2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Connecting Your Guitar To Your Computer
Unleash-The-Shre...
post Dec 10 2007, 02:24 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.397
Joined: 12-August 07
From: Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Member No.: 2.523



What do I need to connect my guitar to my computer through my Digitech GNX4 and also a Line 6 POD X3 Live which I may be getting for Christmas.

I know there are things that you plug into a USB port is that what I need? Also what are those called?

Thanks for the help in advance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
buckjones
post Dec 10 2007, 02:29 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 11-February 07
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Member No.: 1.187



They should come with the proper cables to connect them to your computer... Two types of connections would be USB and Firewire but I'm not sure if they both have them. Of course there are different types of USB and Firewire cables the devices should have that included so I wouldn't worry about it.

Hope this helps...


--------------------
See profile for gear...

Tim Mahoney makes my day.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Unleash-The-Shre...
post Dec 10 2007, 02:30 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.397
Joined: 12-August 07
From: Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Member No.: 2.523



Also one more question. How do you get good sounds out of a multi-effects processor/amp, effects modeler. I know this has been brought up before but I can't find it.

Someone told me it isn't good playing it through a tube amp (which I have a Marshall JCM 2000 DSL 100 Silver Edition) So what should I play them through.

QUOTE (buckjones @ Dec 9 2007, 08:29 PM) *
They should come with the proper cables to connect them to your computer... Two types of connections would be USB and Firewire but I'm not sure if they both have them. Of course there are different types of USB and Firewire cables the devices should have that included so I wouldn't worry about it.

Hope this helps...


My GNX4 didn't come with cables to plug it in with.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
buckjones
post Dec 10 2007, 02:33 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 11-February 07
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Member No.: 1.187



Oh sorry... Lemme check it out for you.


--------------------
See profile for gear...

Tim Mahoney makes my day.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Unleash-The-Shre...
post Dec 10 2007, 02:35 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.397
Joined: 12-August 07
From: Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Member No.: 2.523



Ok.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
buckjones
post Dec 10 2007, 02:38 AM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 11-February 07
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Member No.: 1.187



It uses USB... It uses the small USB connection to the normal USB... I can't remember what it's called... If you go here: http://www.guitarcenter.com/DigiTech-GNX4-...231-i1124390.gc and click on the pic that shows the back side it shows the USB connection I'm talking about.

The connection is called A Male to B Male...

Here's a link to the cable: http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?sk...d=1091099783522


--------------------
See profile for gear...

Tim Mahoney makes my day.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Dec 10 2007, 02:38 AM
Post #7


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



Pod X3 L:ive comes with everything you need to make cool recordings of your guitar over USB ...


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Unleash-The-Shre...
post Dec 10 2007, 02:39 AM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.397
Joined: 12-August 07
From: Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Member No.: 2.523



Ok, now what cables do I need to hook it up to my laptop and what software do I use to play through it?

One more thing also, when playing through a computer, can you hear what your playing right through the speakers at that moment, or do you need to record it first because I don't want to be able to only record but practice through it also.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
buckjones
post Dec 10 2007, 02:42 AM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 11-February 07
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Member No.: 1.187



You will probably be able to hear it but unfortunately there will be a delay between the time you pick to the time it reaches the speakers... And yes the USB is the connection you need for your laptop too.

The software you use will depend on what the Digitech is compatible with. The Pod is compatible with tons of recording software.

This post has been edited by buckjones: Dec 10 2007, 02:43 AM


--------------------
See profile for gear...

Tim Mahoney makes my day.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Unleash-The-Shre...
post Dec 10 2007, 02:43 AM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.397
Joined: 12-August 07
From: Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Member No.: 2.523



QUOTE (buckjones @ Dec 9 2007, 08:42 PM) *
You will probably be able to hear it but unfortunately there will be a delay between the time you pick to the time it reaches the speakers... And yes the USB is the connection you need for your laptop too.


