Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Buying A New Monitor!, Gotta decide what to take!
Pavel
post Aug 14 2007, 06:33 AM
Post #1


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 3.764
Joined: 8-January 07
From: Rijeka, Croatia
Member No.: 1.055



Hey guys!

My birthday is in October and i was thinking about getting a new monitor! I have a 17" CRT LG and i want and LCD - 19" to 20". Now what i am doubting about is should i take Widescreen or a standard monitor? What are pros and cons of widescreen monitors? Also i was thinking - should i take Dell, LG or Samsung? And if anybody knows - what are important things to look for in specifications?

Thanks for any input!


--------------------
"It isn't how many years you have been playing, it's how many hours." -- Prashant Aswani

"PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!" -- Michael Angelo Batio

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Aug 14 2007, 06:58 AM
Post #2


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



I would say that unless you are a gaming fanatic, get the cheapest one of the size you like that is by a reputable make - I have a 21" Samsung, it does me well.

One thing to bear in mind - check the native resolution. You will want to have your desktop at the native resolution of the screen or quality will suffer. A lot of so called larger screens have poor resolution, which means that you just get everything bigger bit don't get more pixels - for me the whole point of getting a bigger screen is that you can fit more on your desktop so be aware of this. I am working at 1600x1200 on a 21" - works great for me, 1280x1024 would be too big and would be a waste of space, but it is to a certrain extent what you are used to and what you can get used to.

Widescreen is good for media and watching movies on your computer, also helps with getting hugely coimplicated Cubase mixers all on your screen at one time!

This post has been edited by Andrew Cockburn: Aug 14 2007, 06:58 AM


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pavel
post Aug 14 2007, 07:04 AM
Post #3


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 3.764
Joined: 8-January 07
From: Rijeka, Croatia
Member No.: 1.055



Well i do play some games but i am buying it to get a decent resolution for big Cubase tracks. I was actually thinking about 2x19" monitors - to make recording work easier, i also use notation software - Sibelius 4 and Cubase together so it would be really cool to have them both opened and in view without switching. That's why i am still in doubt - not sure what is better for me!

Thank for fast reply!


--------------------
"It isn't how many years you have been playing, it's how many hours." -- Prashant Aswani

"PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!" -- Michael Angelo Batio

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DeepRoots
post Aug 14 2007, 07:18 AM
Post #4


Get to da Chopper!
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.700
Joined: 18-March 07
From: South Wales, UK
Member No.: 1.374



QUOTE (Pavel @ Aug 14 2007, 07:04 AM) *
Well i do play some games but i am buying it to get a decent resolution for big Cubase tracks. I was actually thinking about 2x19" monitors - to make recording work easier, i also use notation software - Sibelius 4 and Cubase together so it would be really cool to have them both opened and in view without switching. That's why i am still in doubt - not sure what is better for me!

Thank for fast reply!


Hey Pavel- I've used sibelius in the past, any possiblities of using it in conjunction with Cubase?
Just wondering coz at the moment im trying to figure out where to spend my pennies on software.

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Aug 14 2007, 08:23 AM
Post #5


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



Hi Pavel - I use 2 x 19'' for my desk top (plus a 17'' laptop via lan) for recording/sound editing. It really helps with Cubase (well any sequencer) to have screen space. Only downside I have is I have to use an AGP video card due to my mobo which, particularly as I need a dual head video, limits the choice of card a lot - most that are good here for music/2d are poor for 3d/graphic intensive games. I currently use a Radeon X1659, not through choice but as it's about the only one I can get for this spec that is available in Andalucia and I hate radeon video cards. It causes me a lot of 2d problems dry.gif .

Anyway that's off subject - I'd say screen space ftw.

Cheers,
Tony


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kethcup
post Aug 14 2007, 09:57 AM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 96
Joined: 17-June 07
From: Denver, CO USA
Member No.: 2.115



Hey Pavel -

If you use dual monitors you will want a good video card that will support it. I was running two 24" widescreen monitors when I was testing them out to see which I liked better and it took a toll on my video card. I even have a 512mb PCI-EX Nvidia card. I ultimately went with an LG Flatron Wide LCD Monitor and I couldn't be happier.

It runs at 1920x1200 res and it has very clear text. Clear text was my biggest goal in getting a new monitor. I can't stand grainy text! I tried a Dell 2407WFP (I beleive) 24" monitor and a Gateway 24" monitor and the LG blew them both away, hands down.

I run Sonar 6 Studio Edition and I seem to have enough room for what I need to do. I seldomly will play BF2 (Battlefield2) and it runs just fine as well.

If I were in your situation, I wouldn't worry about brand but more about what looks right to you. Like I said, mine was clear text and brightness. I look for a 500cmd or higher in brightness because to me it makes a big difference.

Anyway, I would be happy to offer any knowledge I have if you need it.

Hope you find what you are looking for. A new monitor is always a happy investment! smile.gif


--------------------
...

Ketchup



Ibanez Prestige S2170 Electric Guitar
Ibanez Prestige S1620 Electric Guitar
Ibanez RG350MDX Electric Guitar
Jackson Kelly Professional


Boss GT-6 Guitar Floor Processor
Sonar6 Studio Edition


M-Audio BX5-a Studio Monitors

Marshall VS65R Combo Amp







Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pavel
post Aug 14 2007, 05:24 PM
Post #7


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 3.764
Joined: 8-January 07
From: Rijeka, Croatia
Member No.: 1.055



I have a PCI-E Radeon X1950XT and it kicks ass at highest settings in BF2 so i believe 2 monitors won't be a problem for it! smile.gif

So from Tonymiro's post i understand that it's better to go for 2x19" monitors!

I was reading some specifications....i guess the higher the contrast - the better? So i have a very affordable LG monitor with 2000:1 contrast, is that good?

Also i noticed monitors have different matrix. What's an ACTIVE matrix?

QUOTE (DeepRoots @ Aug 14 2007, 08:18 AM) *
Hey Pavel- I've used sibelius in the past, any possiblities of using it in conjunction with Cubase?


I only use it because i am working on orchestral arrangements for my songs and i want to have it all noted so my father (who is orchestra director and arranger) can help me fix some things and help with arranging.

But when it comes to putting notes from Sibelius to Cubase - than i constantly have to switch between programs so i now want 2 monitors so i can have Sibelius on 1 and Cubase on 2n.

I don't think you can combine these 2 programs. Although you can export MIDI track from Sibelius and try importing it to Cubase but for me it didn't work...


EDIT: it seems like there are no monitors here in Croatia that have more than 1280x1024 resolution. A friend of mine has that resolution and it seems perfect.

Guys, here is the model i've been looking at for some time now: SAMSUNG SM 940N
Could you please see the specs for it and tell me what you think about it specification-wise? It has a contrast of 700:1 and i wonder if that makes any difference because i know lot's of people who have it and they are totally satisfied with it - and just to mention that they are gamers so they like crisp picture! smile.gif

This post has been edited by Pavel: Aug 14 2007, 05:36 PM


--------------------
"It isn't how many years you have been playing, it's how many hours." -- Prashant Aswani

"PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!" -- Michael Angelo Batio

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 01:07 PM