Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Get An Ssd Drive For Your Home Studio!
Todd Simpson
post Sep 23 2017, 07:13 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.160
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



If you have not yet done so, GET AN SSD DRIVE for your main Home Studio Computer. This one upgrade will change your life. It sure changed mine smile.gif Also, the price has finally gotten reasonable. I found a 960 GB SSD on amazon for $265!!!

That's nearly a terabyte of SSD for under 300. I put an SSD in both my laptops and it was night and day difference. Loading huge apps is a snap, and loading huge sound databases, e.g. ez drummer etc. is spiffy quick.

https://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-960GB-Solid-...words=960gb+ssd


Here is a speed test from this drive in my current laptop. This is with the drive currently full.
Attached Image


Attached Image


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Roadside
post Sep 23 2017, 11:23 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 492
Joined: 10-August 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 5.682



Nothing more important than a proper SSD if you want appropriate working speed!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fran
post Sep 23 2017, 12:15 PM
Post #3


Learning Rock Star - Wiki Coordinator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.972
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 3.338



I have an SSD on my PC and it definitely runs things faster than the old HDDs


--------------------
Guitars:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Ibanez RG2570MZ, Epiphone SG G-400
Amp:
Vox AC4TVH head + V112TV cab
Effects:
Vox Satchurator, Vox Time Machine, Dunlop CryBaby, Boss MT-2, Boss CE-5, Boss TU-2, Boss ME-70
Recording:
Line-6 POD X3 + FBV-Express, Pandora PX5D

GMC wants YOU to take part in our Guitar-Wikipedia!
Have a good time reading great articles and writing your own with us in our GUITAR WIKI!
Share your playing and get Pro-advice from our Instructors: Join REC
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Sep 29 2017, 05:58 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.160
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



It's true smile.gif I know it seems like an indulgent expense, but it's really just a matter of survival imho. How much time to people lose to bad sectors on drives, data corruption, slow performance, lag/latency, etc. all of which are pronounced when using standard hard drives. There is just less to go wrong when using a hard drive with zero moving parts!! Not to mention, the performance is so darn fast that the drive is no longer the bottleneck of the entire system! You can play back as many tracks as your cpu can handle, in real time smile.gif

Todd

QUOTE (Roadside @ Sep 23 2017, 06:23 AM) *
Nothing more important than a proper SSD if you want appropriate working speed!



Oh yeah. Traditional drives might hit 50 Megabytes per second throughput, while SSD can hit 400 MEGABYTES PER SECOND! IT's a Massive increase and everything form launching big Apps, to playing back wads and wads of tracks, doesn't choke ones rig whil using an SSD smile.gif I gave up on standard drives for my music computers main boot disk and replaced all three with SSD and have been happy ever since. Zero issues. I finally sold the 13 inch dual core macbook and kept the two 15 in quad core machines. The difference between dual and quad core really becomes apparent when you start using several instances of plugins that can hog resources.

Having a quad cpu, 16gb ram, SSD rig is a thing of beauty and has cut my production head aches to ZERO. This spec used to be "high end" but now it's considered "Standard" so anything less is now considered "vintage"! smile.gif When it comes to computers, "Vintage" is NOT a good thing.

Todd

QUOTE (Fran @ Sep 23 2017, 07:15 AM) *
I have an SSD on my PC and it definitely runs things faster than the old HDDs



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sensible Jones
post Sep 29 2017, 01:27 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.551
Joined: 2-January 09
From: London-ish. UK.
Member No.: 6.517



I run a 128GB SSD in my PC, with 2 off-board drives for storage. Thinking about installing another SSD internally for storing Music related bits, Loops, Midi files that sort of thing!
biggrin.gif


--------------------
I'd rather have a full Bottle in front of me than a full Frontal Lobotomy!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Sep 30 2017, 05:29 AM
Post #6


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.160
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Sure! The only thing that can keep up in standard drive land is some sort of RAID (using two or more disks you get the speed of however many drives are in use if you use what is called "RAID 0" or zero redundancy, pure speed)

Even then, it depends on HOW the RAID is connected. For EXAMPLE!!!

