as good as direct from KPA
3. Headphone sound direct into KPA is the bomb!

Neither of the above points 1 or 2 seem to make much, if any, difference to the actual recorded sound however, not that my ears can tell.

There are a few threads on the KPA forums regarding the slightly duller headphone sound coming out of various audio interfaces although Ive not seen any definitive solutions. I wonder if most guys are using monitors rather than headphones, maybe that would be the ultimate cure.

What would be cool would be a device which would get me the backing track audio from the interface into the headphone mix of the KPA smile.gif so that I dont need to use the headphone part of the interface. Is there such a device?
In the meantime I might save up for some good monitors as Im mega curious to hear the KPA though those.

here's something I noticed. I get a much better guitar sound with the focusrite mix set like this with the SPDIF 1-2 setting in the headphones
[attachment=45609:line.jpg]

BUT I dont actually hear any of the backing track with this setting, although all the meters move. I only hear the backing + guitar if that setting is on 'Custom Mix'. I dont know if thats something huh.gif

This post has been edited by bleez: Dec 5 2016, 12:28 AM


--------------------


You say 'minor pentatonic ' like it's a bad thing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rammikin
post Dec 5 2016, 02:53 AM
Post #65


Experienced Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 920
Joined: 4-November 10
Member No.: 11.529



FWIW, I think this illustrates one of the reasons why USB output on an amp modeler module is important smile.gif.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Dec 5 2016, 05:38 AM
Post #66


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.269
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



I have to agree on that one smile.gif But the KPA is not really meant to be a recording interface as all the KPA guys have pointed out. It's mostly used by touring guys to take profiles of amps that should never leave home.

So getting sound directly out of the KPA, I"d say yeah get a pair of nice monitors!!! 8 inch driver if possible, 6 or 5 if not. E.G.

1.)JBL LSR 5 inch (I"ve got a pair and they rock without the sub, with the sub they are beyond crazy)
2.)JBL LSR 8 inch (Skip the sub)
3.)KRK ROCKIT same story on sizes.

These are all powered so no power amp needed. But thats just to hear the kpa. Not your daw.

Wanna hear your daw? Same deal on speakers, SPDIF OUT from KPA to SPDIF IN on the 11 Rack, then use the outputs from the 11r (not headphone but both actual output jacks in stereo from the back of the 11 r per this picture smile.gif They are marked MAIN OUTS. Run these to your powered monitors. XLR cables? Sure!!! Real monitors have XLR inputs so should be no problem.
Attached Image


Turn off all processing on the 11r or change the "rig" channel in the drop down. Either way. Just get clean through the 11r via spdif to your monitors. That way you can hear your KPA, you can hear your daw, and you are digital from KPA to 11r IN STEREO, make sense?

Now you can record your kpa to your daw through your 11r in stereo smile.gif

I"ve got the same setup but without the KPA and instead use an actual tube preamp instead of a digital emulation of a tube preamp, but it does stick me with a single preamp sound. The Super Lead Clone in my fx loop smile.gif

P.S.Having said all this, I still hope KPA finally takes the hint and includes a usb recording connection in the next rev or an add on for the current rev and let's it record up to 192khz. Also, I really hope they finally add a software editor app as well. The 11r and Axe FX have had both of these for some time so it's time for kemper to get on board imho. The cost would be maybe an extra $100 per unit?


Todd



QUOTE (Rammikin @ Dec 4 2016, 09:53 PM) *
FWIW, I think this illustrates one of the reasons why USB output on an amp modeler module is important smile.gif .


This post has been edited by Todd Simpson: Dec 5 2016, 05:45 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bleez
post Jan 20 2017, 11:03 PM
Post #67


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.197
Joined: 4-November 11
From: Scotland
Member No.: 14.292



hey remember this thread biggrin.gif

quick recap - the issue is when Im playing a backing track, Im getting an intermittent drop out or a split second where the audio goes silent.
I can play a backing any number of times and its fine but then all of a sudden it happens, seems quite random. Ive tried it after uninstalling my anti virus and it made no difference so Im thinking that's not the cause.

