Liking Emg's More As I Get Older
Mertay
Apr 29 2021, 05:11 PM
GMC:er
So take my comments entirely for modern metal/rock productions sounds.

After we record guitars, what happens in the mix process is balancing freq.s to get rid of too much rawness (static peaks, harshness, boomyness etc.) out, de-noise by gating or even at times restoration plug-ins, compress so elements won't dynamically mask each other...and if the track is really guitar heavy the mastering process also adds on top of those.

So when we play an EMG guitar in a store, notice what we complain about then; Flat sounding, not dynamic... even them being so noiseless can be a complaint that they don't feel organic smile.gif

So since they are so neutral sounding, when plugged into the same amp compared to a passive pickup to my ears they give a very "production ready" guitar sound meaning there isn't much there to be fixed. By the way I'm no expert on these pickups, only familiar with the famous 81/60 set (demo'ing guitars in stores) and if you go to their website they have ton's of models.

I'm curious about those who has more experience with them would agree with my thoughts...

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

This post has been edited by Mertay: Apr 29 2021, 05:30 PM

--------------------
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
Apr 29 2021, 10:58 PM