*USB 2.0 (Speed grab of a 2 drive raid 0 using usb 2.0 cable to connect)
Attached Image

Seems a bit slow eh? Well, let's crank it up to...

*FIREWIREW 800 (unless you have a mac, this means adding a firewire card to your computer typically)
Attached Image

Still a bit on the pokey side eh? Let's turn it up to...

*USB 3.0 !!!
Attached Image
Attached Image

So as you can see. It really takes a USB 3.0 RAID striped Raid 0, to compete with SSD even remotely. My USB 3.0 Raid is just a couple of old laptop drives in a "naked" two drive caddy. She's ugly, but she gets the job done and she was cheap!


QUOTE (Sensible Jones @ Sep 29 2017, 08:27 AM) *
I run a 128GB SSD in my PC, with 2 off-board drives for storage. Thinking about installing another SSD internally for storing Music related bits, Loops, Midi files that sort of thing!
biggrin.gif


This post has been edited by Todd Simpson: Oct 1 2017, 03:46 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sensible Jones
post Sep 30 2017, 04:19 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.551
Joined: 2-January 09
From: London-ish. UK.
Member No.: 6.517



That's pretty impressive Todd.


--------------------
I'd rather have a full Bottle in front of me than a full Frontal Lobotomy!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Oct 1 2017, 03:39 AM
Post #8


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.160
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Aint it though? From a little box that costs very little, that will support drives from laptops, desktops or both, in to a spiff, cheap, fast raid. Gotta love technology smile.gif Here is one for $22 US that supports both size drives and or both sizes at the same time!!! Nice smile.gif If you have spare drives, put them in one of these and BAM you have a fiast raid array that will keep up with the last screen grab, e.g. 200 Megabytes Per Second!! In other words, as many streams of video and music as you could ever need in your DAW your VIDEO EDITING APP or BOTH at the same time smile.gif without any hiccups!

I record Video Directly in to Premiere while recording Multi track audio direclty in to LOGIC, at the SAME TIME when I'm making a vid. I don't get a single hiccup at all. I have been recording to my new dual disk "Naked Raid" to test it out and it's been a champ. You can use any drives you have laying about.You don't have to buy new ones. Or if you have drives in an external enclosure, just yank them out, or in an old computer, yank em out, stuff em both in here and bam. smile.gif Any operating system, any drives.

*Link to this device on Amazon.com $22.99 (We avoid trying to pimp to much but this is such a steal I thought I'd share)
https://www.amazon.com/DBPOWER-Docking-Dupl...sb+3+drive+dock

Attached Image
Attached Image




[fquote name='Sensible Jones' date='Sep 30 2017, 11:19 AM' post='752409']
That's pretty impressive Todd.
[/quote]

This post has been edited by Todd Simpson: Oct 1 2017, 03:47 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sensible Jones
post Oct 2 2017, 01:36 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.551
Joined: 2-January 09
From: London-ish. UK.
Member No.: 6.517



I'll look at a Double dock, I have a single one that I use as an Offboard Drive for a while.


--------------------
I'd rather have a full Bottle in front of me than a full Frontal Lobotomy!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Oct 3 2017, 04:13 AM
Post #10


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.160
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



The double just has two slots and lets you do "software raid" which means the cpu in your computer is doing the job that a chip would do in a hardware raid setup. Still, the cpu use is minimal and results in blinding speed compared to a standard external drive. Mind you, this kind of speed only happens on USB 3.0, so if you connect with USB 2.0 it really won't help that much to have a RAID. You can have a 10 drive raid but if it's connected usb 2, then the usb becomes the bottle neck and you get stuck around 40MBps. USB 3 is the cheapest way to get serious speed that I"ve found for external drives. The only thing close that I've seen is THUNDERBOLT ports but those are more a Mac thing. As a matter of fact, the only reason I have usb 3.0 is that I have thunderbolt going to a dock that has usb 3 ports on it smile.gif My mac is 5 years old so it doesn't have on board usb 3 ports.

