Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording With Podxt, I have some problems...
IDontWantThisUse...
post Dec 13 2007, 02:20 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sandnessjøen, Norway
Member No.: 2.171



Do i have to get RiffWorks to record with it?
An important reason for buying the POD was to record my playing with it, so it would be sad if there wasn't any other way mellow.gif


--------------------
My equipment at the moment:
A crappy Fender-copy :P
Ibanez S320
Marshall MG100HDFX Half stack
PODxt

The stuff thing I'm planning to buy:
A Fender or an ESP.
A synth (Any tips? I'm planning to play stuff such as Nightwish, Kamelot, Within Temptation, Children of Bodom...)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Toni Suominen
post Dec 13 2007, 09:26 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.038
Joined: 2-December 07
From: Rauma, Finland
Member No.: 3.434



No, you don't have to buy riffworks in order to record with it, you can just buy a regular multitrack recording software like Cubase smile.gif


--------------------
Gear:
-PRS Custom 22
-Edwards Les Paul
-PodXT
-Ibanez Acoustic


Check out my lessons and my instructor profile!

My Youtube channel

My Last.FM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Dec 13 2007, 09:43 PM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



You can buy either one, but bare in mind that cubase is "little" bit expensier. wink.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
IDontWantThisUse...
post Dec 13 2007, 09:48 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sandnessjøen, Norway
Member No.: 2.171



QUOTE (Toni Suominen @ Dec 13 2007, 09:26 PM) *
No, you don't have to buy riffworks in order to record with it, you can just buy a regular multitrack recording software like Cubase smile.gif


You said "buy". Does it cost anything? tongue.gif Send me the link to where I can download it if it doesn't smile.gif
And now I can't get my POD to connect to Line6Monkey mellow.gif The installer for newly found software message comes though, so I don't think that there's any wrong with the USB-cable. It started happening just after I installed GuitarPort, so do you think it has anything to do with that? huh.gif


QUOTE (Milenkovic Ivan @ Dec 13 2007, 09:43 PM) *
You can buy either one, but bare in mind that cubase is "little" bit expensier. wink.gif


Do you know of anything that's free? I have used alot of money on stuff like this lately, so I wanna know if there is any way that I can save some.


--------------------
My equipment at the moment:
A crappy Fender-copy :P
Ibanez S320
Marshall MG100HDFX Half stack
PODxt

The stuff thing I'm planning to buy:
A Fender or an ESP.
A synth (Any tips? I'm planning to play stuff such as Nightwish, Kamelot, Within Temptation, Children of Bodom...)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Toni Suominen
post Dec 13 2007, 10:55 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.038
Joined: 2-December 07
From: Rauma, Finland
Member No.: 3.434



Yes, cubase is a commercial program and it costs, but I've seen that the Cubase SX3 version costs something like 100 euros ( about 150 USD) but it's a very good recording software and worth the price smile.gif


--------------------
Gear:
-PRS Custom 22
-Edwards Les Paul
-PodXT
-Ibanez Acoustic


Check out my lessons and my instructor profile!

My Youtube channel

My Last.FM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
IDontWantThisUse...
post Dec 13 2007, 11:34 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sandnessjøen, Norway
Member No.: 2.171



QUOTE (Toni Suominen @ Dec 13 2007, 10:55 PM) *
Yes, cubase is a commercial program and it costs, but I've seen that the Cubase SX3 version costs something like 100 euros ( about 150 USD) but it's a very good recording software and worth the price smile.gif


But do I have to get a program that's made to work with PODxt or does any program work?


--------------------
My equipment at the moment:
A crappy Fender-copy :P
Ibanez S320
Marshall MG100HDFX Half stack
PODxt

The stuff thing I'm planning to buy:
A Fender or an ESP.
A synth (Any tips? I'm planning to play stuff such as Nightwish, Kamelot, Within Temptation, Children of Bodom...)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Dec 13 2007, 11:58 PM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



You can get any program that you want as long it supports multitracking. WHetter it is CUbase, Rifworks or anything else. I beleive that Riffworks is more straightforward and easier to use then CUbase, but CUbase is pro solution and you should definately get that one day.

@TOni

I belive that SX3 is dicontinued as a product. Cubase 4 licence (upgrade or new) costs 400$-800$.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Dec 14 2007, 12:10 AM
Post #8


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



Reaper is a good alternative - there is an unlimited demo and a licence is really cheap. Plus., Tony has written a bunch of excellent lessons on how to use it in his recording forum smile.gif


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Dec 14 2007, 12:13 AM
Post #9


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Dec 14 2007, 12:10 AM) *
Reaper is a good alternative - there is an unlimited demo and a licence is really cheap. Plus., Tony has written a bunch of excellent lessons on how to use it in his recording forum smile.gif

+1 on Reaper. I have Sony ACID Pro but moved to Reaper since regarding simplicty (which I value) they are about the same but Reaper doesn't kill my CPU which is a BIG plus


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
IDontWantThisUse...
post Dec 14 2007, 12:24 AM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sandnessjøen, Norway
Member No.: 2.171



QUOTE (Milenkovic Ivan @ Dec 13 2007, 11:58 PM) *
You can get any program that you want as long it supports multitracking. WHetter it is CUbase, Rifworks or anything else. I beleive that Riffworks is more straightforward and easier to use then CUbase, but CUbase is pro solution and you should definately get that one day.

