Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording Guitar
Jeff
post Dec 14 2007, 04:52 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 877
Joined: 25-April 06
From: Virginia, US
Member No.: 706



Hey Marcus,

I am using the PODxt to record guitar into Pro Tools. My question is about recording in mono vs. stereo. As you know, the PODxt has the left and right out. If I want to record a guitar take, would it be best to use both right and left out into Pro Tools at the same time as two separate mono tracks or should I just take both R and L and mix them together in one stereo track? Perhaps use only Left out as one mono.

Since the guitar is not really a stereo track I am wondering what the best set-up for something like this is, or if I should even bother with creating a stereo track at all with guitar. I don't know if there really is a benefit unless I am using some sort of stereo effect and maybe I have just answered my own question...

I remember that you are using POD + Pro Tools. How do you record your guitars? Any advice?

thanks

-Jeff
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marcus Lavendell
post Dec 14 2007, 08:34 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 2.537
Joined: 27-May 07
From: Gothenburg, Sweden
Member No.: 1.927



Hello Jeff!

I think you did answer your own question! biggrin.gif

Anyways, I personally always record my guitars in mono. Rhythm guitar as well as solo. If I want some stereo effects I will add that post-recording. Always try to get as dry sound as possible in your recordings, because it's difficult to make the right decisions about effects until all the instruments & arrangements are in place.

If you're making overdubs to your rhythm guitar, then there's no need to record it in stereo. It can actually make it sound a lot worse, due to "problems" with the phase. If you won't do any overdubs but want a stereo effect - it is, again, better to add that effect post-recording. But of course, you'll need the right plug-ins/equipment in order to do that (the standard ones in ProTools are great though)

However, if you find a tone on your POD with a cool stereo effect and you know for sure that "this is EXACTLY how I want my recording to sound". Then go a head and record it in stereo, but keep in mind that you can't change it afterwards smile.gif

QUOTE
If I want to record a guitar take, would it be best to use both right and left out into Pro Tools at the same time as two separate mono tracks or should I just take both R and L and mix them together in one stereo track?

In ProTools there's no difference. Whatever you choose - they are still separate/split mono files. It's just that ProTools put them on one fader when you create a "stereo track". Back in the old PT 5.0 days we had to create two mono tracks and group them together in order make it behave as if it was a stereo track. So this was a nice update! biggrin.gif

PS. It's great to have another ProTools guy here, Jeff! I was feeling kind of lonely!! laugh.gif


-Marcus


--------------------
I use Elixir® Strings

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jeff
post Dec 14 2007, 09:21 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 877
Joined: 25-April 06
From: Virginia, US
Member No.: 706



Thanks Marcus - great advice! smile.gif

Yeah I just got ProTools and I love it! I heard a lot about how long it takes to learn, etc. but I don't find it to be that bad at all. The elastic time feature in 7.4 looks pretty cool.

One of the best things about it is that there are tons of references and tutorials out there so I'm never lost for an answer to something.

thanks for the help! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marcus Lavendell
post Dec 14 2007, 09:40 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 2.537
Joined: 27-May 07
From: Gothenburg, Sweden
Member No.: 1.927



No problem, Jeff!

I'd love to discuss more about ProTools, so don't hesitate to sak if you have any questions! smile.gif


--------------------
I use Elixir® Strings

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
steve25
post Dec 18 2007, 07:20 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.197
Joined: 19-April 07
From: Wiltshire, England
Member No.: 1.626



Marcus you record mono (left) from your POD and a mono track in pro tools or mono from pod but stereo track from pro tools?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marcus Lavendell
post Dec 18 2007, 07:34 PM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 2.537
Joined: 27-May 07
From: Gothenburg, Sweden
Member No.: 1.927



QUOTE (steve25 @ Dec 18 2007, 07:20 PM) *
Marcus you record mono (left) from your POD and a mono track in pro tools or mono from pod but stereo track from pro tools?


Hi Steve,
I record mono from the POD to a mono track in ProTools.

It wouldn't make sense to record mono from the POD to a stereo track in ProTools. If you did that, you'd just record the same mono signal to two tracks.


-Marcus


--------------------
I use Elixir® Strings

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
steve25
post Dec 19 2007, 12:32 AM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.197
Joined: 19-April 07
From: Wiltshire, England
Member No.: 1.626



Oh ok i've been recording mono from pod to stereo in cubase would that actually make a difference in sound? Maybe i should just do mono from now on
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marcus Lavendell
post Dec 19 2007, 08:40 AM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 2.537
Joined: 27-May 07
From: Gothenburg, Sweden
Member No.: 1.927



QUOTE (steve25 @ Dec 19 2007, 12:32 AM) *
i've been recording mono from pod to stereo in cubase would that actually make a difference in sound?

-No, there won't be any difference in sound! smile.gif


--------------------
I use Elixir® Strings

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jeff
post Dec 20 2007, 07:48 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 877
Joined: 25-April 06
From: Virginia, US
Member No.: 706



QUOTE (lavendell @ Dec 14 2007, 03:40 PM) *
No problem, Jeff!

I'd love to discuss more about ProTools, so don't hesitate to sak if you have any questions! smile.gif
Hey Marcus, I have a different question about PT. And, by the way, we could probably start a whole new forum on Pro Tools alone because I have so many questions! laugh.gif Anyway, if I'm trying to create harmony vocals from one lead track, I see that I can use the pitch plug-in for that if I want. So, I am wondering if you have done something like this before.

I already have Melodyne and I can use it if I want, but I am more curious if you have done this in PT? I would like to do this without sounding too "robotic" or even like Cher. biggrin.gif thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marcus Lavendell
post Dec 20 2007, 10:43 PM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 2.537
Joined: 27-May 07
From: Gothenburg, Sweden
Member No.: 1.927



Hi Jeff! smile.gif

Melodyne is by far the best program I've used to create vocal harmonies, and I also use it basically every time I need to edit vocals! smile.gif

There are some vocoder plug-ins which I guess is easier to use, but they don't sound near as good as Melodyne, imo (I haven't worked with them much though). And the pitch plug-in is great for small adjustments, but we can't really use it to build harmonies because it will most likely sound really bad.


-Marcus


--------------------
I use Elixir® Strings

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jeff
post Dec 20 2007, 10:57 PM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 877
Joined: 25-April 06
From: Virginia, US
Member No.: 706



QUOTE (lavendell @ Dec 20 2007, 04:43 PM) *
Hi Jeff! smile.gif

Melodyne is by far the best program I've used to create vocal harmonies, and I also use it basically every time I need to edit vocals! smile.gif

There are some vocoder plug-ins which I guess is easier to use, but they don't sound near as good as Melodyne, imo (I haven't worked with them much though). And the pitch plug-in is great for small adjustments, but we can't really use it to build harmonies because it will most likely sound really bad.


-Marcus
Yeah I love Melodyne. The blobs are so cool to work with. Thanks. I'll get to know it better! (translate - read the manual laugh.gif )
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Dec 21 2007, 02:23 PM
Post #12


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (jeff @ Dec 20 2007, 04:57 PM) *
Yeah I love Melodyne. The blobs are so cool to work with. Thanks. I'll get to know it better! (translate - read the manual laugh.gif )


+1 - Amazing tool for harmonies smile.gif


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th May 2017 - 08:11 PM