Todd
QUOTE (Sensible Jones @ Oct 2 2017, 08:36 AM) *
I'll look at a Double dock, I have a single one that I use as an Offboard Drive for a while.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Oct 8 2017, 10:57 AM
Post #11


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.435
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



I've been wondering why my laptop (music recording computer) is slower than my same spec tower that I use for general use. I'd forgotten that I fired an SSD into the tower a while back, this thread jogged my memory.

The drive in my laptop is partitioned, is there a way to clone the whole thing so I can just copy it back or do I have to go the old route of reinstalling everything? Back in the Win95 days I used to use Norton Ghost to clone my C: in case of any problems,. D: was always a separate physical drive as it is in my tower but I don't have that luxury with my laptop.

Cheers for the heads up Todd


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Oct 9 2017, 03:01 AM
Post #12


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.160
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



On a Mac you can just use a simple little app called SUPER DUPER. On windows there are many choices of software to do the same thing. Also, you can buy one of the little dual dock drive caddy's I mentioned in a previous post and just hit one button and it will clone any drive to any other drive. But as far as software, here is a list of 10 windows utilities for doing just that smile.gif


https://blogs.systweak.com/2017/05/10-best-...re-for-windows/

As for SSD, oh yeah, it makes ALL the difference in the world. Take two machines of the same spec, put an SSD in one of them and BAM it just screams!! The other machine starts to feel really sluggish by comparison. Even an older machine can be given new life with an SSD. I had a dual core i5 macbook that was really feeling sluggish. Put in an SSD and BAM it was useable again. Browsers just popped open, apps were quick. Etc. On fast machines, it's a thing of true beauty smile.gif

Todd


QUOTE (Phil66 @ Oct 8 2017, 05:57 AM) *
I've been wondering why my laptop (music recording computer) is slower than my same spec tower that I use for general use. I'd forgotten that I fired an SSD into the tower a while back, this thread jogged my memory.

The drive in my laptop is partitioned, is there a way to clone the whole thing so I can just copy it back or do I have to go the old route of reinstalling everything? Back in the Win95 days I used to use Norton Ghost to clone my C: in case of any problems,. D: was always a separate physical drive as it is in my tower but I don't have that luxury with my laptop.

Cheers for the heads up Todd



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
post Oct 9 2017, 09:22 AM
Post #13


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.435
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Member No.: 19.975



Thanks Todd

Thinking of this https://www.amazon.co.uk/Inateck-Docking-St...+hard+drive#Ask

And one of these https://www.amazon.co.uk/Samsung-inch-Solid...g+evo+850+500gb


Cheers

UPDATE:
Went for THIS and don't need a dock. May get a dock later on for more storage.

This post has been edited by Phil66: Oct 10 2017, 01:11 PM


--------------------

GMC CERTIFICATE

“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Oct 12 2017, 02:07 AM
Post #14


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.160
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



That works!!!! smile.gif You can always add a dock later if you want to add more drives or if you want to build a raid. You can get SSD "ish" performance out of a cheap dock and a couple of old laptop drives, just like I did for very little money. My 1.5 Terabyte non ssd raid pushes 200MB per second over USB 3. Which is plenty fast and the whole thing cost less than $75.

Todd


QUOTE (Phil66 @ Oct 9 2017, 04:22 AM) *
Thanks Todd

Thinking of this https://www.amazon.co.uk/Inateck-Docking-St...+hard+drive#Ask

And one of these https://www.amazon.co.uk/Samsung-inch-Solid...g+evo+850+500gb


Cheers

UPDATE:
Went for THIS and don't need a dock. May get a dock later on for more storage.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 11:21 AM