Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Volume Boost?
post Nov 22 2007, 12:54 AM
Post #1

Learning Roadie

Group: Members
Posts: 783
Joined: 6-September 07
From: Newcastle
Member No.: 2.713

I currently have a POD X3 going through a 120W behringer amp and a 150W crate amp.
i use the return effects loop to input my sound as it bypasses the amp's preamp (low/mid/high/presence/etc).

unfortunatly for some reason this halves the volume that my amp outputs (even when my X3 and Amps are on full volume)

are there any pedals or rackmounts that will allow me to boost my volume back up so im able to play louder?

it just doesnt have the volume i need.

(the same applies with POD XT and any other effects used in the effects return)


Epiphone Les Paul Standard w/ Dual EMG 81 Pickups. Size 11 Strings.
Ibanez GRG170DX w/ Scallopd frets 17-24 - w/ Dimebucker and APH-1.
Tanglewood TW28 STR DLX CE INDIANA Acoustic Guitar
NEW: Dean Deceiver w/ EMG 81/EMG 85 Pickups
Pod XT Live AND Pod X3 Live
Cubase SX3

My Bands Myspace
Act Of Silence


Fly From The Inside (Cover)
So Far Away
Break The Cycle
Never Again (Cover)
Wake Me

More Acoustic Songs:
Chris Kerswell Soundclick Page

Check out Munta's Step By Step Songwriting Lesson
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Nov 22 2007, 01:59 AM
Post #2

Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194

Sounds like an impedance mismatch to me Chris. I don't think a standard boost would get the volume back up to the original level though I may well be - probably am - but a boost is probably more in the order of a few dB.

TBH I don't see why the pod would cut the level that much - shouldn't do - and so may be look for a reason why? One that springs to mind is if the pod is outputting a speaker cab ohms rating different to the amp head. Maybe you can change that in the on board software parameters?

Only other thing I can think of is a rack power amp with the pod as the pre.

Hope that helps rather then confuses.


Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Nov 22 2007, 03:01 AM
Post #3

Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159

Yeah,I used to run RP 10 on Marshal 8008 poweramp,worked quite fine.
Sold RP and kept 8008 biggrin.gif


Album "Let It Out" on
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
post Nov 22 2007, 03:30 AM
Post #4


Group: Members
Posts: 299
Joined: 1-June 07
Member No.: 1.967

Munta, when you bypass the preamp section you are loosing a significant amount of signal boost before the power amp section. The output of your POD is going to be on par with the output of normal guitar pickups, which is to say very low.

There are a couple of solutions.

1) Route your POD to go into the INPUT of the amps thus regaining the preamp power boost. I would normally tell you to plug the guitar in the INPUT and put the pod on the FX loop but since you are using two amps this can get messy. Get an AB-Y box and split the signal after the POD then run that signal into both amps. Flatten or tweak the preamps EQ as needed.

2) Use a power preamp in your loop. This may not work properly and could overload the mix loop channels on the amps.

I highly recommend you use solution 1 above. Good luck mate!


This post has been edited by Hardtail: Nov 22 2007, 03:34 AM


Beginner's Amp & Guitar Gear Guide
My Keeley Blues Driver BD-2 Review
My Line6 Flextone II Review

Guitars: Martin D-16RGT with B-Band UST & '99 Fender "Big Apple" Hardtail HH Strat
Amps: Fender Blues Junior Special Edition & Fender Studio 85 (Simultaneous... yummy)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2016 - 10:31 PM