8 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pod Xt/x3 Q&a, Come here to ask about your POD XT/X3 related queries
muntahunta
post Mar 28 2008, 12:04 PM
Post #61


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 783
Joined: 6-September 07
From: Newcastle
Member No.: 2.713



ive never heard of that problem, youre best bet is to contact line6 support by email.
sounds like a hardware problem more than a software problem but i could be wrong...

what you could try is save all your patches on your computer then set the POD back to factory settings then reload all your patches on with line6 monkey.


--------------------
Guitars:
Epiphone Les Paul Standard w/ Dual EMG 81 Pickups. Size 11 Strings.
Ibanez GRG170DX w/ Scallopd frets 17-24 - w/ Dimebucker and APH-1.
Tanglewood TW28 STR DLX CE INDIANA Acoustic Guitar
NEW: Dean Deceiver w/ EMG 81/EMG 85 Pickups
Effects:
Pod XT Live AND Pod X3 Live
Recording:
Cubase SX3

My Bands Myspace
Act Of Silence

Songs:

Fly From The Inside (Cover)
So Far Away
Down
Break The Cycle
Never Again (Cover)
Crash
Wake Me

More Acoustic Songs:
Chris Kerswell Soundclick Page

Check out Munta's Step By Step Songwriting Lesson
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Mar 28 2008, 01:16 PM
Post #62


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (muntahunta @ Mar 28 2008, 12:04 PM) *
ive never heard of that problem, youre best bet is to contact line6 support by email.
sounds like a hardware problem more than a software problem but i could be wrong...

what you could try is save all your patches on your computer then set the POD back to factory settings then reload all your patches on with line6 monkey.

Yes, by the sound of the button it's a hardware problem.
I'm returning it to the shop this weekend.

Great tip on saving the patched. I'll do that.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kevin98497
post Mar 29 2008, 12:11 AM
Post #63


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 670
Joined: 17-August 06
From: UK
Member No.: 810



just recieved my x3 live today smile.gif now im broke sad.gif but nevertheless its great, so easy to use and all. but why are there loads of holes on the back of the thing? are they there for any specific use?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
muntahunta
post Mar 30 2008, 04:37 PM
Post #64


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 783
Joined: 6-September 07
From: Newcastle
Member No.: 2.713



my guess is to let air in so the processors dont overheat


--------------------
Guitars:
Epiphone Les Paul Standard w/ Dual EMG 81 Pickups. Size 11 Strings.
Ibanez GRG170DX w/ Scallopd frets 17-24 - w/ Dimebucker and APH-1.
Tanglewood TW28 STR DLX CE INDIANA Acoustic Guitar
NEW: Dean Deceiver w/ EMG 81/EMG 85 Pickups
Effects:
Pod XT Live AND Pod X3 Live
Recording:
Cubase SX3

My Bands Myspace
Act Of Silence

Songs:

Fly From The Inside (Cover)
So Far Away
Down
Break The Cycle
Never Again (Cover)
Crash
Wake Me

More Acoustic Songs:
Chris Kerswell Soundclick Page

Check out Munta's Step By Step Songwriting Lesson
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ztevie
post Mar 30 2008, 05:00 PM
Post #65


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 284
Joined: 12-March 08
From: Top of Europe
Member No.: 4.557



Hey, muntahunta!

I have a weird problem with my XT.Whenever I plug it in with USB the PC crashes as soon as I close the XT down. I can not find any hardware to close down in hardware manager which is normal with many other USB-connected devices...
Of course I can use it until the point when I want to close it, then a blue screen comes up. Have you heard of this before? Noone have answered me over at the LIne6-forum regarding this.
I have been thinking about X3, but there may be the same problem with this, if the fault lies in the other PC-hardware which conflict with PODdrivers.
What I do now is I use the analog outs to my Audiophile soundcard which works really nice. Also I use Line6Edit via midi to configure patches, works perfect!
BUT, I would like to have the option in Gearbox to record a clean signal and THEN be able to tweak patches while monitoring songs in cubase... This can of course not be done by the analog outs or midi...
Appreciate any help!


