Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How I Record My Songs --> Chapter 1: Guitar Pro, Programing a new song and exporting to MIDI
Juan M. Valero
post Sep 25 2007, 10:22 PM
Post #1


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.270
Joined: 6-August 07
From: Girona - Spain
Member No.: 2.484



Hello In this topic I'm gonna explain how I compose and program my songs and ideas, how I do the backing tracks of my own songs, how I record them and finally how I do the mastering...

I use an example, it's my own song: FINAL SACRIFICE, so listen it biggrin.gif (you can see the link in another post in my own board smile.gif)

So let's go to part 1:



CHAPTER 1. GUITAR PRO:
Programing a new song


I use guitar pro because it's easy for me to program with but you can use another tab editor, of course. I write all the tab in that program (except the solos that I explain how to record after), it means that I write every snare, every bass note and all the other instrument's lines.

See that example:



(I'm sorry but the word are in spanish, hehe)
As you can see in the picture I use a lot of tracks, one for every diferent instrument (yeah, It's a really hard work, but I have been using GP since 2000, so I can work very fast tongue.gif).
I usually use Guitar pro 3 because is a bit faster than the others, and because I'm a nostalgic laugh.gif rolleyes.gif laugh.gif No, that's true, when I need to create a bass line (for instance) that consists in 16 notes in every compass guitar pro 4 have a bit latency if you hit the keys very fast... so that's the reason why I use GP3 insteed GP4 or 5

Imagine yo need to write all these notes :


Well, I don't know if you understand my reason, but don't worry, that is not important, you can use GP3, GP4 or GP5, it's the same wink.gif

Ok, so when my tab is finished I need to export it to a MIDI file, then I go to EXPORT and that's all, I finally obtain the MIDI file with my song and all the tracks !!!
Well, I will say that I use GP4 (well 4 or 5) to export because if I use GP3 to export there would be a bit problems with the MIDI file (I'm not informatic so I don't know why it happens but it's the true...)



This post has been edited by Juan M. Valero: Oct 30 2007, 06:18 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Iluha
post Sep 27 2007, 01:58 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.737
Joined: 14-April 07
From: Karmiel, Israel
Member No.: 1.574



So basicly you'r saying you'r making you'r backing tracks in guitar pro? I'm guessing you then use some program to change the sound of the midi?


--------------------


My Latest Upload: Here!

My Practice Agenda/Blog: Here!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Juan M. Valero
post Sep 27 2007, 02:06 AM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.270
Joined: 6-August 07
From: Girona - Spain
Member No.: 2.484



Of course Iluha, but wait to chapter 2 !!! wink.gif
I would write 4 or more Chapters, but I cannot write all chapters the same day, I need some time tongue.gif

so "to be continued" tongue.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Sep 27 2007, 02:16 AM
Post #4


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



And like any great book each installment or chapter makes you long for the next! Great wok Juan - really enjoyed this post.

Cheers,
Tony


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Juan M. Valero
post Sep 27 2007, 02:23 AM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.270
Joined: 6-August 07
From: Girona - Spain
Member No.: 2.484



QUOTE (tonymiro @ Sep 27 2007, 03:16 AM) *
And like any great book each installment or chapter makes you long for the next! Great wok Juan - really enjoyed this post.

Cheers,
Tony


blink.gif I can't believe it !!! hehehe, your topics are most interesting than my poor topic and (more) poor explanation, you are doing a really great work, I only try to explain the basics of my recording routine.

BTW thanks for your words smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th March 2017 - 02:27 PM