2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> New Gear Day
Caelumamittendum
post Aug 16 2017, 01:38 PM
Post #1


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.617
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



My amp arrived after all smile.gif

Laney irt60h + Cabinet irt212.

And then I also treated myself to a delay pedal. A TC Electronic Flashback Delay. Though I later realised I could maybe use the effects from BIAS FX through the amp via my laptop? Anyone done that before? smile.gif

Anyway, here's a pic.



Hopefully next time you see this amp it will be from a rehearsal room, if we're able to find a place.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Roadside
post Aug 16 2017, 01:40 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 491
Joined: 10-August 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 5.682



Congraaaats! ;-) Finally, you made your decision. What's your first impression?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Aug 16 2017, 01:53 PM
Post #3


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.617
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



I've only played 10-15 minutes, but it's good - just need the right settings. I always found top + cabinet often gives ear piercing sounds, so I need to find a good balance.

Surprisingly I heard bad things about the clean channel, but it's the one I like the most, I think, so far.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Aug 16 2017, 03:31 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 29.559
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



Congrats mate!! Using Bias can work, but you need to be sure that your computer is 99.9% stable if you'll use it live.


--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Aug 16 2017, 03:34 PM
Post #5


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.617
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



So I've tried hooking up BIAS FX for effects only in the FX loop. Seems to work.



QUOTE (Gabriel Leopardi @ Aug 16 2017, 04:31 PM) *
Congrats mate!! Using Bias can work, but you need to be sure that your computer is 99.9% stable if you'll use it live.


That's true! But untill I get some effect pedals, besides the delay one, I think I will take this route. We're only starting out, and haven't even played together yet, so there's a long way to playing live smile.gif

This post has been edited by Caelumamittendum: Aug 16 2017, 03:33 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Aug 16 2017, 04:38 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.973
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



Awesome! super congrats smile.gif

We tried using the fx of a computer at a friend and yeah it worked but I wouldn't call it efficiant, its simply nice to have a setup independant from the computer+its all latency free.

Just a tip, what may sound harsh at home might be very much what you need in a band situation. Keep that in mind if you feel the guitar isn't loud enough with a band, it might be about the eq rather than output sometimes.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Aug 16 2017, 04:49 PM
Post #7


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.617
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



QUOTE (Mertay @ Aug 16 2017, 05:38 PM) *
Awesome! super congrats smile.gif

We tried using the fx of a computer at a friend and yeah it worked but I wouldn't call it efficiant, its simply nice to have a setup independant from the computer+its all latency free.

Just a tip, what may sound harsh at home might be very much what you need in a band situation. Keep that in mind if you feel the guitar isn't loud enough with a band, it might be about the eq rather than output sometimes.


Yeah, it came out kinda harsh to the ears at first, which of course will sit nice in a mix and cut through, I suppose. I'm looking for something Petrucci like tonewise, or Andy James (who also plays an Ironheart in some videos). Sort of cutting through, but still soft and rounded. I very much dislike the feeling you sometimes get when doing a bend and it just...pierces the ears. Running the BIAS FX seemed to cut some of the harshness though, but can still be dialed in if needed.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AK Rich
post Aug 16 2017, 05:28 PM
Post #8


Learning Guitar Hero
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.696
Joined: 10-September 11
From: Big Lake, Alaska
Member No.: 13.839



Congrats Ben! Looking good man. I hope it satisfies all your needs. Have you noticed a difference between playing through that real amp and using the software modeling of virtual amps?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Aug 16 2017, 05:31 PM
Post #9


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.617
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



I must admit I'm not the best at judging good sound. I know what I like, which is a well rounded distortion like Petrucci's sound etc. I s struggled a bit getting that without BIAS fx, but I didn't try for long, so maybe I'll give it another go.

I need to compare fully to really get the difference in "warmth" with tube amp vs amp simulator.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
post Aug 16 2017, 07:10 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.973
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Member No.: 18.294



QUOTE (Caelumamittendum @ Aug 16 2017, 03:49 PM) *
Yeah, it came out kinda harsh to the ears at first, which of course will sit nice in a mix and cut through, I suppose. I'm looking for something Petrucci like tonewise, or Andy James (who also plays an Ironheart in some videos). Sort of cutting through, but still soft and rounded. I very much dislike the feeling you sometimes get when doing a bend and it just...pierces the ears. Running the BIAS FX seemed to cut some of the harshness though, but can still be dialed in if needed.


