Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cpu Speeds?
Todd Simpson
post Apr 14 2018, 09:24 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 16.947
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



Just out of curiosity, what sort of CPUs are you guys running? As I've mentioned many times, I'm on a quad i7 2.3ghz that boosts to 3.3ghz under load (heavy use e.g. rendering) and 16GB ram /NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 512 MB. What sort of CPU / RAM combos are you guys running?

Also, do you ever think "man, my rig feels too slow". I always think this while rendering video. Exporting music is usually very quick and never an issue. Is there any part of your production process that makes you want to pull your hair out? I know a few folks do 3D rendering which is like watching paint dry in Hell. I've been there smile.gif I used to work in 3D and the render was the worst part.

Anyone running big iron? 8 core? 12 core? 16 core? Not virtual, but real cores?

Attached Image


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fzalfa
post Apr 15 2018, 10:56 AM
Post #2


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.905
Joined: 10-March 15
From: France, provence, vaucluse, carpentras
Member No.: 20.796



Hi Todd

i run a dual XEON E5 3.7Ghz 8 cores with HT, 32Gb and Nvidia Quadro M4000.

Cheers

Laurent


--------------------

Yes, i love badges.....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Apr 15 2018, 10:18 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 16.947
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



That should do it!!! The XEON is what later got "rebranded" as the i7. What really chaps my pants is that Intel started making just one chip for i3, i5, i7 and they just cripple the features in order to make the i7 chip in to an i5 or i3. It's cheaper just to make the higher end i7 and then basically break it to create stratification in the product line.

Todd


QUOTE (fzalfa @ Apr 15 2018, 05:56 AM) *
Hi Todd

i run a dual XEON E5 3.7Ghz 8 cores with HT, 32Gb and Nvidia Quadro M4000.

Cheers

Laurent


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fzalfa
post Apr 15 2018, 10:22 PM
Post #4


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.905
Joined: 10-March 15
From: France, provence, vaucluse, carpentras
Member No.: 20.796



the xeon version of the same generation have twice memory bandwith than the i7 / i9 core..... larger cache too

Cheers

Laurent


--------------------

Yes, i love badges.....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Apr 16 2018, 02:19 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 16.947
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



nice!!!! smile.gif

Todd

QUOTE (fzalfa @ Apr 15 2018, 05:22 PM) *
the xeon version of the same generation have twice memory bandwith than the i7 / i9 core..... larger cache too

Cheers

Laurent


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MonkeyDAthos
post Apr 16 2018, 02:51 AM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.759
Joined: 28-October 10
From: Portugal; Bombarral
Member No.: 11.477



I would lose myself in video games if I ever built a decent machine. I have no control whatsoever.
That's why I don't. biggrin.gif

But I think I have a couple I5 and I7, maybe one or two I9 laying around my dad's shop.

This post has been edited by MonkeyDAthos: Apr 16 2018, 02:51 AM


--------------------
QUOTE
It's a proven fact that guitar faces have a bigger impact on tone than wood does.


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
post Apr 16 2018, 04:23 AM
Post #7


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 16.947
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Member No.: 8.794



The extreme edition of the i9 chip runs almost $2,000, just for the chip!! Ouch. Fast though smile.gif The mobile version doesn't even
seem to have a price yet. 6 cores is sure spiff though.
https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/pro...processors.html


My laptop is a 2012 and it still benchmarks with current shipping laptops. I'm just thrilled it's lasted this long and still can roughly hold it's own. I really hate that the new macbooks are heading toward soldering everything to the motherboard, but that's life I guess. One of my macbook pros (a 2011) had the battery explode and it wrecked the entire machine. Uggh. I did pull the ram and ssd drive. I hate having just one machine though. I like having a backup, in general. So I am looking to get something as a backup machine. A mac, of course. Something that can edit video/audio etc. Maybe a mac mini or imac, from a few years back that will still let you upgrade the ram smile.gif


Todd



QUOTE (MonkeyDAthos @ Apr 15 2018, 09:51 PM) *
I would lose myself in video games if I ever built a decent machine. I have no control whatsoever.
That's why I don't. biggrin.gif

But I think I have a couple I5 and I7, maybe one or two I9 laying around my dad's shop.



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2018 - 05:00 PM