Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Delay Problems (with Reaper)
Rob_g
post Aug 6 2007, 10:54 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 377
Joined: 13-December 05
From: White River, Ont, Canada
Member No.: 196



Ok so i've made this cool sounding backing track with guitar keyboard and bass, and had no delay problems. When I tried adding a second guitar that track would be delayed. But this only happens sometimes. Sometimes the timing will be perfect and others will suck. Anybody got a solution to my problem?

I know Andrew has mentioned you have to download something for it not to delay but I forget what it was. Im using my pod xt live for recording the guitars and my peavey pv14 mixer to record the keyboard and bass. could this be the problem? im open to suggestions.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Aug 6 2007, 11:16 PM
Post #2


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



You may need ASIO drivers for low latency. In your soundcard. If that's what you need.

blindwillie posted a link just rescently.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blindwillie
post Aug 7 2007, 12:53 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.533
Joined: 28-March 07
From: Luleå, Sweden
Member No.: 1.434



Yes, I mentioned ASIO4ALL which supports lots of soundcards that doesn't have an ASIO driver (or have a very poor one). But if you have a POD you shouldn't need ASIO4ALL, the POD ASIO driver should do the job. Make sure you are using POD's ASIO and not the regular Windows driver.

If you still get the delays it could be your computer that's overloaded, or your soundcard. I guess adding more tracks or effects would add up on the CPU load. Same with the soundcard. I've set all the Window settings to POD XT (input, output, MIDI) so when my POD is on all windows sound is routed (or mapped) through my POD and not the soundcard. So I can't say for sure what load an extra track adds to the souncard. I do know that adding several effects in a DAW-application really puts pressure on your computer and the different effects can be more or less well written and optimized and because of that I'm guessing more tracks would do the same.

A sidenote about the quality of ASIO drivers:
On two different computers I get lower latency in both a guitar amp simulator and a DAW with ASIO4ALL than with Creative ASIO.


--------------------

Schecter C1 Hellraiser EMG 81/85, replaced with JB/Jazz (SH4/SH2n) w. coilsplit
Schecter Revenger HB-105, replaced with EMG 81/85
Stratocaster Deluxe Players Noiseless
Ibanez 2550z
Blackstar HT5H, Blackheart BH5H w. BH112, Laney LX35D, Line6 Pod XT, Marshall MS-2
Headphones: Sennheiser RS120

Stay tuned...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rob_g
post Aug 7 2007, 02:13 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 377
Joined: 13-December 05
From: White River, Ont, Canada
Member No.: 196



woah man. I dont know how to do all that. Im really computer literate so this might be a little hard. All I know what to do really is change the recording device to my pod and change the playback through my computer. Can you make it easier for me to understand?

Sorry about this I kinda feal like a noob

This post has been edited by Rob_g: Aug 7 2007, 02:13 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Aug 7 2007, 05:38 AM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



You had no problems to record first guitar track right?
Than you probably pressed monitoring button on second guitar track channel which gave you delay(latency in this situation).
Look around and try to turn it off...
Tel me if is it working ok?
Cheers smile.gif

Muris


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blindwillie
post Aug 7 2007, 03:48 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.533
Joined: 28-March 07
From: Luleå, Sweden
Member No.: 1.434



Let us know if Muris is on the right track (hihi). He knows way more about recording (and Reaper) than I do, I just starded to explore this. If that didn't help, post again in this thread and I will get some screenshots of my set up and post them here, that will make it easier to understand what I was trying to say, I'm no good at explaining stuff in an easy way smile.gif.


--------------------

Schecter C1 Hellraiser EMG 81/85, replaced with JB/Jazz (SH4/SH2n) w. coilsplit
Schecter Revenger HB-105, replaced with EMG 81/85
Stratocaster Deluxe Players Noiseless
Ibanez 2550z
Blackstar HT5H, Blackheart BH5H w. BH112, Laney LX35D, Line6 Pod XT, Marshall MS-2
Headphones: Sennheiser RS120

Stay tuned...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Aug 7 2007, 04:01 PM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



QUOTE (blindwillie @ Aug 7 2007, 04:48 PM) *
Let us know if Muris is on the right track (hihi). He knows way more about recording (and Reaper) than I do, I just starded to explore this. If that didn't help, post again in this thread and I will get some screenshots of my set up and post them here, that will make it easier to understand what I was trying to say, I'm no good at explaining stuff in an easy way smile.gif.