--------------------
Gear:
* Vigier Shawn Lane Master , Bridge Bareknuckle Nailbomb, Middle DiMarzio FS-1, Neck Bareknuckle Cold Sweat
* ESP Eclipse CTM1 , Bridge EMG 81, Neck EMG 60
* Peavey Vandenberg 2nd Edition , Bridge Tom Anderson HN3, Neck DiMarzio Chopper
* Ztevie's Blue, Custom Handbuilt by Rek Guitars , Seymour Duncan Full Shred humbucker set
* Yamaha LLX6 Acoustic
* Fractal Audio Axe FX II XL+


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mattacuk
post Mar 30 2008, 05:08 PM
Post #66


Lets go fishing!
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.526
Joined: 21-December 06
From: illinois
Member No.: 1.001



QUOTE (Maximus @ Mar 27 2008, 10:44 PM) *
Matt, I recently purchased the POD X3 Live and It is awesome. It has bass, acoustic and vocal support also. You will spend untold hours tweaking the endless assortment of mods, effects, amps and cabs. It does great with recording via many outputs. I use USB directly into my computer. I am getting ready to get an Atomic Reactor Amp for non headphone playing. I had the opportunity to try one out this week and It is great. It's a tube amp made especially for modelers. Check out the link below. If you call the company or send an email it is the owner of the company who actually talks to you. His name is Tom and he's a wealth of info. Let us know what you get. Good Luck.

Atomic Amps

Check out the sound samples on the Atomic MySpace page. There's a song sample called EuphoriaNoMore4Ya on there that is catchy as hell. I ve been woking on that ditty for a few days now. Very cool.


Thanks for the info man - much appreciated biggrin.gif


Im really excited about buying one of these!! Everytime Ive bought "real" amps ive felt let down, but these modellers really allow the creativty I crave wink.gif


The Atomic looks GREAT!! What a fantastic idea !!


--------------------
mysql> SELECT * FROM master_name WHERE ((firstname = 'Paul') AND (lastname = 'Gilbert'));


"The Fundimental Difference between Paul Gilbert and Buckethead is that Paul Explores the Good side of the force, while Buckethead Explores the Dark Side of the Force" :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gus
post Apr 10 2008, 06:29 PM
Post #67


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 999
Joined: 21-January 08
From: Brazil/Denmark
Member No.: 3.920



Hi.

Windows stopped recognizing my POD X3 live. I already tried to reinstall the driver, but nothing happens.... (by the way I am using USB interface)

Anyone had the problem or know a solution?

Meanwhile I can't record for collabs or virtual band sad.gif

This post has been edited by Gus: Apr 10 2008, 06:32 PM


--------------------
my "Thank you GMC!" video

If you like it please vote in the competition ;-)

Gus Stairway to Guitar Heaven - my practice agenda

Check out my lesson here Phrygian Dominant Solo lesson


Gear : Ibanez RGT320q (I just love the neck-thru sustain), Washburn EA-20SDL (acoustic 6 string), Standard strat (Mexico), POD X3 Live

Some of my Guitar heroes: Jimmy Page, Slash, Kirk Hammett, Augusto Licks, Joe Satriani, Gus G, David Gilmour, Mark Knopfler...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Apr 10 2008, 07:47 PM
Post #68


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (Gus @ Apr 10 2008, 07:29 PM) *
Hi.

Windows stopped recognizing my POD X3 live. I already tried to reinstall the driver, but nothing happens.... (by the way I am using USB interface)

Anyone had the problem or know a solution?

Meanwhile I can't record for collabs or virtual band sad.gif

Do you plug into the same USB port as when you installed it? I noticed my comp is particulary picky about that for some perpipherals.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
muntahunta
post Apr 11 2008, 12:49 PM
Post #69


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 783
Joined: 6-September 07
From: Newcastle
Member No.: 2.713



QUOTE (MickeM @ Apr 10 2008, 07:47 PM) *
Do you plug into the same USB port as when you installed it? I noticed my comp is particulary picky about that for some perpipherals.


thats usually the main reason some USB peripherals stop working.


