Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Allocating Practice Time?
post Aug 9 2007, 07:07 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 2.378

Hey guys. I've just started really cracking down with the hours a day I practice. My schedule can get pretty hectic, but I usually try to get in at least 3 hours of practice a day. That being said, I usually cover a very wide range of techniques whenever I practice and as a result, I think I may be spreading myself out too much. A few weeks ago I started practicing Pavel's sweep lessons, and I must say that it feels awesome to know that some time in the near future, I'll be able to start really sweeping well! I'm pretty excited about getting to sweep better, so I've started practicing my sweeping alone for about an hour to an hour and a half, taking up half my practice time. I usually try to learn at least one scale every few days, so my schedule is really getting clutered lately.

So how much practice time do you guys give to individual techniques? Is there such a thing as too much practice for a single technique in a day? And would it be a more efficient use of my practice time to simply practice on a few select techniques as opposed to a broader range?

Any input is welcome, thanks in advance!

IPB Image
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
post Aug 9 2007, 09:06 AM
Post #2

Group: Members
Member No.: 1.260