Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problem With Powertubes
Constie
post Nov 15 2007, 02:29 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 160
Joined: 3-November 07
From: Germany
Member No.: 3.204



Hi there

I have a problem with my all-tube amplifier. Maybe you know what's the problem, if not I'll visit the technician.

So the first powertube is just glowing a little.
But every second one is glaring like a glow-lamp.

Which is right?


I noticed that as I was changing preamptubes to fix a problem.

Do you know what to do?


--------------------
You can't take the effect and make it the cause
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Nov 15 2007, 02:43 AM
Post #2


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (Constie @ Nov 15 2007, 02:29 AM) *
Hi there

I have a problem with my all-tube amplifier. Maybe you know what's the problem, if not I'll visit the technician.

So the first powertube is just glowing a little.
But every second one is glaring like a glow-lamp.

Which is right?
I noticed that as I was changing preamptubes to fix a problem.

Do you know what to do?

Uneven bias maybe?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Constie
post Nov 15 2007, 02:59 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 160
Joined: 3-November 07
From: Germany
Member No.: 3.204



QUOTE (MickeM @ Nov 15 2007, 02:43 AM) *
Uneven bias maybe?

Maybe.
The funny thing is: I bought it at ebay.com and a friend of mine shipped it to Germany.
The description said it's almost new. Yes, optically there are no scratches or something else but one footswicht button doesn't work right. Okay that's no problem.

Then I noticed that the clean channel wasn't very load at all. I pulled everything up and could play in my little room. So I decided to change some tubes: I replaced the preamp tube for clean-channel with one for the distortion. That didn't fix the problem.
whatever...

Then I saw the powertubes. I'm really sad, because I think I got cheated. Nothing works well and I payed a lot of money for it sad.gif

This post has been edited by Constie: Nov 15 2007, 03:01 AM


--------------------
You can't take the effect and make it the cause
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Nov 15 2007, 03:05 AM
Post #4


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



I think MickeM is right here about the bias. I'd take it to an amp tech and get them to give the power amp a check over. Might need something like a re-bias or new power tubes.

Cheers,
Tony


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Nov 15 2007, 03:07 AM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



Yeah,bias or replacing the tubes.


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Constie
post Nov 15 2007, 03:11 AM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 160
Joined: 3-November 07
From: Germany
Member No.: 3.204



Alright, thank you guys.
I was trying to avoid that because 65 pounds (30kg) are a lot to carry.
Especially if the next technician is about 1hour travel time away.


--------------------
You can't take the effect and make it the cause
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Nov 15 2007, 03:14 AM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



Can someone give you tubes to try them,a friend or som?
That's pretty heavy to carry around... huh.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Constie
post Nov 15 2007, 03:22 AM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 160
Joined: 3-November 07
From: Germany
Member No.: 3.204



QUOTE (Muris @ Nov 15 2007, 03:14 AM) *
Can someone give you tubes to try them,a friend or som?
That's pretty heavy to carry around... huh.gif

Hey good idea. But I'd need six powertubes.
Anyway I'm gonna ask my guitarteacher, maybe he has.

By the way: Could this problem be caused by the cabinet? A mismatch or something like that?
Because I bought it very cheep and it's quite old.


--------------------
You can't take the effect and make it the cause
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Nov 15 2007, 03:26 AM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



Mismatch in Ohms between amp and cabinet might cause lacking in amp's work/power,
but I doubt It has something to do with glowing of tubes...
Tony,Andrew,MickeM?


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Nov 15 2007, 03:40 AM
Post #10


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (Muris @ Nov 15 2007, 03:26 AM) *
Mismatch in Ohms between amp and cabinet might cause lacking in amp's work/power,
but I doubt It has something to do with glowing of tubes...
Tony,Andrew,MickeM?

What rhyme did Andrew teach me before? bla bla bla dn your head will fry. lol, I will look it up. "Speak too high and your head will fry", i remembered, thanks Andrew lol

Which should mean that if the speaker Ohm is too high the head may get damaged. (Right, master?) No glowing tubes though, I don't think so. ???


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Nov 15 2007, 03:53 AM
Post #11


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



laugh.gif Great rhyme


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Nov 15 2007, 05:45 AM
Post #12


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



Yes if the speaker load is incorrect then you will have problems. Too high and presumably the second output coil of the transformer can overload and might fry the power tubes. But I think the load your talking about to do that is significant. I don't see why it would be some rather then all the tubes that are acting up that sounds more to me like a balance problem. I'd take it off to a tech to be sure. Andrew would know more though then me.

Cheers,
Tony


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pavel
post Nov 15 2007, 05:56 AM
Post #13


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 3.764
Joined: 8-January 07
From: Rijeka, Croatia
Member No.: 1.055



QUOTE (Muris @ Nov 15 2007, 03:53 AM) *
laugh.gif Great rhyme


We will soon all start talking in rhymes, we're all members of musician's community after all! laugh.gif laugh.gif


--------------------
"It isn't how many years you have been playing, it's how many hours." -- Prashant Aswani

"PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!" -- Michael Angelo Batio

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Nov 15 2007, 06:08 AM
Post #14


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



Where's Andrew btw??? huh.gif


EDIT
Oh yeah,told me about moving to his own house,congrats tho Andrew!!! smile.gif

This post has been edited by Muris: Nov 15 2007, 06:09 AM


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Nov 15 2007, 10:28 AM
Post #15


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (Muris @ Nov 15 2007, 12:08 AM) *
Where's Andrew btw??? huh.gif
EDIT
Oh yeah,told me about moving to his own house,congrats tho Andrew!!! smile.gif


I'm here - was travelling on business today! House move is tomoorw and Saturday smile.gif

Anyway, MickeM remembered the rhyme right!

If the glow is coming from anywhere but the heaters that is very bad and could be down to bias problems. However, if they are different tube types between pre and power they may well glow different amounts. Bottom line sadly is take it to a tech to be sure ...


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 05:04 AM