Actually,I used Reaper once or twice,not more wink.gif
That's just something I think it MIGHT be the problem rolleyes.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Aug 7 2007, 06:43 PM
Post #8


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



Reaper gives you a numerical readout of its i/o measured latency - top right hand corner. Assuming you are using the Pod's usb lead to the pc then I'd have thought that you would automatically having started the Pod's ASIO? (Sorry I don't have a Pod so I'm not sure.) If you are then I wouldn't think that you'd need ASIO4ALL as that is really for people who have sound cards that don't have ASIO at all.


IF you are using the Pod's ASIO driver then you might have to adjust the settings to reduce latency (Options-Preferences-Audio-Device and drop down box for ASIO (or POD ASIO) in Reaper). You need to lower the latency/buffer size until you start to hear pops and clicks then increase it one setting. Watch your pc overhead though as when you drop the latency/buffer you can increase the load on your pc.

Also are you interfacing the Peavey and Pod via USB to your pc? Two devices on a USB can cause problems for audio (not always though). Other biy for USB - there are different types of USB - USB 1, USB 1.1, USB 2. You really need USB 1.1 as a minimum and preferably USB 2 for audio . USB 1 is too slow here and will cause bandwidth problems, latency, drop outs, pops, click and so on particulalry if you share it with any other USB device. Also if you're using a usb hub it's best that it is self-powered rather than pulling off the buss.

Last bit - did you know that you can set a latency compensation in Reaper? Options-Preferences-Audio-Recording. Probably already defaulted to auto adjust for recording latency. Once you arm the track to start monitoring for recording the latency compensation should kick in.

Cheers,
Tony


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Aug 8 2007, 03:38 AM
Post #9


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



All great advice Tony smile.gif

I'd just like to emphasise that in my experience you shouldn't have to adjust the latency yourself, especially with the Pod, if all is set up correctly you shouldn't have any problems, so exhaust the other possibilities around drivers and such before you go down this route.


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Aug 8 2007, 04:40 AM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



Tony solved all again biggrin.gif
Thumbs up!!!


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Aug 8 2007, 02:15 PM
Post #11


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Aug 7 2007, 10:38 PM) *
All great advice Tony smile.gif

I'd just like to emphasise that in my experience you shouldn't have to adjust the latency yourself, especially with the Pod, if all is set up correctly you shouldn't have any problems, so exhaust the other possibilities around drivers and such before you go down this route.


Sorry, I meant you shouldnt need to adjust the latency compensation ... adjusting the latency settings to eliminate pops an clicks as Tony described is something I do fairly often (you need higher latency for more complex mixes, lower latency for recording)


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Aug 8 2007, 02:32 PM
Post #12


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



Andrew's right here, I wasn't being clear before. The check box for auto latency correction should be checked and if so it's ok. If it isn't check it. YOu can of course play around a bit with the setting if you want and maybe put it back to auto later biggrin.gif . Must admit I tend to play with settings quite a bit just for the hell of it. Sometimes I remember far too late that I should have made a note of the settings that worked before I goosed it all blink.gif . Every now and then I even remember that I should rtfm, well I remember that I should but don't laugh.gif .

BTW the Reaper wiki has some great video 'how to's'. Great for people like me who can't/won't rtfm.
Cheers,
Tony


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rob_g
post Aug 14 2007, 03:55 AM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 377
Joined: 13-December 05
From: White River, Ont, Canada
Member No.: 196



sweet man I got it to work. Lol found out I wasen't even using the pods asio so I just switched it over and it sounds great and no delays thanks everybody. And thanks for makin a little easier to understand tony.

Rob
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Aug 14 2007, 03:59 AM
Post #14


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (Rob_g @ Aug 13 2007, 10:55 PM) *
sweet man I got it to work. Lol found out I wasen't even using the pods asio so I just switched it over and it sounds great and no delays thanks everybody. And thanks for makin a little easier to understand tony.

Rob


Excellent, glad it is working, looking forward to hearing some killer tracks soon smile.gif


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blindwillie
post Aug 14 2007, 04:09 AM
Post #15


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.533
Joined: 28-March 07
From: Luleå, Sweden
Member No.: 1.434



biggrin.gif Great!


--------------------

Schecter C1 Hellraiser EMG 81/85, replaced with JB/Jazz (SH4/SH2n) w. coilsplit
Schecter Revenger HB-105, replaced with EMG 81/85
Stratocaster Deluxe Players Noiseless
Ibanez 2550z
Blackstar HT5H, Blackheart BH5H w. BH112, Laney LX35D, Line6 Pod XT, Marshall MS-2
Headphones: Sennheiser RS120

Stay tuned...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Aug 14 2007, 08:30 AM
Post #16


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



Thumbs up biggrin.gif .

Cheers,
Tony


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th July 2017 - 01:44 PM