--------------------
Guitars:
Epiphone Les Paul Standard w/ Dual EMG 81 Pickups. Size 11 Strings.
Ibanez GRG170DX w/ Scallopd frets 17-24 - w/ Dimebucker and APH-1.
Tanglewood TW28 STR DLX CE INDIANA Acoustic Guitar
NEW: Dean Deceiver w/ EMG 81/EMG 85 Pickups
Effects:
Pod XT Live AND Pod X3 Live
Recording:
Cubase SX3

My Bands Myspace
Act Of Silence

Songs:

Fly From The Inside (Cover)
So Far Away
Down
Break The Cycle
Never Again (Cover)
Crash
Wake Me

More Acoustic Songs:
Chris Kerswell Soundclick Page

Check out Munta's Step By Step Songwriting Lesson
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mattacuk
post Apr 20 2008, 04:05 PM
Post #70


Lets go fishing!
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.526
Joined: 21-December 06
From: illinois
Member No.: 1.001



Hey pod experts!

The past week my pod has been makeing an awful buzzing sound, like static eletricity kinda sound! It sounds really awful, any ideas whats up? sad.gif


--------------------
mysql> SELECT * FROM master_name WHERE ((firstname = 'Paul') AND (lastname = 'Gilbert'));


"The Fundimental Difference between Paul Gilbert and Buckethead is that Paul Explores the Good side of the force, while Buckethead Explores the Dark Side of the Force" :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Apr 20 2008, 04:25 PM
Post #71


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (mattacuk @ Apr 20 2008, 05:05 PM) *
Hey pod experts!

The past week my pod has been makeing an awful buzzing sound, like static eletricity kinda sound! It sounds really awful, any ideas whats up? sad.gif

I'm no expert, I'm a fool. But what if you touch the bars on top, does the sound stop? Grounding issue.
Do you run on the latest drivers?
- Does it buzz if you try it with another guitar
- another cord
- if you move away from any flourucent lights

I just got my POD back yesterday from repairs, something with the save-button pot smile.gif



If it got cat hair inside, DON'T send it to the Zoom repair dude, if they even got on in the UK. He'll spend all day removing the single piece of hair, tell you he will over charge you for breaking warranty and then spit on the interior before he returns it. Zoom deserves mocking. dry.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mattacuk
post Apr 20 2008, 04:31 PM
Post #72


Lets go fishing!
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.526
Joined: 21-December 06
From: illinois
Member No.: 1.001



QUOTE (MickeM @ Apr 20 2008, 04:25 PM) *
I'm no expert, I'm a fool. But what if you touch the bars on top, does the sound stop? Grounding issue.
Do you run on the latest drivers?
- Does it buzz if you try it with another guitar
- another cord
- if you move away from any flourucent lights

I just got my POD back yesterday from repairs, something with the save-button pot smile.gif



If it got cat hair inside, DON'T send it to the Zoom repair dude, if they even got on in the UK. He'll spend all day removing the single piece of hair, tell you he will over charge you for breaking warranty and then spit on the interior before he returns it. Zoom deserves mocking. dry.gif


hey Micke! Ok the Pod has the latest drivers, ive tried another cable but no luck. Now ive just plugged into my Pandora to rule out any issues and the guitar sounds great through the pandora ! So i dont think its the guitar.

What do you mean by the bars? smile.gif


thanks!!


--------------------
mysql> SELECT * FROM master_name WHERE ((firstname = 'Paul') AND (lastname = 'Gilbert'));


"The Fundimental Difference between Paul Gilbert and Buckethead is that Paul Explores the Good side of the force, while Buckethead Explores the Dark Side of the Force" :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Apr 20 2008, 04:44 PM
Post #73


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (mattacuk @ Apr 20 2008, 05:31 PM) *
hey Micke! Ok the Pod has the latest drivers, ive tried another cable but no luck. Now ive just plugged into my Pandora to rule out any issues and the guitar sounds great through the pandora ! So i dont think its the guitar.

