Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Saving Cpu
jstcrsn
post Feb 3 2017, 06:12 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.844
Joined: 29-March 08
From: kansas, USA
Member No.: 4.733



so I am trying to do a cover of aces high , 6 biasFx tracks and ezdrummer 2 are taxing my I5 8 gig system , its a PC . any ideas
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Feb 3 2017, 06:18 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.922
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Open a group track and open bias fx with your adjustments there, then route the 6 tracks to that group channel and remove their plug-ins. Sure, you can open 2 or more group tracks if different setuped bias fx's are needed.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Feb 4 2017, 12:28 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.861
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Well said! If you aren't familiar with "busing" fx. This is a great chance to work through it. Doing so will let you assign fx to a single channel and let you rotate a knob on individual channels to get some of that effect. For example, reverb is often done this way.

However, if you are using 6 different fx (one different effect on each biax fx track) then you won't gain anything by bussing it to 6 sub tracks. Same cpu load plus some.

BIAS FX is a HOG in terms of CPU and really likes to see a quad i7 if you are going to run that many instances of it. However, you can always try to increase you SAMPLES in your daw so that you allow more resources for plugins and remove resources for real time stuff, if you are done recording, this should be fine smile.gif

Another work around, is to "bake" the fx on to the track. In reaper you render to a new track and just mute the track with the original fx. That way you can hear the fx on a given track. But if you want to change anything you have to render to new track again. So you can work around it, just takes some doing smile.gif

The only "quick" solution for running 6 instances of bias anything is to throw more hardware at the problem (e.g. quad cpus, 16 gig of ram, ssd hard drive) You can run one or two instances just fine typically on any modern hardware. But running that many will gut a lesser system in my experience. I have a dual cpu i5 rig that has the same issue. For wads of plugins I have to move the project to a quad core rig.



Todd
QUOTE (Mertay @ Feb 3 2017, 01:18 PM) *
Open a group track and open bias fx with your adjustments there, then route the 6 tracks to that group channel and remove their plug-ins. Sure, you can open 2 or more group tracks if different setuped bias fx's are needed.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rammikin
post Feb 4 2017, 12:31 AM
Post #4


Experienced Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 874
Joined: 4-November 10
Member No.: 11.529



QUOTE (jstcrsn @ Feb 3 2017, 05:12 PM) *
so I am trying to do a cover of aces high , 6 biasFx tracks and ezdrummer 2 are taxing my I5 8 gig system , its a PC . any ideas



You don't say what DAW you're using but most have a freeze feature that lets you eliminate the CPU load on selected tracks. It's common to need to freeze tracks when working with amp simulator plugins.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jstcrsn
post Feb 4 2017, 02:05 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.844
Joined: 29-March 08
From: kansas, USA
Member No.: 4.733



QUOTE (Rammikin @ Feb 4 2017, 12:31 AM) *
You don't say what DAW you're using but most have a freeze feature that lets you eliminate the CPU load on selected tracks. It's common to need to freeze tracks when working with amp simulator plugins.

reaper , I will look into that
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Feb 5 2017, 05:37 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.922
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



QUOTE (jstcrsn @ Feb 4 2017, 01:05 PM) *
reaper , I will look into that


Cool,let us know if any further help needed smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th August 2017 - 08:02 PM