Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Softwere And Cords
Neosmithk
post Nov 7 2007, 06:50 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 20-September 07
From: Eastern United States
Member No.: 2.831



Ok so i want to get some recording software, first off does any one have some suggestion on what to get. second i need to know what kind of cord goes from the amp to my laptop

thx~


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Nov 7 2007, 07:26 AM
Post #2


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



Software - first have a look at the recommendations in the stickies that Andrew has at the head of this forum. A large part of your decision will depend on what computer platform you use ie Mac or Windows or Linux. Next is your budget and what you want from a sequencer. Next is your own familiarity with them. As an example, if you have a limited budget and run Windows and/or aren't sure if recording software sequencers/daw are right for you then Reaper is a good option as it's a fully spec'ed sequencer but is shareware.

For the cable - we'd need to know the output type of your amp ie jack at line level/xlr/trs/digital and the input type/s that your audio interface has and/or whether the amp, or modeler has USB or firewire connectivity.

Sorry but I've ended up with more questions for you then answers but we need more info before sending you off down the wrong road.

Cheers,
Tony


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Neosmithk
post Nov 7 2007, 07:35 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 20-September 07
From: Eastern United States
Member No.: 2.831



my amp is the line 6 spider 3 and i think it just puts out the stuff you guitar puts out

also i am running windows vista

This post has been edited by Neosmithk: Nov 7 2007, 07:36 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pavel
post Nov 7 2007, 07:46 AM
Post #4


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 3.764
Joined: 8-January 07
From: Rijeka, Croatia
Member No.: 1.055



I think our gear/recording expert Tony will need some more info. As far as i know you have a Laptop, so it has a small input jack. What software do you use?


--------------------
"It isn't how many years you have been playing, it's how many hours." -- Prashant Aswani

"PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!" -- Michael Angelo Batio

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Neosmithk
post Nov 7 2007, 07:48 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 20-September 07
From: Eastern United States
Member No.: 2.831



what do you mean what software?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pavel
post Nov 7 2007, 07:54 AM
Post #6


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 3.764
Joined: 8-January 07
From: Rijeka, Croatia
Member No.: 1.055



Reaper, Cubase? To record your guitar you must have some recording software.


--------------------
"It isn't how many years you have been playing, it's how many hours." -- Prashant Aswani

"PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!" -- Michael Angelo Batio

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Neosmithk
post Nov 7 2007, 08:07 AM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 20-September 07
From: Eastern United States
Member No.: 2.831



oh i currently dont have any software im looking to get some though


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Nov 7 2007, 09:55 AM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



QUOTE (Neosmithk @ Nov 7 2007, 08:07 AM) *
oh i currently dont have any software im looking to get some though


Well Reaper is FREE if I'm correct and fine tool for first recording steps.
Cubase isn't free tho.


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Neosmithk
post Nov 7 2007, 10:22 AM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 20-September 07
From: Eastern United States
Member No.: 2.831



yeah i just downloaded reaper but i still dont have any kind of cord to go from my amp to my comp


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Nov 7 2007, 10:28 AM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



QUOTE (Neosmithk @ Nov 7 2007, 10:22 AM) *
yeah i just downloaded reaper but i still dont have any kind of cord to go from my amp to my comp


I believe you should take a pics of jacks on your amp and laptop and post it here.
We are only guessing this way. wink.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Neosmithk
post Nov 7 2007, 10:36 AM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 20-September 07
From: Eastern United States
Member No.: 2.831



well my laptop it an alien ware and im pretty sure its fully equiped with all the ports you would find and a laptop + a few extra but here is a similar laptop - looks very almost the same as mine : http://www.alienware.com/product_detail_pa...DEFAULT#pdp-nav

and my amp is a line 6 spider 3 15 watt : http://line6.com/spideriii/15.html


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Nov 7 2007, 10:41 AM
Post #12


