Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Amp / Floorpod Problem, Help!
I WILL rock you
post Nov 30 2007, 08:41 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 14-October 07
Member No.: 3.042



Hi everyone,

I got a 80 W Transistor amp (Peavey 112) and a floorpod (Korg AX1000). When i plug in the floorpod to the amp sometimes (Not always) i hear a radio in the backround, and sometimes its really high volume to! This is very enoying because sometimes its so loud that you have to turn up the volume on the amp so much that my cat gets def :S
I dont hear the radio if im only using the guitar connected to the amp only.
Does this have to do with FM / AM frequency our someting? How can i get rid of it?

Please help me out here i cant take this Russian / Finnish radiospeakers anymore !! laugh.gif

Have a nice Friday and deffinently a GREAT weekend! wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Nov 30 2007, 09:03 AM
Post #2


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



Sorry don't know how to help. This may have to do with your location. Happened to me all the time while we were in one rehearsal room, when we moved to another location (another part of town) it stopped. Perhaps the frequencies were weaker there or something?

But sorry, I have no solution to this.

EDIT: spelling

This post has been edited by MickeM: Nov 30 2007, 09:03 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
I WILL rock you
post Nov 30 2007, 10:29 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 14-October 07
Member No.: 3.042



QUOTE (MickeM @ Nov 30 2007, 09:03 AM) *
Sorry don't know how to help. This may have to do with your location. Happened to me all the time while we were in one rehearsal room, when we moved to another location (another part of town) it stopped. Perhaps the frequencies were weaker there or something?

But sorry, I have no solution to this.

EDIT: spelling



Okey well thanks anyways smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
VinceG
post Nov 30 2007, 10:35 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.891
Joined: 7-December 06
Member No.: 973



Yea, I don't think there is a solution to this problem. I get them all the time but when I plug my amp on my friends basement, it goes away.


--------------------
METAL SUCKS

My Last.fm account. View it for all the terrible music I play on a daily basis
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blindwillie
post Nov 30 2007, 10:37 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.533
Joined: 28-March 07
From: Luleå, Sweden
Member No.: 1.434



There was another, similar, thread about this before. I think it was mattacuk who was blessed with the voices.
Try searching for it, there might be som advice in there.

It might help if you connect all your gear to a grounded socket. Maybe shielded cables can help too. I don't know if there are shielded/unshielded amp/patch cables or if they are all the same.
Or try to move your gear a bit and find a spot where you are free from interference.
Since it's when you plug in the Korg, that suggests that replacing the cabling won't help much, it might be the unit itself but better cables might reduce it.


--------------------

Schecter C1 Hellraiser EMG 81/85, replaced with JB/Jazz (SH4/SH2n) w. coilsplit
Schecter Revenger HB-105, replaced with EMG 81/85
Stratocaster Deluxe Players Noiseless
Ibanez 2550z
Blackstar HT5H, Blackheart BH5H w. BH112, Laney LX35D, Line6 Pod XT, Marshall MS-2
Headphones: Sennheiser RS120

Stay tuned...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Twibeard
post Nov 30 2007, 10:39 AM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 322
Joined: 16-October 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 3.064



QUOTE (I WILL rock you @ Nov 30 2007, 10:29 AM) *
Okey well thanks anyways smile.gif

I know this one: If its a guy only talking with the same voise always, then its a Hamradio operator in your area. If its a news/music channel you hear, then it's a Shortwave station transmitting with high power (like 10 Kilowatts) at a very low frequency - probably in your community or close.
You should get some Ferrite-staves or Ferrite-Beads to your 110Volt line (or 220v or what ever in your country). This would normally kill it. The signal is travelling inside your house via the power-nett. Your house power-net unfortunately works as an antenna. Alternatively the signal could come directly via the amp cabels, you could change the type of cabel connect Ferrite-beads on your amp-cable aswel.
You could also contact a local ham-radio group, they will probably help you for free smile.gif they love to solve those kind of problems. biggrin.gif