@TOni

I belive that SX3 is dicontinued as a product. Cubase 4 licence (upgrade or new) costs 400$-800$.

Now there is another problem XP
When I enter Line6monkey, it says that I haven't connected the PODxt. I try to use the "Connect to device" button, but nothing happens huh.gif

QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Dec 14 2007, 12:10 AM) *
Reaper is a good alternative - there is an unlimited demo and a licence is really cheap. Plus., Tony has written a bunch of excellent lessons on how to use it in his recording forum smile.gif

Which Tony do you mean?
Do you mean Toni that has posted already?


--------------------
My equipment at the moment:
A crappy Fender-copy :P
Ibanez S320
Marshall MG100HDFX Half stack
PODxt

The stuff thing I'm planning to buy:
A Fender or an ESP.
A synth (Any tips? I'm planning to play stuff such as Nightwish, Kamelot, Within Temptation, Children of Bodom...)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Dec 14 2007, 12:32 AM
Post #11


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (IDontWantThisUsername @ Dec 14 2007, 12:24 AM) *
Do you mean Toni that has posted already?

He means tonymiro
Have a look HERE for tonys classes in Reaper

This post has been edited by MickeM: Dec 14 2007, 12:33 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blindwillie
post Dec 14 2007, 10:02 AM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.533
Joined: 28-March 07
From: Luleå, Sweden
Member No.: 1.434



QUOTE (IDontWantThisUsername @ Dec 14 2007, 12:24 AM) *
Now there is another problem XP
When I enter Line6monkey, it says that I haven't connected the PODxt. I try to use the "Connect to device" button, but nothing happens huh.gif
Which Tony do you mean?
Do you mean Toni that has posted already?

Have you installed the driver for the POD?
You should do that first of all. I think you can do that through Monkey.


--------------------

Schecter C1 Hellraiser EMG 81/85, replaced with JB/Jazz (SH4/SH2n) w. coilsplit
Schecter Revenger HB-105, replaced with EMG 81/85
Stratocaster Deluxe Players Noiseless
Ibanez 2550z
Blackstar HT5H, Blackheart BH5H w. BH112, Laney LX35D, Line6 Pod XT, Marshall MS-2
Headphones: Sennheiser RS120

Stay tuned...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
IDontWantThisUse...
post Dec 14 2007, 02:44 PM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sandnessjøen, Norway
Member No.: 2.171



QUOTE (blindwillie @ Dec 14 2007, 10:02 AM) *
Have you installed the driver for the POD?
You should do that first of all. I think you can do that through Monkey.

I thought I did, but maybe I should do it again tongue.gif

IT WORKED! biggrin.gif TYVM!


--------------------
My equipment at the moment:
A crappy Fender-copy :P
Ibanez S320
Marshall MG100HDFX Half stack
PODxt

The stuff thing I'm planning to buy:
A Fender or an ESP.
A synth (Any tips? I'm planning to play stuff such as Nightwish, Kamelot, Within Temptation, Children of Bodom...)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Goliath
post Dec 14 2007, 04:08 PM
Post #14


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 667
Joined: 6-July 07
From: Atlanta, GA, USA
Member No.: 2.254



Can you record w/ a pod in Garage Band? I already have Garage Band. I was going to finally go pick up the USB plug to record with my pod this weekend.


--------------------
"King V" enthusiast

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blindwillie
post Dec 14 2007, 05:48 PM
Post #15


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.533
Joined: 28-March 07
From: Luleå, Sweden
Member No.: 1.434



QUOTE (IDontWantThisUsername @ Dec 14 2007, 02:44 PM) *
I thought I did, but maybe I should do it again tongue.gif

IT WORKED! biggrin.gif TYVM!

Wiiii! Glad I could help biggrin.gif


--------------------

Schecter C1 Hellraiser EMG 81/85, replaced with JB/Jazz (SH4/SH2n) w. coilsplit
Schecter Revenger HB-105, replaced with EMG 81/85
Stratocaster Deluxe Players Noiseless
Ibanez 2550z
Blackstar HT5H, Blackheart BH5H w. BH112, Laney LX35D, Line6 Pod XT, Marshall MS-2
Headphones: Sennheiser RS120

Stay tuned...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th May 2017 - 12:30 PM