Give it some time, not only about learning its character range but also trying in different rooms/band situations...worst case from your comments an eq pedal placed on the fx loop would most likely solve everything but lets see if you'll actually need one or not.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Aug 16 2017, 08:20 PM
Post #11


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.374
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



I liked the clean channel too.

Check this video out, he stops waffling at about 2:45, Paul Glover always does decent reviews and you can always learn from them wink.gif

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fj_r_QchrW8


This post has been edited by Phil66: Aug 20 2017, 07:23 PM


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Aug 16 2017, 08:31 PM
Post #12


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.037
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Super Contrats!!! The delay pedal will be handy for practice and live gigs. Having a laptop setup through an audio interface is a complex thing to do for live gigs as it adds so many potential points of failure. Maybe best to set that up for home use / recording / recording in the practice space/ etc. Pedals are really dependable for live situations.

Keep in mind that bias has been running through your audio monitors and the guitar cab has a completely different response curve. So you may need to eq patches just for the cab, e.g. cut some of the highs and deep lows. Trust your ears and just tweak the eq til you like it.

Using the Head for distortion, you may find you need a clean boost to get the sound you want. Boost pedals often act like a high pass filter (trimming off lows going in that can cause muddy sound) and pushing the drive on input without needing to turn up the gain on the amp resulting in a more detailed sound. Any overdrive will work, just turn the gain to zero and turn the volume up to taste going in to the front of the amp not the fx loop.

Hope you can get a space!! It's just not easy or cheap to find a good place to practice. Record a bit with your new amp when you can!
Todd

This post has been edited by Todd Simpson: Aug 16 2017, 08:35 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sensible Jones
post Aug 17 2017, 08:34 PM
Post #13


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.512
Joined: 2-January 09
From: London-ish. UK.
Member No.: 6.517



Congrats mate!! I really liked that Head when I played through one at a Gig a little whole ago!!


--------------------
I'd rather have a full Bottle in front of me than a full Frontal Lobotomy!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Aug 17 2017, 08:37 PM
Post #14


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.617
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



It sounds great, but I've not tried cranking it up a lot yet. smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jstcrsn
post Aug 18 2017, 12:51 AM
Post #15


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.858
Joined: 29-March 08
From: kansas, USA
Member No.: 4.733



QUOTE (Caelumamittendum @ Aug 17 2017, 08:37 PM) *
It sounds great, but I've not tried cranking it up a lot yet. smile.gif

I am sure it will get your sound . My main / live rig was a Laney . When I first got it, my band was in the studio and i was not sure about it yet . The engineer talked me into giving it a try . He said if he could not get a good sound , he would not charge me for the time . Next thing I know We had to rerecord 3 songs that were done because it sounded so good . We would have liked to record every song , but our budget was blown.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Aug 18 2017, 02:00 AM
Post #16


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.037
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Post some tone examples! smile.gif

Todd

QUOTE (Caelumamittendum @ Aug 17 2017, 03:37 PM) *
It sounds great, but I've not tried cranking it up a lot yet. smile.gif



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Aug 18 2017, 02:07 AM
Post #17


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.617
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



Not sure how, as I've not got a decent mic.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Aug 18 2017, 02:49 AM
Post #18


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.037
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



The mic you use for vocals seems plenty decent to me. Don't be shy smile.gif Didn't you say you already recorded some examples on soundcloud? You could just share those?

Todd

QUOTE (Caelumamittendum @ Aug 17 2017, 09:07 PM) *
Not sure how, as I've not got a decent mic.


This post has been edited by Todd Simpson: Aug 18 2017, 02:50 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Aug 18 2017, 08:00 AM
Post #19


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.617
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



Naeh, those were recorded through BIAS before I got the amp smile.gif

My mic seems to darken the sound a lot, maybe it's the placement in front of the amp that does it.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Aug 24 2017, 08:08 PM
Post #20


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.037
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Just line up the main recording element in the mic to the speaker in the cab. Put it pretty close and turn up a bit. Should get a great recording smile.gif I'm sure we are curious to hear your rig! You have a mic stand too so you can adjust the mic where ever you need right? Put it right in the cone if possible. Micing a cab is an art and you've now got a cab to mic smile.gif If you play a gig, some tech will mic it and it might not be how you want. It's best to find your own sweet spot by moving the mic around before that happens. Then mark the spot by making a square with some tape or something so you know where to put the mic during a quick setup.

Todd

QUOTE (Caelumamittendum @ Aug 18 2017, 03:00 AM) *
Naeh, those were recorded through BIAS before I got the amp smile.gif

My mic seems to darken the sound a lot, maybe it's the placement in front of the amp that does it.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th September 2017 - 09:11 AM