What do you mean by the bars? smile.gif


thanks!!

Go to a bar, get a few pints and you'll feel better wink.gif

no i mean the X3 Live has bars on top of it. But it struck me you might have the table top kind. My mistake.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Apr 20 2008, 05:00 PM
Post #74


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 28.851
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



Hey podders!! I have a question. I have pod X3 live and it sounds awesome to record and to play with headphones but when I conect it to my head amp (Vintage Electric) and Cabinet (Marshall 1960) the amp modelers don't sound good, the distortions sound without bass and mid.. it sound too high and I could say ugly... sad.gif

Any tips or suggestion about this?


--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Maximus
post Apr 20 2008, 05:13 PM
Post #75


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 463
Joined: 23-August 07
From: Mississippi USA by way of NY
Member No.: 2.592



QUOTE (Gabriel Leopardi @ Apr 20 2008, 11:00 AM) *
Hey podders!! I have a question. I have pod X3 live and it sounds awesome to record and to play with headphones but when I conect it to my head amp (Vintage Electric) and Cabinet (Marshall 1960) the amp modelers don't sound good, the distortions sound without bass and mid.. it sound too high and I could say ugly... sad.gif

Any tips or suggestion about this?


Gabe,
The usual problem with these modelers is that when played through an amp, the amp puts its own "flavor" on the sound. So what you get is the POD sound coming through a path that is distorted by the amp. Make sure you have your output set to the type of amp you are using. I believe the default setting is for studio direct/ headphones. You can choose among a few combo amp configurations and stack configs. This will improve the sound if you haven't done that yet. For me , the best solution I have found for my X3 Live is the Atomic Reactor Amp. It is a tube amp made especially for modelers and they do a superb job of letting the POD tone shine through. Check out their site. The owner of the company personally responds to emails and actually answers the phone if you call. His name is Tom and he is great to do business with. I'm interested to hear what happens.

Atomic Amps


Edit: Typo

This post has been edited by Maximus: Apr 20 2008, 05:14 PM


--------------------


Guitars: Gibson Les Paul Standard, Ibanez rg 750, Ibanez Mikro, Washburn Acoustic
Amps: Crate GX 1600 1/2 Stack, Line 6 Spider 2, Vintage Kustom Tube Head
Effects: Line 6 POD X3 Live, Line 6 PocketPod
Misc: Line 6 FBV Express Foot Switch/Volume/Wah-Wah Pedal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
muntahunta
post Apr 20 2008, 07:00 PM
Post #76


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 783
Joined: 6-September 07
From: Newcastle
Member No.: 2.713



ok, mattacuk... i have no idea what the problem might be... have you tried alot of different patches?

the only thing i can think of is that theres a badly soldured wire inside the pod sad.gif
in that case it'll have to go to repairs sad.gif

@gabriel

alot of people have this problem... if you have an "effects return" then plug the POD into that, it rules out the pre-amp in the amplifier and uses the POD as the pre-amp giving you a flat sound.
the cabinet itself will also colour the sound so youll just have to fiddle with the EQ on the POD to get it sounding sweet.

if you dont have an "effects return" then the best way to do it would be try and figure out what colours the amp adds to your sound and try to make it as flat as possible... theres no tips for this its just trial and error.
also, as maximus said, make sure you have the right output setting.