Before I chuck the scarlett and get a different interface I thought Id give their support a try. Ive got a recording of the issue but I dont know how to describe it in words, when it happens live its just silence but recorded its a.... 'stutter' maybe, would that be the correct word?
It happens at 0:03
[attachment=45777:audioissue.wav]


--------------------


You say 'minor pentatonic ' like it's a bad thing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 21 2017, 03:23 AM
Post #68


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.269
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Yup, just tell them you get gaps in signal. Make sure your scarlett is set to the same sampling rate as your daw, e.g. 44.1k or whatever you have it set to smile.gif If one is set to 44.1 and one is set to 48k, then it causes issues. Also, the "Samples" in reaper can be adjusted upward to eliminate most issues. However, the higher the number, the more lag you get in the signal. Per usual, amke sure you are not using a hub or something, just plug the scarlet directly in to your computer via USB.

Also, get the latest drivers from the vendor and reboot.

If you try all that, and then support can't help you either, I'd honestly use the 11 rack as your interface. I've been using one as my interface and it's great smile.gif On my other rig I'm using a POD PRO HD bean as my interface and it's also great. Sorta like the 11 rack, you can choose to use the internal processing or turn it off and just use a plugin instead. That said, the 11 is still better than teh line 6 IMHO in terms of the quality of the amp tones, even though there are far fewer fx and amp on the 11. The ones it has are really solid. And it's a pro level interface designed after the legendary DIGI Pro Tools Interface, complete with XLR input on the front panel. So yeah, I wouldn't beat your head against the scarlett too much as you already have a great interface that you aren't using smile.gif

I had a 16 channel mixer interface at one point, then realized what the hell am I doing and just used the 11 rack.
Todd

QUOTE (bleez @ Jan 20 2017, 06:03 PM) *
hey remember this thread biggrin.gif

quick recap - the issue is when Im playing a backing track, Im getting an intermittent drop out or a split second where the audio goes silent.
I can play a backing any number of times and its fine but then all of a sudden it happens, seems quite random. Ive tried it after uninstalling my anti virus and it made no difference so Im thinking that's not the cause.

Before I chuck the scarlett and get a different interface I thought Id give their support a try. Ive got a recording of the issue but I dont know how to describe it in words, when it happens live its just silence but recorded its a.... 'stutter' maybe, would that be the correct word?
It happens at 0:03
[attachment=45777:audioissue.wav]



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rammikin
post Jan 21 2017, 04:28 AM
Post #69


Experienced Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 920
Joined: 4-November 10
Member No.: 11.529



QUOTE (bleez @ Jan 20 2017, 10:03 PM) *
I thought Id give their support a try. Ive got a recording of the issue but I dont know how to describe it in words, when it happens live its just silence but recorded its a.... 'stutter' maybe, would that be the correct word?


Don't worry about how to describe it, just send them the audio file smile.gif.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bleez
post Jan 21 2017, 01:13 PM
Post #70


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.197
Joined: 4-November 11
From: Scotland
Member No.: 14.292



QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Jan 21 2017, 02:23 AM) *
I'd honestly use the 11 rack as your interface. I've been using one as my interface and it's great smile.gif 16 channel mixer interface at one point, then realized what the hell am I doing and just used the 11 rack.
Todd

Y'know I'd be fine with that but TBH although I got the 11R working as an interface, the guitar sound was a bit weird through the headphones, although the recorded playback was totally fine. I was using a clean profile and it was really boomy on the lower notes ( 12th fret low E area ) the same profile was fine through the scarlett.


QUOTE (Rammikin @ Jan 21 2017, 03:28 AM) *
Don't worry about how to describe it, just send them the audio file smile.gif.

indeed smile.gif just sent it now, we'll see what they say cool.gif


--------------------


You say 'minor pentatonic ' like it's a bad thing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Jan 21 2017, 03:35 PM
Post #71


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.269
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Sorry to hear about the headphone strangeness sad.gif I"ve not had that. Did you turn off all the bits including the amp AND cab section?

QUOTE (bleez @ Jan 21 2017, 08:13 AM) *
Y'know I'd be fine with that but TBH although I got the 11R working as an interface, the guitar sound was a bit weird through the headphones, although the recorded playback was totally fine. I was using a clean profile and it was really boomy on the lower notes ( 12th fret low E area ) the same profile was fine through the scarlett.



indeed smile.gif just sent it now, we'll see what they say cool.gif



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bleez
post Jan 26 2017, 09:18 PM
Post #72


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.197
Joined: 4-November 11
From: Scotland
Member No.: 14.292



took a while for them to get back to me. Unfortunately it was just an initial stock reply ( basic PC stuff and buffer size ) hopefully they wont take another 6 days to reply because Im almost out of time for returning it. Im considering just sending it back this weekend and trying a different interface. The Komplete Audio 6 seems about the only one at a comparable price which has SPDIF, might be worth a punt huh.gif


QUOTE (Todd Simpson @ Jan 21 2017, 02:35 PM) *
Did you turn off all the bits including the amp AND cab section?

pretty sure I had all those switched off. If I try it again though I'll double check.