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



Please take a pictures of your laptop and amp,focus on jacks and do a real close up.
These links offer too many infos.
OK? smile.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Neosmithk
post Nov 7 2007, 10:44 AM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 20-September 07
From: Eastern United States
Member No.: 2.831



ok i'll get on that


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Neosmithk
post Nov 7 2007, 11:07 AM
Post #14


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 20-September 07
From: Eastern United States
Member No.: 2.831



ok here they are - they're not the best quality and also the pic of the amp ports say "CD/MP3 IN" and "PHONES/RECORDER OUT"

-The images are kinda large lol

[attachment=2371:attachment][attachment=2372:attachment][attachment=2373:attachm
ent][attachment=2374:attachment]Attached Image

This post has been edited by Neosmithk: Nov 7 2007, 12:54 PM
Attached image(s)
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
 


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Nov 7 2007, 09:05 PM
Post #15


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



The laptop is a very good all round, and probably great for games, one BUT it's limited when it comes to use for recording.

Cheapest option:
Looking at the spec it may well have an on-board sound chip and the only mic input is on a minijack. Now you could possibly use this, at least in the short term, to record your amp via a microphone. You'll almost certainly need some form of adaptor plug though as very few mics come with a minijack connector.

There's no indication if the mic line in will take an instrument line level or headphone line in- I very much doubt it. If it did you'd need a suitable cable - probably 1/8'' to 1/8'' jack.

Intermediate option:
As an alternative to this you could possibly use a USB mic - there are several now on the market and they cost, I think, around 150USD or so. All you should do there is plug the mic into the USB port and set up the i/o appropriately in Windows and Reaper. Downside is you'll be recording your amp via a microphone and not direct and arguably that takes more effort to set up well. Upside is that most amps sound better that way.


Longer term and maybe best option:

TBH this would get you going best. I'd suggest that if you wanted to do any real recording and mixing that you look into getting a good external audio interface and use that for i/o to the laptop and disable the on -board soundchip. The interface could be either USB or Firewire and there are loads to chose from and go in price form around 50USD upto 1000s so there's plenty to chose from smile.gif . If you go this route you'll need to think about what inputs you want and how many.

Cheers,
Tony

This post has been edited by tonymiro: Nov 7 2007, 10:00 PM


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JVM
post Nov 7 2007, 09:18 PM
Post #16


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.878
Joined: 2-June 07
From: Raleigh-Durham, NC
Member No.: 1.984



I would suggest the interface route smile.gif Especially when you can get one that can do microphones, you can always do the intermediate route as well. The interface will only make you sound better.


--------------------
Gear: Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Gibson '67 RI Flying V, Mesa Boogie F-30 112 combo, crazy pedals.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Neosmithk
post Nov 7 2007, 10:20 PM
Post #17


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 20-September 07
From: Eastern United States
Member No.: 2.831



so for short term use i can just get a 1/8" adapter and plug it into the mic slot?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Nov 7 2007, 11:35 PM
Post #18


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



Probably - can't guarantee that it will work, depends on what level the line in is expecting. And I'm guessing a bit that they're both 1/8th - look like it to me but nothing definitive on the spec sheets.

Cheers,
Tony


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Neosmithk
post Nov 8 2007, 03:45 AM
Post #19


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 20-September 07
From: Eastern United States
Member No.: 2.831



ok thanks for all the help


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Nov 25 2007, 01:37 AM
Post #20


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



I would recommend a Toneport Device. In the bundle you get an ABleton Lite software t get you familiar with multitrack recording, MIDI programming and VSTs as basics. Toneport basically acts as a external audio interface (USB audio card). It has 4 mono inputs, guitar, mic two line-level ones (+ 2 monitoring ones - not recordable), two outputs, and a Gearbox software (similat to GR, AMplitube etc.). You can plug your guitar cord directly in it. THis is a very cheap and effective way of getting into world of PC recording.

This post has been edited by Milenkovic Ivan: Nov 25 2007, 01:39 AM


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st September 2017 - 09:46 AM