--------------------
Guitars:
Epiphone Les Paul Standard w/ Dual EMG 81 Pickups. Size 11 Strings.
Ibanez GRG170DX w/ Scallopd frets 17-24 - w/ Dimebucker and APH-1.
Tanglewood TW28 STR DLX CE INDIANA Acoustic Guitar
NEW: Dean Deceiver w/ EMG 81/EMG 85 Pickups
Effects:
Pod XT Live AND Pod X3 Live
Recording:
Cubase SX3

My Bands Myspace
Act Of Silence

Songs:

Fly From The Inside (Cover)
So Far Away
Down
Break The Cycle
Never Again (Cover)
Crash
Wake Me

More Acoustic Songs:
Chris Kerswell Soundclick Page

Check out Munta's Step By Step Songwriting Lesson
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
post Apr 21 2008, 04:46 AM
Post #77


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 28.851
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1.289



Thank you guys! It was what I imagined. I don't have fx return in my amp and I set the correct output (stack front). I'll try with different equalizations wink.gif . The atomic amps sound like a very good choice but I really like my amp distortion too. I would like to add the pod sound to my set to have more variety of sounds when I play live. However I won't use pod's distortions live if they don't sound good with my amp.

Does anyone use this type of combination live? I mean an amp head and POD X3 commuting distortions of both. I hope that this question make sense.. blink.gif )



gabriel.-







--------------------
My lessons

Do you need a Guitar Plan?
Join Gab's Army

Check my band:Cirse
Check my soundcloud:Soundcloud

Please subscribe to my:Youtube Channel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Paul Coutts
post Apr 21 2008, 06:09 AM
Post #78


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 325
Joined: 7-October 07
From: Dubai (for now), from Scotland
Member No.: 2.973



How about a quick how-to on getting USB recordings sounding great with the x3? I'm kind of happy with mine, but I've heard soooo much better, and I don't know how to go about getting it.
I'm talking from recording through mixing and stuff. smile.gif


--------------------
Gear - Ibanez RG350EX, Ibanez RG220DX, ESP LTD MH250, Line 6 PODx3, Laney TF100, Ibanez SM7, Ibanez RG ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Apr 21 2008, 09:42 AM
Post #79


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (Gabriel Leopardi @ Apr 21 2008, 05:46 AM) *
Thank you guys! It was what I imagined. I don't have fx return in my amp and I set the correct output (stack front). I'll try with different equalizations wink.gif . The atomic amps sound like a very good choice but I really like my amp distortion too. I would like to add the pod sound to my set to have more variety of sounds when I play live. However I won't use pod's distortions live if they don't sound good with my amp.

Does anyone use this type of combination live? I mean an amp head and POD X3 commuting distortions of both. I hope that this question make sense.. blink.gif )



gabriel.-

Maybe you'd could try it into the PA instead? I'm not convinced the POD infront of an amp with distortions from both will sound very good. Never tried it but... I'd guess.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
muntahunta
post Apr 21 2008, 09:48 AM
Post #80


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 783
Joined: 6-September 07
From: Newcastle
Member No.: 2.713



gabriel, you could just use the X3 without the amp/cab simulators on, that would bypass almost all of the sound changes the POD makes, then you could just use the effects such as chorus/flanger/etc.

@ paul coutts, i'd love to do that but i am really bad at mixing at the moment tongue.gif, would be very usefull to see on the GMC since there are so many people with the X3.... infact.... i think GMC should be sponsored by line6 for the amount of people who buy the POD series from hearing good things on here tongue.gif


--------------------
Guitars:
Epiphone Les Paul Standard w/ Dual EMG 81 Pickups. Size 11 Strings.
Ibanez GRG170DX w/ Scallopd frets 17-24 - w/ Dimebucker and APH-1.
Tanglewood TW28 STR DLX CE INDIANA Acoustic Guitar
NEW: Dean Deceiver w/ EMG 81/EMG 85 Pickups
Effects:
Pod XT Live AND Pod X3 Live
Recording:
Cubase SX3

My Bands Myspace
Act Of Silence

Songs:

Fly From The Inside (Cover)
So Far Away
Down
Break The Cycle
Never Again (Cover)
Crash
Wake Me

More Acoustic Songs:
Chris Kerswell Soundclick Page

Check out Munta's Step By Step Songwriting Lesson
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

8 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th May 2017 - 01:28 PM