--------------------


You say 'minor pentatonic ' like it's a bad thing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Jan 26 2017, 09:21 PM
Post #73


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.530
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Scott mate,

Try their live chat, it's brilliant, they are open NOW until 1am!!!!

https://support.focusrite.com/hc/en-gb/arti...81129-Live-Chat

The email is always a bit slow.


--------------------


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bleez
post Jan 26 2017, 11:08 PM
Post #74


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.197
Joined: 4-November 11
From: Scotland
Member No.: 14.292



QUOTE (Phil66 @ Jan 26 2017, 08:21 PM) *
Scott mate,

Try their live chat, it's brilliant, they are open NOW until 1am!!!!

https://support.focusrite.com/hc/en-gb/arti...81129-Live-Chat

The email is always a bit slow.


cheers dude, I was hoping I could do it without the live chat, I hate stuff like that huh.gif as it happens they just got back intouch requesting downloads and a bunch of reports. luckily Ive already been trying fix the issue so I already had their fault finding software installed and was able to get the stuff for them quickly.
they'll probably reply with 'yeah, we checked your reports and your pc is shit buy a new one' rolleyes.gif


--------------------


You say 'minor pentatonic ' like it's a bad thing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Jan 27 2017, 05:57 PM
Post #75


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.530
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



biggrin.gif

The live chat is typing mate so nay worries with accents wink.gif


--------------------


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Jan 27 2017, 06:53 PM
Post #76


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 3.071
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Unfortunatly I can't recall if I ever bumped into such problem.

Thats quite a "stutter", almost as if the asio driver was interrupt by the system audio driver. I'd first check whats working on the backgroud like if any program is checking for an update or a program next to the clock giving any sort of message.

Also if your confident with updating the bios driver (if needed) wouldn't hurt.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bleez
post Jan 27 2017, 09:09 PM
Post #77


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.197
Joined: 4-November 11
From: Scotland
Member No.: 14.292



QUOTE (Mertay @ Jan 27 2017, 05:53 PM) *
Unfortunatly I can't recall if I ever bumped into such problem.

Thats quite a "stutter", almost as if the asio driver was interrupt by the system audio driver. I'd first check whats working on the background like if any program is checking for an update or a program next to the clock giving any sort of message.

Also if your confident with updating the bios driver (if needed) wouldn't hurt.

is it not weird that Ive never had the issue with the 11R or podhd500 as an interface and that it happened on my laptop as well?
I dont think they found anything in the logs I sent. they just emailed me back to confirm that it happened when I was running LatencyMon, obviously it did but I guess what they were expecting to see wasnt there. Ive sent the dude that audio file again as he might not have got it from the initial enquiry.
I'll see how it goes tomorrow but Im edging towards trying a different interface.


--------------------


You say 'minor pentatonic ' like it's a bad thing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Jan 27 2017, 09:33 PM
Post #78


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.530
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



It's a shame because my 18i8 is rock solid sad.gif

Live chat mate wink.gif


--------------------


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bleez
post Jan 27 2017, 10:08 PM
Post #79


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3.197
Joined: 4-November 11
From: Scotland
Member No.: 14.292



QUOTE (Phil66 @ Jan 27 2017, 08:33 PM) *
It's a shame because my 18i8 is rock solid sad.gif

Live chat mate wink.gif

I thought you had a 2i2, so you have 18 inputs..... cool smile.gif that's 16 more than I would know what to do with!
Its a bit of a pisser but its just one of those things, I'll get round it one way or another rolleyes.gif Amazon just dropped £30 off the Komplete Audio 6 ohmy.gif so I just got it because if I ended up having to buy it and it went back up in price I would be raging cool.gif
Hopefully I'll get one of these suckers working and the other returned and refunded.
also I cant do live chats, I get whatever the keyboard typing equivalent of tongue tied is huh.gif


--------------------


You say 'minor pentatonic ' like it's a bad thing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Jan 27 2017, 10:20 PM
Post #80


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.530
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



I only had the 18 so that I could have my GT-001 connected to the front in stereo, my SM57 connected to the front and my emulated out from my valve head connected to the front. I like being connected to the front laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Phil66: Jan 28 2017, 11:16 AM


--------------------


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th November 2017 - 06:49 PM