Understand it: http://www.audiosystemsgroup.com/SAC0305Ferrites.pdf
The theory: http://users.catchnet.com.au/~rjandusimports/tut_9a.html
Some ideas: http://electronics.search.ebay.com/beads_R..._W0QQsacatZ1500
Or check the Audioholics site: http://www.audioholics.com/education/cable...om-interference

Edit: Links

This post has been edited by Twibeard: Nov 30 2007, 12:25 PM


--------------------

Guitar: Ibanez RG370DXCE my backup is a Fender Strat.
Amps: Marshall MG and Line6 Spider III 75W combo (preferred)

Recording stuff: Cubase SX3, Logic emagic, Novation ReMote SL, M-Audio Pro
Synth experiance: Roland, MoTu, Native Instrument, Spectrasonics and Steinberg
Main VST's: Kontakt2, FM8, Bass station, Ezdrummer, MoTu EI, Atmosphere, Crystall
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
I WILL rock you
post Nov 30 2007, 02:06 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 14-October 07
Member No.: 3.042



QUOTE (Twibeard @ Nov 30 2007, 10:39 AM) *
I know this one: If its a guy only talking with the same voise always, then its a Hamradio operator in your area. If its a news/music channel you hear, then it's a Shortwave station transmitting with high power (like 10 Kilowatts) at a very low frequency - probably in your community or close.
You should get some Ferrite-staves or Ferrite-Beads to your 110Volt line (or 220v or what ever in your country). This would normally kill it. The signal is travelling inside your house via the power-nett. Your house power-net unfortunately works as an antenna. Alternatively the signal could come directly via the amp cabels, you could change the type of cabel connect Ferrite-beads on your amp-cable aswel.
You could also contact a local ham-radio group, they will probably help you for free smile.gif they love to solve those kind of problems. biggrin.gif

Understand it: http://www.audiosystemsgroup.com/SAC0305Ferrites.pdf
The theory: http://users.catchnet.com.au/~rjandusimports/tut_9a.html
Some ideas: http://electronics.search.ebay.com/beads_R..._W0QQsacatZ1500
Or check the Audioholics site: http://www.audioholics.com/education/cable...om-interference

Wow! Thanks big time Twibeard, That information was very helpfull to me ! smile.gif



Edit: Links
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Dec 1 2007, 01:30 AM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Maybe your guitar is the problem? DId you try some other guitars in your setup?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hardtail
post Dec 1 2007, 04:01 AM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 299
Joined: 1-June 07
Member No.: 1.967



QUOTE (Twibeard @ Nov 30 2007, 04:39 AM) *
I know this one: If its a guy only talking with the same voise always, then its a Hamradio operator in your area. If its a news/music channel you hear, then it's a Shortwave station transmitting with high power (like 10 Kilowatts) at a very low frequency - probably in your community or close.
You should get some Ferrite-staves or Ferrite-Beads to your 110Volt line (or 220v or what ever in your country). This would normally kill it. The signal is travelling inside your house via the power-nett. Your house power-net unfortunately works as an antenna. Alternatively the signal could come directly via the amp cabels, you could change the type of cabel connect Ferrite-beads on your amp-cable aswel.
You could also contact a local ham-radio group, they will probably help you for free smile.gif they love to solve those kind of problems. biggrin.gif

Understand it: http://www.audiosystemsgroup.com/SAC0305Ferrites.pdf
The theory: http://users.catchnet.com.au/~rjandusimports/tut_9a.html
Some ideas: http://electronics.search.ebay.com/beads_R..._W0QQsacatZ1500
Or check the Audioholics site: http://www.audioholics.com/education/cable...om-interference

Edit: Links



This is pretty accurate from what I know. I have also heard this on high quality rigs. Shielding is very important as well. Make sure your guitar wiring and guitar cables are up to par.

Hardtail


--------------------

Beginner's Amp & Guitar Gear Guide
My Keeley Blues Driver BD-2 Review
My Line6 Flextone II Review

Guitars: Martin D-16RGT with B-Band UST & '99 Fender "Big Apple" Hardtail HH Strat
Amps: Fender Blues Junior Special Edition & Fender Studio 85 (Simultaneous... yummy)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th May 2017 - 03:14 AM