Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Laptop Ram Question
Unleash-The-Shre...
post Nov 14 2007, 03:13 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.397
Joined: 12-August 07
From: Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Member No.: 2.523



Does any Laptop RAM fit in any laptop? I know certain motherboards support one memory stick and others support two which i'm not sure which mine is but will any single memory stick fit in any laptop?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Soul_Decision
post Nov 14 2007, 03:25 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 247
Joined: 18-September 07
From: All of the U.S
Member No.: 2.823



No, you have to open up your laptop and see what size of a ram stick you will need.


--------------------
Push through all barriers.......Never self-limit.........Because there is none
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Unleash-The-Shre...
post Nov 14 2007, 03:28 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.397
Joined: 12-August 07
From: Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Member No.: 2.523



QUOTE (Soul_Decision @ Nov 13 2007, 09:25 PM) *
No, you have to open up your laptop and see what size of a ram stick you will need.


Ok, well I have an HP Pavilion dv5000, does anyone know what RAM that would take.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Uncreator
post Nov 14 2007, 03:28 AM
Post #4


Fire Up The Blades, Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 8.933
Joined: 6-March 07
From: St. Petersburg, Florida
Member No.: 1.304



You should match the RAMS Megahertz with your laptops motherboard for top performance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Unleash-The-Shre...
post Nov 14 2007, 03:30 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.397
Joined: 12-August 07
From: Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Member No.: 2.523



QUOTE (The Uncreator @ Nov 13 2007, 09:28 PM) *
You should match the RAMS Megahertz with your laptops motherboard for top performance.


Ok, how do I find out what the Mhz's for my computer are though. I plan on building a desktop computer in the future also but I need to get some money and perhaps a job laugh.gif first. I want to make a computer for gaming and music.

But anyways back to the laptop for now...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Soul_Decision
post Nov 14 2007, 03:31 AM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 247
Joined: 18-September 07
From: All of the U.S
Member No.: 2.823



QUOTE (Unleash-The-Shred @ Nov 13 2007, 06:28 PM) *
Ok, well I have an HP Pavilion dv5000, does anyone know what RAM that would take.

Google it. Type the name of your computer and then put ram upgrades.
Should help you.


--------------------
Push through all barriers.......Never self-limit.........Because there is none
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Unleash-The-Shre...
post Nov 14 2007, 03:31 AM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.397
Joined: 12-August 07
From: Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Member No.: 2.523



QUOTE (Soul_Decision @ Nov 13 2007, 09:31 PM) *
Google it. Type the name of your computer and then put ram upgrades.
Should help you.


Ok
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Unleash-The-Shre...
post Nov 14 2007, 03:43 AM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.397
Joined: 12-August 07
From: Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Member No.: 2.523



1GB of DDR SDRAM (1x1,024MB)

This is whats listed for the RAM on my computer. Does that determine the size?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
radarlove1984
post Nov 14 2007, 05:45 AM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 170
Joined: 19-January 07
Member No.: 1.092



I just found this for you:

http://www.4allmemory.com/index.cfm?fuseac...mit=Find+Memory


It says your computer can hold a max of 2.0gb ram.

That's just from the first google link though, so you may be able to find a cheaper price.

On that website, ram sells for about $90 bucks a gig
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Unleash-The-Shre...
post Nov 14 2007, 06:14 AM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.397
Joined: 12-August 07
From: Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Member No.: 2.523



Ok, thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kahall
post Nov 14 2007, 12:38 PM
Post #11


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 989
Joined: 21-March 07
From: Springfield Missouri USA
Member No.: 1.393



QUOTE (Unleash-The-Shred @ Nov 13 2007, 08:13 PM) *
Does any Laptop RAM fit in any laptop? I know certain motherboards support one memory stick and others support two which i'm not sure which mine is but will any single memory stick fit in any laptop?




Crucial has a nice "Scan My System" thing that works great. I use it all the time when I do not want to open the case until I have the sticks in my hand.


--------------------
Had a guitar hanging, just about waist high, and we are going to play these things until the day we die.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th July 2017 - 09:39 AM