Ok, what is a good cable to use for this?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
buckjones
post Dec 10 2007, 02:44 AM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 11-February 07
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Member No.: 1.187



USB my friend. With an A Male connector to a B Male connector.

This is the guy: http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?sk...d=1091099783522


--------------------
See profile for gear...

Tim Mahoney makes my day.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Unleash-The-Shre...
post Dec 10 2007, 02:47 AM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.397
Joined: 12-August 07
From: Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Member No.: 2.523



Oh ok, i thought i'd need something like this.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Son...ndle?sku=241580
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
buckjones
post Dec 10 2007, 02:49 AM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 11-February 07
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Member No.: 1.187



Nope your Digitech is an interface all in itself... And it should have came with software for recording.


--------------------
See profile for gear...

Tim Mahoney makes my day.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Unleash-The-Shre...
post Dec 10 2007, 02:50 AM
Post #14


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.397
Joined: 12-August 07
From: Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Member No.: 2.523



QUOTE (buckjones @ Dec 9 2007, 08:49 PM) *
Nope your Digitech is an interface all in itself... And it should have came with software for recording.


Yeah it did come with the software. Is Cakewalk good?

Sorry about all the questions, i'm new to this stuff.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
buckjones
post Dec 10 2007, 02:52 AM
Post #15


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 11-February 07
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Member No.: 1.187



No prob! Yeah Cakewalk is easy to start with (hence the name)... That should get your rollin cause you don't want to start out crazy. From what I know about the Digitech is that it actually has tons of features including a MIDI drum machine.


--------------------
See profile for gear...

Tim Mahoney makes my day.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Unleash-The-Shre...
post Dec 10 2007, 02:56 AM
Post #16


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.397
Joined: 12-August 07
From: Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Member No.: 2.523



QUOTE (buckjones @ Dec 9 2007, 08:52 PM) *
No prob! Yeah Cakewalk is easy to start with (hence the name)... That should get your rollin cause you don't want to start out crazy. From what I know about the Digitech is that it actually has tons of features including a MIDI drum machine.


Yeah, it has a drum machine and all. Hopefully I get the Line 6 POD X3 Live also.

Another thing i've been looking at is this.

http://www.amplitube.com/Main.html?AT2OverviewStompIO

I think i'm going to start reading through all of the information about recording that Andrew has posted so I can learn more about it.

Thanks for your help, it is greatly appreciated.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
buckjones
post Dec 10 2007, 02:58 AM
Post #17


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 11-February 07
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Member No.: 1.187



Thats cool but I would totally stick with the Pod!!! Line 6 has won tons of awards for their effects and interfaces and I know Mr. Cockburn would agree with me on this that Line 6 and the Pod hardware is truly one of the greatest effects stations ever made biggrin.gif


--------------------
See profile for gear...

Tim Mahoney makes my day.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Unleash-The-Shre...
post Dec 10 2007, 03:01 AM
Post #18


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.397
Joined: 12-August 07
From: Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Member No.: 2.523



QUOTE (buckjones @ Dec 9 2007, 08:58 PM) *
Thats cool but I would totally stick with the Pod!!! Line 6 has won tons of awards for their effects and interfaces and I know Mr. Cockburn would agree with me on this that Line 6 and the Pod hardware is truly one of the greatest effects stations ever made biggrin.gif


Ok, well I own the GNX4 right now so I will probably use that also. But I will definitely try to get my hands on that POD.

Do you know how to add patches like these to a workstation.

http://www.digitech.com/soundcomm/guitar_l...p?productid=199
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
buckjones
post Dec 10 2007, 03:02 AM
Post #19


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 11-February 07
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Member No.: 1.187



Yeah the Digitech is tons of fun and has some excellent effects and I like the way it's setup.


--------------------
See profile for gear...

Tim Mahoney makes my day.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Unleash-The-Shre...
post Dec 10 2007, 03:05 AM
Post #20


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.397
Joined: 12-August 07
From: Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Member No.: 2.523



Do you know how to add patches to it. I added a link to them in the post above.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th January 2017 - 07:04 AM